Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Pascal Baylon School

Private | PK, 1-8 | 223 students

We are best known for "Faith in Every Student"!

 
 

Living in St. Paul

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $104,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2011

In preparation for our children's education, our family evaluated a number of grade and middle schools: both public and private, traditional and non-tradtional teaching methods. Without a doubt St Pascal's came out on top. Since first conducting our school search, we have sent our three children to St Pascal's. Academics, values, friends, families and activites have all lived up to our expectations. Our older two have now graduated. All were well prepared for high school and more by St Pascal's school and Parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

St. Pascal's has a highly qualified staff. Having a child in the lower grades I can't say enough. The care and attention the teachers give is unbelievable. The rigor of the academics is nice to see. My child ;is learning so much. I really like the spiritual growth as well. Christian values are being taught and when in the building are also being modeled. The atmosphere is inviting. The parish staff and the school staff have been so helpful made us feel like we belong. St. Pascal's is definitely a fantastic school. I many times have run into former students who are top in their classes at private and public schools. I have been told that the high schools can tell the kids who come from St. Pascal's. This is because of their study habits, politeness, grades, and religious values. St. Pascal's prepares kids for the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

St. Pascal's is a great K-8 school with a family atmosphere. The teachers are dedicated to bringing out the best in each child, and the students work together and support each other. Academics, spirituality, and social justice are emphasized, and a spirit of enthusiasm and fun is evident. Our three children are proud to be graduates of St. Pascal's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

St. Pascal's gets a star for its academics and how the teachers encourage children to reach their full potential. St. Pascal's gets a star for its development in the Christianity in its students through worship, service and social justice. St. Pascal's gets a star for the dedication of the teachers. Their love of teaching shows in the interactions with the children. St. Pascal's gets a star for the school building. It is an inviting, up to date facility. The fifth star is for the ethnic diversity of the families. It shows that at St. Pascal Baylon School 'All Are Welcome.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

caring environment for my child, teachers are flexible, communicate well and care about my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

I have to take issue with the first review in this forum. I have a child who has been in this school for 5 years, and have found that christian values are always at the top of the teaching agenda. I have to strongly disagree with the statement that they teach about how money is the greatest. It is also very obvious that this person is not very well informed as to the make-up of the student body. It is true that a small percentage of the students live in the inner ring suburbs of St. Paul. But the fact is that most of the students live on the East side of St. Paul, long recognized as one of the best neighborhoods in the Twin Cities for being community oriented. It seems to me that this person has issues that go way beyond this forum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

This school can be described with one word:FABULOUS! A fabulous staff, with fabulous students, and a fabulous enviroment. Our son has attended this school for several years and he LOVES to go to school everyday. I would give this school a five-star rating! Keep up the great work St. Pascal's, you're the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

It has been an interesting year of contradictions at this school which does live up to certain levels of academic excellence in science and math. We, as a family have been been amused with the hypocrisy taught in this Christian school where, spirituality and fellowship are themes but taught with the understanding that the suburbs are the ideal materialistic haven for all who attend. Money is extolled, even taught in song and field trips are to lavish suburban markets to teach about food. There is charity to tsunami victims of third world nations but a lack of exposure to even a local ethnic market or communal commerce. The majority of the population seem to live in Woodbury so if you want a Parochial alternative to the other school in Woodbury with by rote training of your child to be a suburban mall consumer this is your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2004

I am a past student of this school. If you are planning to send your student to a public high school this school is fantastic, academically. Your child will be great friends with the other students b/c they will all share in the same annoyance of the staff and administration. Overall, a good experience but I wouldn't send my child there.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 73%
Black 10% 9%
Hispanic 8% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Wolfridge Environmental Learning Center (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:15 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Dan Bell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Performance stage
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Paul-Minneapolis
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Math club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We have "Faith in Every Student"!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$3000 - $3000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Hill-Murray
Cretin-Derham Hall
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1757 Conway St
St. Paul, MN 55106
Website: Click here
Phone: (651) 776-0092

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT