Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty Classical Academy

Private | PK-12 | 150 students

We are best known for academic excellence.

 
 

Living in White Bear Lake

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2014

We love our school. Great people from the top of the administration to the kids entering kindergarten--thanks to great parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2014

Liberty is an AMAZING school. They hold academic excellence to a very high standard and still keep a focus on the Christian world view and how it applies to every area of study. I have seen my daughter grow by leaps and bounds into a Christian young woman who can intelligently defend her faith. She is so much more than just prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2014

For Christians, run from any place that Talks the Talk but doesn't Walk the Walk.


Posted April 23, 2014

After 4 years of teaching music at Liberty Classical Academy, I have become more and more impressed with the level of achievement the students are reaching. I believe the small class sizes, highly qualified teachers, and most importantly, the Christian environment, create an atmosphere that fosters amazing results. This school is taking ordinary kids and achieving extraordinary results.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2014

Liberty Classical Academy is the school that I wish would have existed when I was in school. Students are learning age appropriate and in-depth materials at all age levels and the curriculum is integrated and sequenced into the larger scope of the program itself. Our students are challenged in their learning, yet supported to think critically. Staff and teachers really do care about each student and their well-being emotionally, academically, socially, and spiritually. Students at Liberty have opportunities that exceed that of most other schools in the area. The school sends teams to Haiti during Spring Break to serve and experience real inter and intrapersonal growth. Liberty students are highly sought after by colleges around the nation because they are equipped and prepared for the rigor and academic challenges of higher education. Scholarship offers average over $23,000 per student and ACT scores average in the top 13% of the nation. SAT scores average 27.13 for Liberty students compared to 23.0 for Minnesota as a whole and 20.9 nationally. My only regret related to Liberty is that I couldn't attend experience this great education for myself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2014

My child spent a year at Liberty and we spent most of that year wondering if we should pull her out. Though the elementary school seems excellent, there is a reason there are only about 2 dozen kids in the high school. Though there is some fine teaching from a few staff, the leadership is very muddled about their philosophy of education and their influence in the kids' lives. Questions were deflected and concerns not addressed. It's simply not a healthy emotional environment. I waited to write this review until we had some distance and a comparison with another school. My negative assessment has not softened with time or further encounters. This school started with a good idea that deserved better care and execution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

Our son just started attending the PreK program and he loves Liberty. He is excited to go to school and we have seen so many developments in his learning in the few short months that he has been in attendance. The teachers and school staff have been so welcoming and so caring. He has gotten the individual attention that he needs and we feel like that has helped his development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Liberty Classical has a great deal to offer and can be an outstanding education. The tuition is relatively affordable compared to some other private schools but is higher than most parochial or church-affiliated schools. Uniforms are required and the dress code is strictly enforced. The school community has a good group of involved parents to support the activities and class sizes tend to be small. Generally the weaknesses are in communication and openness - and the high turnover in the student body reflects this. The school is also generally not accommodating of students with any sort of special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

This is an amazing school. The teachers are so dedicated to the students and the support and individual attention my child has received is so appreciated. The teachers truly care about the students and their emotional, social and academic growth. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

I have a daughter in kindergarten and a son in second grade. Liberty offers challenging academics coupled with a wonderful learning environment, including small class sizes and warm and caring teachers who get to know the students and families very well and care deeply about their progress. The curriculum also promotes the development of character traits and leadership qualities as well as critical thinking skills. Oral presentations and public speaking are strongly emphasized throughout the school year; my 8 year old is not nervous at all getting up in front of a large group of people are reciting a poem or presenting the findings from a science project. On top of this, they also learn about God and develop a moral, ethical and theological framework from which to build their worldview. It is reflected in all aspects of their teaching and woven throughout the curriculum--not just "Classical learning plus Bible." This is what sets Liberty apart from other private, Christian, or charter schools available in MN. It is a truly intergrated approach. My children are thriving, they absolutely love Liberty and look forward to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

Our kids love the staff and the school! The Christian character being built at Liberty far out ways that at any other school. Academics are held to a high standard. The well rounded curriculum is perfect for our kids, both high achieving and average student. Most important is that Christ is at the center of every class and every subject. Faculty and staff at Liberty reinforce the same beliefs as we do at home and they care about my children. Liberty is growing and shaping the strong Christian leaders of tomorrow and I am proud to be part of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

All I can say is RUN!! If you are even thinking of this school ask for contact numbers of students who have FLED! They say the talk BUT DO NOT DO THE WALK! RUN FAST--if you want a REAL classical academy NOVA all the way
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Liberty is the best fit for our child! Academically challenging, spiritually engaging, a well rounded liberal arts curriculum in the classical model, and excellent teachers and staff are just a few of the reasons why we chose Liberty and continue to stay at Liberty. I highly recommend families seeking a college prep Christian school, come tour Liberty or attend an open house!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

We are so thankful to have a school like Liberty to send our boys to. Our boys love school and we appreciate the close community that Liberty offers. They are not bored with the rigorous classical education and we are so amazed at how their hearts are developing spiritually. The staff is wonderful and they know their children! I have never seen a school with so many happy and cooperative children. We are blessed that we found a school we can entrust our children to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

We have been so blessed by Liberty Classical Academy! As parents of a 3rd grader and kindergartner, we wanted a school that would reinforce our values and morals. This school not only does that but provides an amazing Classical Education! Coming from a public school with 26 kids in a class, the small class sizes have also been a blessing. Our children have grown both academically and spiritually. We thank God for the opportunity to be able to send our children to Liberty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

As a parent of a Kindergardener, all of our expectations have been met. Making a school decision for a little one is never easy, but within a week of school starting, we were elated and relieved that we'd clearly made the right choice. These kids have FUN! while soaking up incredible amounts of information in a structured, but joyful environment. My child is learning respect, high levels of academics, and character, while having a blast. The school may seem small, but what they're taking away is BIG. What a relief to know that our child is learning truth and knowledge away from home, to accent what we're teaching in the home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

Liberty upholds its standards of excellence in every area. Besides that, though, it is also a warm, caring community. Coming to Liberty has been like coming home. We are so thankful that the Lord has put Liberty here in Minnesota for such a time as this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

LCA is a well rounded school with an education that is second to none. The academics offered at Liberty are not only equal to, but better than the academics offered at larger schools with larger tuitions. Liberty is also part of the Minnesota State High School League, so there are many sporting options as well. The music, band and drama departments have staff that is not only talented, but well known and respected. (Mr. Paul Grustans) I invite you to come and check out more information about Liberty at our open house on Nov 13th, Feb 19th, and April 9th. A small school feel, with large school opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

This is a first-class, rock-solid educational approach that teaches our kids how to think logically and communicate effectively. They learn the span of human history and the ideas that shaped our current world. They learn to think logically and communicate clearly in written and spoken word. Best of all, our children have grown deeper in personal integrity and devotion to God. They realize that world they'll inherit needs leaders who understand where we've been and where we might go unless men and women of character step up with wisdom and insight.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Black 4% 9%
Hispanic 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Rebekah Hagstrom
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • ACCS
Associations
  • ACCS
Fax number
  • (651) 776-0393

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Liberty Parent Link
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3878 Highland Ave
White Bear Lake, MN 55110
Website: Click here
Phone: (651) 772-2777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






White Bear Montessori
Saint Paul, MN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT