Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northrop Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
We love Northrop. Wonderful community, happy kids, involved parents, teachers who love to teach. Our daughter is thriving.

Northrop Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
Northrop is a rising star in the Minneapolis School District. Proof that quality teachers who are empowered by excellent servant style leadership can really make a difference. Consistently ranked among the district's highest performing schools. I have two children in school there and recommend ti to everyone who asks.


Northrop Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2012
- a parent
This is one of the best schools in Minnesota. Mr. Aponte is an excellent leader of one of the best elementary school teaching staffs in Minnesota. The staff is truly aware of environmental issues and I find my son is able to transfer this knowledge to all settings. My son's reading level has jumped from late first grade to mid third grade in less than one year (kindergarten). His awareness of math concepts is amazing. He is able to not only understand but explain Geometric concepts and things like negative integers. The school's emphasis on community and inclusiveness is really admirable. Play works is a daily option which emphasizes non competitive play and teamwork. This school should be the role model for all other elementary schools. My son loves school and I only wish every child had the opportunity to experience a school like Northrop.

Northrop Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
This school is perfect because it has a soccer field and other good stuff and great students.

Northrop Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
great i have one child who went there k-5 another who will be going there next year. love male to female teacher ratio


Northrop Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a teacher
I love Northrop, because it is an environmental school that walks its talk. It represents a truly integrated school, where friendships see no color.

Northrop Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Northrop Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Northrop Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
Northrop has given my daughter excellent opportunities for intellectual, emotional and social growth--the teachers are skilled, caring, and go out of their way to teach with innovation. The Gifted and Talented and environmental science programming is wonderful! Dr. Alvig promotes a happy, healthy learning environment-you can feel it when you walk in the door. My daughter is happy to go to school each day, and happy when she returns. If all Minneapolis schools were like Northrop, very few parents would leave the district.

Northrop Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northrop Elementary School
4315 31st Ave South, Minneapolis, MN  55406
(612) 668-4520
Last modified Northrop Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northrop Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top