Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5 & Ungraded|Public district
352 students|Cleveland School Dist
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Parks Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
It is a great school my daughter was going to Pearman and everyday she came home crying cause there were a few kids that would pick on her about her weight and I complained and complained and they didn't do anything but since she has been at parks she doesn't come home crying anymore she lives it

Parks Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 16, 2008
- a parent
My child had a wonderful experience in kindergarten with a young, caring, professional teacher Mrs Glo. But I am trying to get my children in to Hayes Cooper in Merigold because I feel my children will get a better education there. I have a neice that goes to Parks and we have had to got to Ms. Brumuchi on a few occasions & she was not helpfull she acts like her teachers can do no wrong even when one threw items a students & had several parents complain &that kids will be kids even when a kid bullies another. When you have more that half of a class not getting the math then it must be the teacher but Ms Brumuchi does not want to hear that it must be the children. I will not be sending my children back to Parks.


Parks Elementary School 4

Posted August 21, 2008
- a parent
Parks has proven to be a wonderful school. Ms. Brumuchi appears to be a good principal but a little untrustworthy. The teachers seem to really care for the students and have their best interest at heart. The rest of the staff is friendly and always helpful. The PTO is active at the school. They appear to be organized and on top of things. Most of the parents work full time and still volunteer their time willingly.

Parks Elementary School 4

Posted July 21, 2008
- a parent

Parks Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 03, 2008
- a parent
I feel that a lot of the reviews I've read are unrealistic. The teachers I have met seem to care about students and work long hours to make a difference. My child had a wonderful experience in kindergarten with a young, caring, professional teacher. My child learned A LOT and had a lot of fun too. I couldn't ask for more than her.


Parks Elementary School 1

Posted December 02, 2007
- a parent
I've had children in this school for two years. One of my children is a non-verbal autistic child. This school has integrated all of their children. It's hard for special needs children to learn at the same pace as normal children. The only parental involvment the school wants is fundraising, Halloween carnivals, and field trips. And the occassional cleaning of the schoolyard.

Parks Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 02, 2007
- a parent
I'm concerned. This school relies on the test scores of first graders the first month of school to determine if the child will go on to the second grade. It's ridiculous how the kids can't be kids anymore. They offer extra-curricular activities through the college at a price that only the rich can afford.

Parks Elementary School 1

Posted December 02, 2007
- a parent
I'm concerned. This school relies on the test scores of first graders the first month of school to determine if the child will go on to the second grade. It's ridiculous how the kids can't be kids anymore. They offer extra-curricular activities through the college at a price that only the rich can afford.


Parks Elementary School 3

Posted October 31, 2006
- a parent
As a parent, I am genuinely concern about the education and welfare of my child. This was part of the reason that I sent her to Parks Elementary, based on the reviews. This is my child's first year there. I have always been under the impression that 'great teachers' are derived under 'great leadership'. I have found that within Parks Elementary, that impression is false! My child has wonderful teachers and she enjoys going to school. However, as a parent, I have been greatly affected by the administrator(Brenda Ellis) there. She is very unprofessional, unfriendly, and very rude. How can I entrust my child within a school system in which the leader exhibits such great negativity. I am convinced, that if Mrs. Ellis continues to 'act' as principal on next year, my child will be an exclusion to Parks!

Parks Elementary School 1

Posted August 23, 2006
- a parent
Parks Elementary is a mediocre school... in a mediocre district... in a state that doesn't make education a priority. There are a few good teachers at Parks, maybe even a couple of great ones, but they are overshadowed by the majority (who lack heart and are burned out with teaching). Administration (local & state)is largely to blame as is the parent's acceptance of the 'status quo'. I will never understand why parents don't expect or DEMAND more. Outside of fund raising by the PSTA, there is ZERO parental participation. Where are all the parents when it comes to curriculum and policy decisions? The few who are interested in these issues are ignored. If your child needs special services, good luck to you! CPSD's special services department is a joke. This is a reflection of the state's lack of commitment to individual's with disabilities and their ZERO ACCOUNTABILITY policies. STATISTICS DON'T LIE!

Nearby schools

Parks Elementary School
Terrace Rd, Cleveland, MS  38732
(662) 843-3166
Last modified Parks Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top