Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbus High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1250 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 12, 2011

I am currently a student at Columbus High and it is an amazing school. There are a multitude of thing to do at the school. All students who attend the school and who are involved in the progression of the school have great experiences. I have been in the band since my 9th grade year and in the upcoming school year i will be in the 11th grade. I would not change my school for anything in the world. It is an amazing school and you can really tell that the teachers and principals care for the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2010

This is the best school I have ever attended. The teachers are phenomenal. They truly care about their students and are eager to ensure their success. I was dual enrolled in college my senior year of high school and my professor thought I was a junior in college due to my work. I accredit that to the teachers at Columbus High. I was part of the accelerated program and am proud to say all of the members of my graduating class are in college and very successful. Personally, I have been on the dean's list in college for 3 consecutive semesters. This school teaches students the skills to succeed in the real world. Wonderful experience! Wouldn't trade it for the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2010

I am a current student at Columbus High School and regardless of what parents think, i know that this is a bad school. It has been one of the worst experiences. You have very limited teachers that actually care and there is a very small number of opportunities. The curriculum is not challenging, nor is anything else. The students are wild and disruptive and it is an over-all bad environment to improve your academia. i would suggest a different school.. perhaps in a different town.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

I love Columbus high school school system because they really care about our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

I'm a former student of CHS and it was the worst experience of my life attending this school. If you're weighing your options of attending other schools, go with something else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2006

Columbus High School is a large school with many different programs and activities offered. There are many opportunites for the student to become involved within their range of interest. My son graduated two years ago well prepared for college. The real life skills along with the academic background he gained at CHS have helped him be a successful college student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

I am currently attending CHS. It is a pretty good school. The teachers are nice and do not mind helping you after school if you need help. I am glad to be an honor student at CHS.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

287 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
77%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
52%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 89% 50%
White 9% 46%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 Hemlock St
Columbus, MS 39702
Phone: (662) 241-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Heritage Academy
Columbus, MS






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT