Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-12
Private
White Bear Lake, MN
Students enrolled: 150
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Liberty Classical Academy 5

Posted October 03, 2014
- a parent
We love our school. Great people from the top of the administration to the kids entering kindergarten--thanks to great parents.

Liberty Classical Academy 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Liberty is an AMAZING school. They hold academic excellence to a very high standard and still keep a focus on the Christian world view and how it applies to every area of study. I have seen my daughter grow by leaps and bounds into a Christian young woman who can intelligently defend her faith. She is so much more than just prepared for college.


Liberty Classical Academy 3

Posted May 18, 2014
- a community member
For Christians, run from any place that Talks the Talk but doesn't Walk the Walk.

Liberty Classical Academy 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a teacher
After 4 years of teaching music at Liberty Classical Academy, I have become more and more impressed with the level of achievement the students are reaching. I believe the small class sizes, highly qualified teachers, and most importantly, the Christian environment, create an atmosphere that fosters amazing results. This school is taking ordinary kids and achieving extraordinary results.

Liberty Classical Academy 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a teacher
Liberty Classical Academy is the school that I wish would have existed when I was in school. Students are learning age appropriate and in-depth materials at all age levels and the curriculum is integrated and sequenced into the larger scope of the program itself. Our students are challenged in their learning, yet supported to think critically. Staff and teachers really do care about each student and their well-being emotionally, academically, socially, and spiritually. Students at Liberty have opportunities that exceed that of most other schools in the area. The school sends teams to Haiti during Spring Break to serve and experience real inter and intrapersonal growth. Liberty students are highly sought after by colleges around the nation because they are equipped and prepared for the rigor and academic challenges of higher education. Scholarship offers average over $23,000 per student and ACT scores average in the top 13% of the nation. SAT scores average 27.13 for Liberty students compared to 23.0 for Minnesota as a whole and 20.9 nationally. My only regret related to Liberty is that I couldn't attend experience this great education for myself.


Liberty Classical Academy 1

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
My child spent a year at Liberty and we spent most of that year wondering if we should pull her out. Though the elementary school seems excellent, there is a reason there are only about 2 dozen kids in the high school. Though there is some fine teaching from a few staff, the leadership is very muddled about their philosophy of education and their influence in the kids' lives. Questions were deflected and concerns not addressed. It's simply not a healthy emotional environment. I waited to write this review until we had some distance and a comparison with another school. My negative assessment has not softened with time or further encounters. This school started with a good idea that deserved better care and execution.

Liberty Classical Academy 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
Our son just started attending the PreK program and he loves Liberty. He is excited to go to school and we have seen so many developments in his learning in the few short months that he has been in attendance. The teachers and school staff have been so welcoming and so caring. He has gotten the individual attention that he needs and we feel like that has helped his development.

Liberty Classical Academy 3

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Liberty Classical has a great deal to offer and can be an outstanding education. The tuition is relatively affordable compared to some other private schools but is higher than most parochial or church-affiliated schools. Uniforms are required and the dress code is strictly enforced. The school community has a good group of involved parents to support the activities and class sizes tend to be small. Generally the weaknesses are in communication and openness - and the high turnover in the student body reflects this. The school is also generally not accommodating of students with any sort of special needs.


Liberty Classical Academy 5

Posted April 13, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing school. The teachers are so dedicated to the students and the support and individual attention my child has received is so appreciated. The teachers truly care about the students and their emotional, social and academic growth. I highly recommend this school.

Liberty Classical Academy 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
I have a daughter in kindergarten and a son in second grade. Liberty offers challenging academics coupled with a wonderful learning environment, including small class sizes and warm and caring teachers who get to know the students and families very well and care deeply about their progress. The curriculum also promotes the development of character traits and leadership qualities as well as critical thinking skills. Oral presentations and public speaking are strongly emphasized throughout the school year; my 8 year old is not nervous at all getting up in front of a large group of people are reciting a poem or presenting the findings from a science project. On top of this, they also learn about God and develop a moral, ethical and theological framework from which to build their worldview. It is reflected in all aspects of their teaching and woven throughout the curriculum--not just "Classical learning plus Bible." This is what sets Liberty apart from other private, Christian, or charter schools available in MN. It is a truly intergrated approach. My children are thriving, they absolutely love Liberty and look forward to school every day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Liberty Classical Academy
3878 Highland Ave, White Bear Lake, MN  55110
(651) 772-2777
Last modified Liberty Classical Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Liberty Classical Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top