Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Patrick High School

Private | 7-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Biloxi

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $129,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $795.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

I graduated from here not too long ago. I feel that the teachers and faculty are very kind and very capable. Based on my experience at the school, the parents are actually causing the majority of the issues. Many parents seem to blame the teachers that their children are failing, yet they ignore the fact that many other students are passing with high grades. The parents here tend to deny any problems with their kids and blame it on the faculty instead. The teachers are great, but the parents, not so much. For example, some parents have called many of the best and "more difficult and intensive" teachers there as the worst ever. Multiple parents are also failing to teach manners and respect to their kids. Overall, the school itself is great, yet the problems mostly come from other students and parents 90% of the time.


Posted August 19, 2013

This School is a wonderful, small, maxprep school. We have great teachers, exciting clubs. Offer many sports and activities for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

My child has been part of the Catholic School system from Pre-K to High School. While at first glance the school seems to be community oriented, I realized while attending a football game at Vancleave, the difference between the school and some public schools. There does seem to be an inner group of community rather than just the community. Offering help to the school is filtered through the inner group. Almost like a business protecting its upper management. With that said, my child loves the school and is doing well academically but I believe he would do well academically where ever he is. I sincerely hope the school is not succumbing to politics and the sole purpose of the boosters is not to sponsor the "golf" tournament.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I have three children attending St. Patrick's (two since the doors openned), each with different interests and learning skills. I have been very pleased with what the school has to offer each child. They are all thriving. The environment promotes leadership, Christian fellowship and my husband and I believe we have made the perfect choice for our family. Absolutely, no regrets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

My child went from all A s to failing. Transition to a new school, and puberty, is difficult and it s easy for kids to slip up. I went through the same thing and remember it well. I asked my child regularly how things were going at school. He made the mistake of missing some assignments and not being truthful about it. He felt trapped and went down hill quickly. Unfortunately, while his teachers knew he was having problems, they did not share the information with us. We did not know there were any problems until his report card came in and he was failing nearly every subject. We got him straightened out and he finished the school year with A s and B s, but that school put us through the wringer. During this time, we sent may emails to the teachers, advisors, and staff, including the principal. Most of these went unanswered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I am a little floored by a few of the very childish reviews presented here. We have lived in many different states and been in many different school systems. (Public and Private) St. Patrick is one of the best we have been involved in. Just because the sports do well, doesn't mean it lacks in academics. I have one child who is and one who isn't in sports and both are doing very well in academics and on ACT testing. I attribute their high ACT test grades to the teaching they have recieved. They are both happy and feel very safe at St. Pats. We are not rich but we feel the sacrifices we make to pay for their education are well worth it at this school. They are surrounded by children who are very interested in their own education, futures and in doing the right things in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

Academics secondary to athletics. OK is the best I can say....not terrible but a disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

The principal of st. patrick is the principal from mercy cross, the athletic directer is a combination of mercy cross's football coach and st. john's football coach. The leadership is growing with the school. New schools offer new problems that will be handle and can only grow stonger and learn from its mistakes. St. Patrick is nothing like mercy cross. This is a larger school with more diversity. The school offers more activities and oppurtunities and experiance more from different types of people.


Posted March 9, 2008

Mercy Cross was great. St. Patrick is terrible. The leadership is poor, including the principle and athletic director. The school is made out to be a rich stuck up school. Mercy Cross was a school that anybody could go to, at St. Patrick it is all about how much money you have. Jesus never said that you are suposto flaunt your money like they do at St. Patrick's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2006

Very good environment and safe. However, it is lacking in academics. For my child this was not an issue -as she is bright enough to catch up when she gets to college and not motivated enough to miss not being challenged. Overall it was a good choice for my particular child. I have another child that I chose to send to public school.I think that every parent must make look at each child as an individual and decide what is best for each one. If the school was funded better I am sure it would offer more academically. They do very well with limited resources and have a high rate of college acceptance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

Mercy Cross High School offers my children a spiritual, academic, supportive atmosphere for them to learn not only the required courses but also morals and virtues. There is a 'family' atmosphere here and many parents are involved in their child's life here. The parents here want to raise their child with the school, not expect the school alone to raise them. There are many opportunities available for the students in sports, extracurricular actitivites and community service. And we are allowed to pray and do pray here, every day, every class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

Mercy Cross is a great school in which I have attended the past year. It has been an awesome experiance. Everyone knows everyone because of the small population of the school. The parents are very involved with the school life. I am very glad my parents sent me here! I even get to participate in as many activities as I'd like.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2004

I have two children that attend Mercy Cross High School and I have been very pleased with the school. It is an extremely safe environment and the teachers know all of the students by name. Because it is a small school, the kids get a chance to know each other well. Also, the kids are able to play multiple sports and actually get playing time. The parents stay really involved and the teachers and principal feel free to talk to us on a regular basis. I would not send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

I think MCHS is a great school. The teachers are great, and there are great activities. People think of it as a snobby school, but its really not. So if I would have to do it again, I would. And my family doesn't own business and I'm not rich either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2004

Mercy Cross is a great high school where students receieve a wonderful education, as well as morals and values you do not have in public schools. Students attend mass each week, and pray/reflect before each class. Great learing environment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 29, 2004

I've put both my daughters through MCHS and have no regrets. If I had more they would attend too. It's a great (and safe) school. It was worth every penny. And no, I'm not rich or own a business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2003

My son has gone to MCHS for five years. We are neither rich nor own a big business. He is a class officer and excels in football, baseball and basketball. The principal and teachers are always telling me how polite he is. I am proud of the christian atmosphere, people he is associated with and the name he has made for himself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My children have received an excellent education at MCHS. They were able to participate in multiple sports and clubs. The teachers and administration care about excellent and promote spiritual growth as well. Money well spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

If I could do it over again I would send my kids to Biloxi High. Do not send your kids here. Its all politics. You have to be rich or own a business to be anybody at this school. So if you aren't rich and have a big name in this city, don't send your children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Fax number
  • (228) 702-0511

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18300 St. Patrick Road
Biloxi, MS 39532
Website: Click here
Phone: (228) 702-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Michel 6th Grade
Biloxi, MS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT