Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenville Weston High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1798 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2010

our school needs a big ungrade from the school budget all the way up to more qualified teachers..
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

I would give the school a 4 for its efforts. The teachers and administrators do their very best, but their are people in higher positions of deputy superintendent and superintendent which are allowing terrible things to take place. They sit back or either they actively participate in the bad decisions that the school board makes. I only wish that parents would take a stand for the right things and go to these school board meetings and be heard. The children are losing out and no one is doing anthing. We are all adults and are supposed to be professional, but the school board is making decisions based on a political buddy system. They need to learn that the school district is a business and should be ran as such. I give the teachers and principals a 4 for effort.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 21, 2008

I'm a current junior here at GWHS and personally I would say our school is a great school! every school has its up downs, I mean no school is perfect. We have a new principal and new adminstrators and they are doing a great job! I would say our school has improved!I love GWHS with all my heart and I know it is a great school! Most of the teachers and staff prpeare you for college! they try to help you past your state test and every thing! They try their best and I personally can s ay GWHS is one of the best! I just hate the fact that we are the only school in the Mississippi that gets out at 3:53 most of the time four! I feel that really needs to be changed! Go Hornets! I have faith in this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2007

I am a former student of T. L. Weston High School. I disagree with a lot of the ratings. You can not hold the school responsible for all the problems that are occurring. Yeah, they do have a lot of problems. Regardless of the problems at the school, it is your responsiblity to make the best out the situation. If you feel you did not receive a good education, don't blame the school. If it wasn't for the teachers at the school who cared about the students, I wouldn't be where I am now. I had to realize that I couldn't let the negative things influence my education and they taught me that. I am not saying that there are not problems, but I feel the good things outweighs the bad things.


Posted August 24, 2007

I have to agree with the former students below me. I attended Greenville Weston High School my freshman and sophmore years. The way not only seniors but the whole student body was treated was outrageous. We had to walk in a single file line to lunch and you had to eat at the table with your class,and there were no pep rallies or anything having to do with school spirit. After a while students just get used to the routine. Its like a prison for eight hours. As far as the academics go there were alot of good teachers at Greenville Weston but because some students don't come to learn; they spend alot of their time writing referals. I wouldn't advise any parent to send their child to Greenville Weston High School, especially the Weston campus.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 5, 2006

I am a senior here at GWHS and I believe that we as seniors don't have the privileges that we've earned. The GPSD has made it so that we are not treated like the young adults that we are but like convicts in the state pen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2005

I graduated from Greenville-Weston High and I totally agree with the former teacher from there. Everything about the schools are inept. For example, the young lady who graduated from Greenville High and praised the school's efforts used a lower case I and misspelled ATTENDED. Case closed. The majority of the students who graduate from the schools are poorly equipped to attend any university. Take it from me. I've a first hand account!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 25, 2005

I am a frequent visitor of many schools throughout the delta. I have found that GWHS is one of the better schools that I have visited. The major focus is teaching and learning. It is true that it is not a perfect school,but it is far better than any of the others that I have visited. On a percentage basis,the school's discipline problems are about average when compared to the other local schools within a 50 mile radius. I can say that for the most part, the Greenville Campus has far less violence than I anticipated when looked at from a percentage basis. The teachers do seem to be more self-centered than focusing on the children. They are still teaching, but not to their greatest potential. I have noticed that one Adm., Mr. C..., seems to be very concerned for the students and their education. I think he will go places.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

As a parent of a senior in the Class of 2006, I can honestly say that I have not been pleased with the quality of the school in recent times. I feel that too much emphasis is placed on disciplining bad students, and not enough rewards and benefits are given to students who care and perform well. No pep rallies, not many senior priveledges, and unecessary rules about things that wouldn't really affect the majority of the student body as a whole, like the ridiculous rule that prohibits wearing hooded sweaters (these come in handy in cold weather). Students who do come to school, who make good grades, and display good conduct should have extra incentives on a regular basis. Recently, Jackson State offered High School Day for seniors. My son, a graduating senior and an A student, along with his peers, should have been there. I am not pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

I am not a parent of this school, but I am an upcoming senior at GWHS. Yea it's true that Greenville- Weston isn't the best school in the world, but it is a good one. In the past, I think my school wasn't really preparing students for collge. However, GWHS has come a long way and has new and more educated teachers that can prepare students for college. I am a witness to this because in the fall I'll be taking AP Calculus, a class that I know wasn't there 4 or 5 years ago. Like I said before my school has come a long way and I wouldn't want to be at any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2005

I am a former teacher at GWHS, and I can honestly say that the school does not prepare students for college or for a resposnible adult life. Students are not held accountable for their actions. The administration is unorganized and inept. Many teachers act as imature as the students and do not behave professionally. The good kids who want to succeed are ignored and fall through the cracks. The bad kids receive special priveleges and inexhaustible 'second' chances.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 25, 2004

I am not a parent of a student at this school, but i am a graduate of this school. GWHS is the best school that i ever attened. The teachers are wonderful, there's not another school that i would have wanted to graduate from. I am so proud to be a graduate of that school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 31, 2004

I am not a parent at Greenville Weston, but I am a recent graduate. GWHS was decent. It was not the best school, and if I had the choice, I would hve gone somewhere else. I wish It would have stayed as GHS and T.L. Weston. The schools were much better seperate. The merger hurt our district. There are a lot of unqualified teachers and some of the administrators are petty. So, being truthful, GWHS did not prepare me for college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 15, 2004

I'm not a parent of a student at Greenville-Weston High School, but a freshman here, and I must say that I do love it here. All of the the teachers here know enough about what they teach that they don't need a book. We do use them though. And the teachers here care about each and every one of their students here, and so do the administrators. That makes this school the great one that it is. I was attending school in Arkansas, but I had to come here, and I would say that I am glad I came and if I had to choose I would choose GWHS. This school is the best school that I have attended in my life. So if anyone is looking for a wonderful high school experience, they should come to Greenville-Weston High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2003

I am not a parent but, a student of the Weston Campus. I find my school to be a great one, I love it.I have been to many schools in my life time by far this is the best.I feel that my teachers care about the students at my school. They also know what they are teaching, which is also great.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

333 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
23%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

513 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
60%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
58%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 50%
White 1% 46%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (662) 334-7060

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

419 East Robertshaw St
Greenville, MS 38701
Website: Click here
Phone: (662) 334-7077

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Washington School
Greenville, MS



O'Bannon High School
Greenville, MS



St. Joseph High School
Greenville, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT