Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Jones High School

Public | 7-12 & ungraded | 35 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2010

I loved this school!!! I am a graduate from West and my children attend now. I have always been pleased with the quality of the academics and electives offered. The teachers and administrators are often strict, but in this day and age that is a blessing. I feel safe with my kids here and feel thankful that they make it tough on them. A high workload can be a great thing. College won't be a piece of pie either. I feel that they are being prepared for real life. In our home, we support the administrative staff and 'bleed green'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

As a graduate of wjh I have to say it really is the best of the county schools the facuility and staff really helped me in my education experience to become the person i am today GO MUSTANGS! once a mustang always a mustang


Posted July 23, 2008

Out of all the schools I have attended West beats them all! Its athletic program is amazing! The staff cares greatly about test scores. FIghts is hardly ever a problem here. It is a large school so there is always a place where anyone can fit in! It is a fairly large school. With its recent remodel it is in perfect shape! It is very nice and very well kept in order. The principals care and do their job. No one is ever left behind in my opinion!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2008

As a graduate and former student, I feel that West is a terrific school. Great teachers , students, and an administration that cares. It also has top notch athletic programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2007

I currently attend West Jones, and am, at the moment, dissatisfied. There is no freedom to be yourself. Pink or blue or any other 'distracting' color is unacceptable. The head principal, Mr. Herrington, is the worst principal I have ever seen. Even though we do have an excellent football team and program, what about the other sports and activities? I am in the band, and our money is in very very short supply. Activities and such are great at this school, but in my own opinion, this school overall, is nothing to brag about.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2006

I graduated from West Jones and from the student's point of view, Yes, West has its problems the same as any other school. But this school prepared me for college and for life. I got a great education as well as had tremendous school spirit and loved my school and there was an overall feeling of this. The AP program is exceptional and the school offers many ways of getting involved. Students are educated very well. The work is sometimes overwhelming in the AP classes, but the students Choose that class it is not required so they know what they are getting into. West Jones prepared me for college and life. In every aspect.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 30, 2004

One son graduated a year ago, the other is in tenth grade. The opportunities here are excellent for academics, sports, and arts. Test scores are a major concern for the administration. Sometimes too much so. The arts program is exceptional. Some old-timer teachers need to retire! The district requires too many classes for the honors program limiting the student's opportunity to experience many of the elective classes. Overall, a great school that we are proud to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

I have 2 boys currently in this school, one graduates this week and the third will be starting this fall. actually he starts in the middle school, but his single class room is in the high school. The education students recieve at this school is a good one with a few exceptions. They have a horrible Special Education Program. They do not look to improve this area either. Special ed students are not treated as part of the rest of the school. They are tolerated. they are not intergrated, but treated like a seperate entity. They have an atmosphere of fear when students don't conform to what the administration considers normal. They do not want students to express themselves and think for themselves or question the long outdated ideas found in this area of the country. They need to stop focusing on what kids wear and more on the academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

This school is a great school, but some of the rules are too strict. Faculty should be more worried about drugs and grades rather than what color someones dies their hair. I feel that students would be more comfortable in their learning environment if the faculty wasn't so uptight over little things like that. AP classes push too much work on those kids. They have lives too, and I have seen them so stressed out over the work load that they couldn't hardly eat.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2004

Exceptional! We have been impressed with every aspect of West Jones, from the teachers, principal, activities, curriculum and students. Students are being taught to be leaders and productive members of society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2003

The teachers are concerned and work with students and want them to achieve their best whether in the classroom or on the playing field. I would rate this school up there with the best of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

241 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

184 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
94%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
81%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 46%
Black 25% 50%
Hispanic 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

254 Springhill Rd
Laurel, MS 39443
Phone: (601) 729-8144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT