Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eupora High School

Public | 7-12 & ungraded | 409 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2007

Eupora High School is an excellent school to send your child to. Our school is small. My 3 children graduated from EHS. I am very pleased with their education. Overall, the teaching at EHS is the best. All my children played sports, there were no racial tension or evidence, ever, at EHS. EHS is a wonderful school to attend. Eupora, MS has a high 5 rating in all categories! I want to note that I had one child who never had to study and 2 that had to dig for every grade they made. Go EHS- I will forever support you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

I am a senior at Eupora High School. I've attended Eupora schools through all my school years and we have problems but that's any where you go. Typically they include dress code violation and fighting. A lot of the students don't like Mr. Mason but that's only because they don't know how to act and he has to discipline them. He's been the best principal Eupora has had in a long time. I think the students need to appreciate the principal we have.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2006

I have 2 kids who have graduated from Eupora High School and I am pleased overall with the teaching and activities at this school. There are a few teachers who fall below the 'average' but these are everywhere. I have 2 more kids who will graduate from EHS within the next 6 years and I am very proud of them. They already know what they want to do with thier lives and are working toward that goal with the help of and encourgement of the teaching staff. Even though we might not have all the bigger schools have, we have Pride and Loyalty for our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

I am very proud to state that my husband and I are both graduates of EHS. We have both received advanced degrees in our field. We have two children who attend Eupora High School. We are very pleased with their education-their statewide testing results can attest to this! Academics, sports, and band are all highly achieved at EHS. The Pride of Eupora Band received 3rd in STATE competition last year... statewide! This is a great achievement and speaks highly of the students as well as the band director.This year they have also received Superior Ratings. Our sport programs are outstanding. We think that the parents who choose to be involved are very involved. Parents are always encouraged to be involved at EHS. We are proud for our children to attend Eupora High School and are thankful for all of the well- qualified teachers. Congratulations on reaching Level 5!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

I have two students who have graduated from Eupora High School. They have both gone on to major universities and done extrememly well. I feel that Eupora High has provided a great foundation for their continued education. I have read the other reviews and one fact stands out. Eupora High is a Level 5 school for the second year in a row. Our athletic teams consistantly make the playoffs in all areas, and we have had at least 6 State champions in the last ten years in our various sports. Eupora High has one of the best balanced school programs in the State. Sure there are weaker teachers, but there are many who are very strong. There are 5 Nationally Certified teachers on staff. Even though the majority of students at Eupora High live below the poverty line in low socio-economic environments, the schools still strives to lift them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

I have two children who have graduated from Eupora High School and I could not be more proud of the school. I think the level 5 rating confirms that our school is one of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

I have two kids one graduated from this school Eupora in 2003. The other is still there graduating this year. I would never send another child to this school because they have no discipline system. The sports here are bad...lots of racial problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

I am a student at this school as well, and I think that the school is great. I feel that if the students really want their education then they should dress appropriately so as to look educated. This rule should be enforced. I don't think that the teachers would have such a hard time staying motivated if the students would put a little effort into it. Face it - would you be able to stand up in front of a class full of students who are breaking every rule they can, smarting off about everything you say, and have on something that would be very offensive but would make you feel too embarassed to say something about it? Of course not. You never know what's going on in someone's mind. The teacher's are motivated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2004

All of my children attended Eupora High School and received a great education. Everyone is very proud of our high school for reaching Level 5. Apparently the teachers and students are dedicated to achieving the best education possible. Although some parents do not care if their children break a rule such as the dress code, the majority of our parents do care. The teachers and administrators are to be commended for their dedication and the town of Eupora appreciates them. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2004

I am a student at this school and I don't think it's as bad as what the reviews above say. Dress code is enforced, and rarely does a student get sent home. The stundents very very rarely get freedays. There are problems, however, with the actions of some students (but all schools have that). This is an okay school and it's not nearly as bad as the reviews above make it sound, take it from a student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2004

I am severely disappointed with this school. Eupora High School seems only concerned with dress code and extreme discipline procedures rather than actually teaching objectives that could lead to a level 5 school. The majority of the teachers do not teach 'bell to bell'. Many of the students have 'free day' on Fridays. This could mean watching videos not related to the subject matter.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 12, 2004

This is no place to enroll a child. The teachers are not motivated to teach. They issue a 'free day' every other day. The teachers are more concerned with predicting whether a shirt or blouse will show skin if the child raises their arms,than focusing on objectives for state testing. If a child will be succcessful, then it might be necessary for that child to stay at school. We have very few businesses in this area. Economy is poor. Parents are called to check the child out of school to change clothes just because some teacher is on a power trip. The parent misses work. The child misses class. Give the teachers/students uniforms and do your job from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
98%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
79%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 46%
Black 41% 50%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

65 Clark Ave
Eupora, MS 39744
Phone: (662) 258-4041

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT