Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Saint Paul, MN
Students enrolled: 191

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central Lutheran School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
A Christ-centered education that focuses on the whole child: mind, body, spirit. I have found this school to be a tremendous place for my children to grow. They have opportunities here that are hard to find in many schools now - year-round science, music, art, PE, choir, band, orchestra, athletics. Advanced math is an option. My kids are still younger, but I hear over and over again that students from Central Lutheran arrive at high school well-prepared and often far ahead of their classmates from other schools. Most of all they have the opportunity to learn alongside classmates from diverse backgrounds but who find common purpose in their education. The school has gone through some structural changes and has improved its financial position coming out of the recession. The board of directors is dedicated and parents are active volunteers who contribute to the activities. I think it's in a strong position to grow.

Central Lutheran School 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
This is a school that once was wonderful and now has no no ability to provide education. It is no longer a christian centered school and is so far in debt that it is merely a breath away from closing its doors. I will be shocked if it opens again in September. Not a good investment in any way.


Central Lutheran School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
CLS welcomed my son mid year with open arms. The school follows a traditional academic curriculum which is fine, and the building and classroom equipment are a little older looking (this initially turned me off) Im glad I went forward with this school because CLS shines above other schools in its warm caring atmosphere. The presence of The Lord is felt and seen in this school. The staff and families here are very down to earth and culturally and socioeconomicly diverse. My son loves going to school here!

Central Lutheran School 4

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Central Lutheran School has been a wonderful place for my two children. I know they are challenged, stretched, encouraged, and loved by their teachers. They are learning and performing well and I know that the supportive environment and close-knit community helps them to feel secure and ready to take on new challenges. The music program in this school is amazing (everyone should have the opportunity to sing with such a talented choir director!) and I appreciate that the arts and physical education are still an important part of the curriculum. There are opportunities for students to get involved in a variety of extra-curricular programs - sports, drama, chess club, etc. The preschool program has recently expanded to include all-day options for parents who need more than a half day program. This is exciting! The school is currently in a great time of organizational growth. Another comment mentions that the principal was overextended - and that was true at that time. There is new leadership in place and an emphasis on growth, open communication, and a healthy structure. The tuition is extremely affordable compared to other private schools, but the quality can't be beat.

Central Lutheran School 1

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
Central Lutheran school has, in the past, been a great school. The leadership needs to be replaced before the teachers will feel free and supported again to provide the excellent education that they have provided in the past. The Principal is overextended, being asked to run the daycare, kitchen, and teach the 5th grade, in addition to duties as the principal. She leaves the teachers feeling unsupported and unappreciated. The school has had a lot of potential in the past, and may yet again.


Central Lutheran School 5

Posted April 17, 2012
- a parent
Central Lutheran has a strong tradition of providing a Christian based education. There are a number of aspects such as computer class, PE, hot lunch, field trips and extended care that are not offered by all private Christian schools. Our son has excelled in his time there both in the classroom and in extracurricular activities (especially sports and music). We love Central Lutheran!

Central Lutheran School 5

Posted January 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Central Lutheran School 1

Posted October 07, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Central Lutheran School 3

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Central Lutheran School 5

Posted September 11, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Lutheran School
775 Lexington Parkway North, Saint Paul, MN  55104
(651) 645-8649
Last modified Central Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Central Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top