Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Laurel, MS
Students enrolled: 725
 

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Laurel High School 2

Posted April 14, 2014
- a community member
I am currently employed at lsd. I come in contact with students and staff and the main concern i have experience with both is a lack of respect for others and conflicts of interest.

Laurel High School 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a student
The problem is...the teachers come in class with attitudes. Therefore students get smart back and mouth off by saying inappropriate things. The problem is not the school, its the students and teachers. Students show up to school not ready to get their education. They come and play, talk, and joke in class, not serious about their work. The other half of students dont even care they come to school because their parents make them and its not fair to those students who actually want to learn. All im saying is that parents need to work with their children about having a positive attitude and the school should also talk to the students about having an positive attitude also. When its all said and done the school will all have a positive attitude, and we will all be successful.


Laurel High School 1

Posted June 20, 2012
- a community member
R.H.Watkins use to be filled with students, teachers, counselors, and principals that had great pride in the students and school. They wanted us to be the best we knew how to be and to give it 100% effort into becoming better. Now there is nothing but teachers who really do not want to be there and they bad mouthing the students. Counselors who only protect a certain few and Principals who lack leadership skills. Oh and let's not forget the community that take away from the school instead of investing. No wonder most the children fall behind because the people over them lack pride and passion. The uniform policy is a shame and need to be done away with. I feel if the school Board was elected along with Superintendent positions, more people will have more respect for this school that once was the Pride of Jones County on all levels and not just sports.

Laurel High School 3

Posted February 20, 2012
- a community member
It used to be a great school until teachers stopped caring. I'm a 2010 Top 25 graduate, and I have to say that my experience was bittersweet. The first 2 years were great but the last 2 were not so good because no one puts in enough effort to help the students out. Although it is a mostly black school, it has been a good school. The teachers just need to step up and stop waiting on a paycheck. Teachers are supposed to be passionate about their jobs. Also, the strict uniform enforcement is a major distraction and a major reason why the school is not excelling. Too much attention is being drawn to what a student has on than on the lesson that needs to be taught. LHS just needs to get their priorities straight. This alone will solve most of their problems.

Laurel High School 4

Posted August 03, 2010
- a community member
I graduated from LHS Class 00; I was an all A & B student. I see there aren't any current posts to stand up for the school, so I will take the initiative. Yes the school has changed with the change in society and the changing of time. Now the students are required to wear uniforms, there is more security, there has been a major administration change; but this is still a great school in Mississippi. The teachers are very helpful and now the school has after school tutoring for ANY student and the buses will drop the student off at home. They have AP Courses, and College Prep Courses. For the student that want to achieve great things, this place is a great school to attend, YOU have to go after your education and LHS faculty/staff is there to help facilate that... C.Hill


Laurel High School 4

Posted October 12, 2006
- a former student
I am a graduate of R.H. Watkins (LHS) and enjoyed every minute of it. It was great socially and even more important is that it was great academically. I was able to take A.P. classes and was well prepared for college. I attended Spelman College in Atlanta and went on to earn a Master's Degree. I am now beginning work on a Doctorate. I love LHS!

Laurel High School 4

Posted June 20, 2006
- a parent
The teachers are really great and really care about All of the children. No world is perfect and alot of the children have an up hill battle just to be there each day. If a student wants to do well at this school, they will have all of the chances in the world.They send children to Ivey League schools and military academies.Lots of Jones County persons are afraid 'something' will happen at this school while their child attend it. It has been good to my children and I feel they are better for having attended it.

Laurel High School 4

Posted June 02, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Laurel High School 5

Posted November 10, 2005
- a parent
My children(3) have attended this school from 1996 until present and I think it has far exceeded my expectations. Their athletic and drama departments are exceptional. They send more students to 4 year collages than the county schools and have sent more students to Ivey League schools than others in Jones County. The racial make up this school is 75 % black and 25% white. The teaching staff is the reverse. Most whites are white collar professionals who know the difference in a quality education with the true diversity of life. There are problems here but they are no differnt than any other high school. I would not have done anything any differently. Look for a house in town!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laurel High School
1100 West 12th St, Laurel, MS  39440
(601) 649-4145
Last modified Laurel High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Laurel High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top