Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Red River Valley Academy

Private | PK-6 | 60 students

Our school is best known for our daily Spanish and Music instruction.
 
 

 
 

Living in Moorhead

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $139,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

TRRVA has wonderful staff members who truly care about our child. Parents are encouraged to be a part of their child's education. Volunteering and participation in at least two events per school season are "mandatory". Organization is lacking on several levels, particularly administrative, but on the whole, the school has been an excellent place for our child's education and growth at the toddler/preprimary level. The building lacks security and physically the learning space is small, but with TRRVA's up-coming relocation, this may not be an issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

We have been so happy with Red River Valley Academy. Our son absolutely loves it there! The staff are kind and caring. The only negatives I can think of are more related to the building and security, not the staff or curriculum. It sounds as if RRVA will be moving to a new building in the fall and hopefully I will be able to rate our experience as wonderful at that time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Our son has been here through preprimary and is now in 2nd grade (so 5 years total). I can't say enough good things about this school! The multi-age classrooms lead to so much positive interaction between the students; my son still has a 'big sister' at school who is a 7th grader (in the same classroom) who helps him stay on task, reads with him, and can help him with questions he has. The Montessori approach teaches students to be life-long independent learners. My son is incredibly enthusiastic about math - and this attitude is shared by many of his classmates! In world of distractions/electronic devices this school is a haven where students can learn to focus, be calm, and direct their own education. Another invaluable benefit to our son attending school here is the fact that I can (and most days I do) talk briefly with his teacher; this allows us to be on the same page and any issues can be addressed right away. It may seem like it would be a hassle to have to drop off and pick up a child at school, but it allows me to monitor who my son is interacting with and is part of what makes us all feel like family. I am thankful everyday that we found The Red River Valley Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

This school is outstanding. We came here from a traditional setting, and it is my youngest child (5th grade) attending. I have 2 in college and one in high school and have had many school experiences. The teacher actually KNOWS my child and all his intricacies. She has done an outstanding job of pushing him, without overwhelming him and I have seen great improvement in his confidence and willingness to put himself in new situations. There are so many opportunities for him to go grow on a daily basis, in many different ways. Academically he is able to work at a pace that suits him in each subject which is huge! We are thankful to have found such a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Our son has gone to this amazing school for five years. The quality of instruction is unparalleled. We are grateful for the principal and her staff and their excellent administration of the Montessori method. The school motto is "The Whole Child is the Whole Idea" and this is demonstrated through a holistic approach to experiential education. Field trips are thought-provoking adventures. Pupils are enriched by Spanish immersion opportunities on a daily basis. Individual work is valued while community is built. A vegetable garden and chickens are raised during the summer program. Fine arts and music take center stage in the form of full musical productions on major stages. And most importantly, children who attend The Red River Valley Academy are productive, engaged and free to be themselves. If you are looking for a unique and meaningful alternative to public instruction, tour this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

This school has all the ingredients that make for a great education for our children. Strong leadership, passionate and dedicated teachers, clearly articulated vision from the director Terrijann, home visits to get to know the family, high expectations from the students to give their best, high expectations from parents to participate in their child's education, academically challenging and extensive montessori materials, daily Spanish (several Spanish speaking teachers and staff), introduction to sign language, and daily music (with musician and teacher Steve), community service with the area food shelf, gymnastics, and martial arts, several animals and critters that the children take care of, very dedicated and passionate staff and a committed community of parents. The facilities are tight but the school is growing as more and more area parents realize the value of TRRVA. School and parent group is working hard towards making new facilities possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

This was the best school any of my children ever attended. They do Spanish, Gymnastics, Swimming, and many wonderful field trips. The staff is excellent and it is ran by a very bright and dedicated lady. I'd highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

My son went here and I am very impressed with the results. He loves learning and is actually excited about school. I am going to send his two younger brothers there too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 73%
Hispanic 11% 7%
Black 5% 11%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Dutch
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Dutch
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Terrijann MullerDahlberg
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
Fax number
  • (218) 287-0416

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Dutch
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1015 30th Ave S
Moorhead, MN 56560
Website: Click here
Phone: (218) 287-0415

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Esy
Moorhead, MN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT