Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rawls Springs Attendance Center

Public | K-6 & ungraded | 6 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2013

Rawls Springs is one of Forrest County's best kept secrets! An awesome faculty who go above and beyond the call to insure the children of RSAC have the best opportunities to reach for excellence! A principal who cares for each and every student that walks through the front doors of her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I like the school being small my kids like it made friends they come from a big city so something small is great for more one on one teachers staff principal great people :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Rawls Springs is a wonderful little school! The small size really allows the teachers time to work individually with students. My child is starting his second year here, and I've been very pleased with his teachers and the staff at the school. The principal is great and the teachers go above and beyond for every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

This school is the best kept secret in Forrest county. The small class sizes and family atmosphere are wonderful. My girls have thoroughly enjoyed their time at this school and have excelled academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

This school should be shut down and the approx. 175 children should be split between 2 of the larger schools. This would save the children from the poor education and the community a lot of money keeping this tiny school staffed. Poor everything :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

I am very very disapointed in this school. The education from this school is barely enough to cover state minimal requirements, the teaching staff are addequate but refuse to make the studens act in a way that would result in their being respectful and productive members of society. The students are split into two groups. One group contains the few studens whose parents care about their future and strive to see them excel and the other contains the 90% of the remaining studens who have no future and are only there to fill a seat and get moved through the system. This type school is the reason Mississipi and Forest County schools are on the bottom of the list for education in the statistics. The studens who care are made to suffer and be bullied by the studens who do not care and who have no desire to be a productive part of the community. In my opinion this school should be completely restructured and the requirements for students should be raised to a standard that will allow the few who are trying to learn to advance instead of being held back by the majority who simply want it handed to them. If you are looking for a decent school send your kids to Lamar County Schools as I am
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The school leaves much to be desired. I took my child out Not because of the teachers (I found them to realy go above and beond), but the students...Not all about 75% act like inner city thugs! It must be the community becauseit ranges k-6. Meeting the parents at PTO I found them to be the parents of the 25% good kids. Parents that don't take an intrest in there child's education are to blame for the 75% that keep teachers from teaching our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

I love the size of the school, but some of the classes leave much to be desired. The physical education program is still top notch, but the children are not being challenged in some of the class rooms. They are being taught just what is necessary to meet state standards. Like I said this is not all of the classes, but enough to cause concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

I think this school is very great! after 6th grade they go over to north forrest high school! i recommend this school for any child! i loved that school i luved all my teachers and especially mrs.Lovdahl! we miss you!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
21%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

27 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 50%
White 30% 46%
Hispanic 7% 3%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Archie Smith Rd
Hattiesburg, MS 39402
Phone: (601) 268-2217

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Grace Community School
Hattiesburg, MS



Thames Elementary School
Hattiesburg, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT