Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-8 & Ungraded|Public district
1,161 students|Desoto Co School Dist
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horn Lake Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
Very ineffective. Grades are entered incorrectly. Once questioned it takes forever to change or you have to challenge the teacher because they believe they are always right. Horrible

Horn Lake Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
They don't give out homework. My kids NEVER have homework. Never ever!!! makes no sense to me.


Horn Lake Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
No. It was like pulling teeth to get my son into AP classes. And since he wasn't a chosen student, or a student that parents make more than most he wasn't looked at or rather he has been overlooked for AP classes. Once in he did great.

Horn Lake Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
No the staff just like the previous response are bigots and do not respect these children. Color, race and economic level is very well seen in this staff. They are not nice people and do not represent the school or community well.

Horn Lake Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
The staff is full of bigots. They are not fair and do not show respect to the children or the parents. Education is not going on in the school.


Horn Lake Middle School 1

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
Nothing has changed at this school since the last post in 2013. It is 2016 and the schools focus is still the same. The administration is horrible to this day. They are disrespectful to the students and the parents. Education? What is education? I am not sure anymore. However, discipline and minor behavioral issues they seem to know exactly what to do w/ that. Homework? I have had two students who have unfortunately gone through HLMS and they NEVER have homework. NEVER!!! The staff is still partial to the children. this school is horrible. And the High School is not any better. Ignorance to the fullest level. HORRIBLE!!!

Horn Lake Middle School 1

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
I moved here from San Diego, CA with my children. I will have to agree with the previous posts about this school! It does appear that this school is most concerned with minor behavioral issues rather than the education of the children! I have called and emailed the Assistant Principal 3 times requesting a conference to discuss some issues that I feel are not addressed correctly! We are still fairly new here so I am trying to give them the benefit of the doubt! I will be sure to post more at the end of the school year!

Horn Lake Middle School 1

Posted July 24, 2013
- a parent
I would not advise any parent to choose this school as one that would educate their child(ren). It is unfortunate, but it is true. Unless you have additional outside support, your child will leave that school knowing less than he or she did when they started. There is no order whatsoever. There is no real desire for parental support unless cookies, candy or magazines are being sold. The STAFF shows partiality to the children, and the children themselves will tell you that they are not learning or practicing anything that inspires learning.


Horn Lake Middle School 1

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
Horn Lake Middle School does NOT care about educating children at the level they should be at. They do NOT work with parents that care about their children's education at all. I think they are more worried about a child stepping out of line while walking to the lunch room. We moved here from out of state and no one at that school requested my child's quim report to place her in the appropriate classes and they will just stick your child in the lowest classes. None of the staff will call you back when you leave a message and when you do get a hold of anybody they just tell you to bad because they are to lazy to care. DO NOT ENROLL YOU CHILD IN THIS SCHOOL if you want them to succeed.

Horn Lake Middle School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
The teachers really work with their students and it is a really good environment.

Nearby schools

Horn Lake Middle School
6125 Hurt Rd, Horn Lake, MS  38637
(662) 393-7443
Last modified Horn Lake Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top