Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highland Catholic School 5

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
My child is a kindergartner at Highland Catholic School. She loves to go to school each and every day. I am consistently impressed by the quality of instruction that she gets. The warmth and interest shown to her by both the adults and older children in the building is something I have not seen at any other school. It is truly a community and one that we are very proud to be a part of.

Highland Catholic School 3

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
The biggest weakness with Highland Catholic is the consistency & follow through, which starts at the top with the principle. Many teachers are quite good, but some are not. Biggest problem with teachers - not letting you know when there maybe an issue with your student's work; always directed to the online grade posting and homework assignment site, which is frustrating, especially when not all of the teachers keep it up to date. They talk a lot about bullying & have a program in place, but don't deal with the bully well in terms of discipline. Beginning in the the junior high years the grading scale completely changes. An A- is 94% and so on. For a school that sells flexibility for students with learning difficulties when you're looking to choose a school, this is a total turn about. Causes a high level of uncalled for stress & frustration for students & families. Parents have addressed this with school officials to no avail. Thus, many families leave HiC in these years. Bottom line, until these issues are corrected this will not be one of the top schools in the area. If you're looking for a school with a religious component in this area of town - shop around & choose carefully!


Highland Catholic School 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
Excellent teachers, a strong and caring principal, and great programs. Hi-C has all of those qualities and more.

Highland Catholic School 5

Posted July 03, 2012
- a parent
Highland Catholic is a jewel of a school. We are very happy with it. The staff is caring and the atmosphere is good--like one large family. I noticed our public schools keep cutting the specialty classes, but Hi-C offers it all: art, music, Spanish, Performing Arts, sport teams, Destination Imagination, programs for Gifted, programs for struggling, etc. The principal is very responsive to the parents, and I have seen that she addresses any problems quickly and professionally. She even won a "Catholic Principal of the Year" award a couple of years ago--and deserved it. For recess, they do need to walk across the street to the local park, but they have a teacher stationed at the street. My daughter's 4th grade teacher (last year) was the best ever. Looking forward to next year, too.

Highland Catholic School 5

Posted February 28, 2010
- a parent
My kids look forward to going to school each morning, this speaks volumes to me. Each of my boys has very different learning styles and Hi-C has manages both beautifully, so they're excelling academically. Although no school is perfect, there is no utopia, we love Hi-C.


Highland Catholic School 5

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Highland Catholic School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Highland Catholic School 2

Posted January 23, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Highland Catholic School 5

Posted October 18, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Highland Catholic School 1

Posted September 09, 2003
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Catholic School
2017 Bohland Avenue, Saint Paul, MN  55116
(651) 690-2477
Last modified Highland Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Highland Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.