Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pearl Lower Elementary School

Public | K-1 & ungraded | 649 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2010

Some of the most committed teachers anywhere.


Posted March 31, 2009

As first grade teachers at Pearl Lower, we strongly feel that we provide a safe, loving, and encouraging atmosphere. The skills that are taught are aligned with the Mississippi State Benchmarks. We take the skills and set high expectations to meet the individual goals of each student. Therefore the students at Pearl are encouraged to go above and beyond. We do not send home skills for homework that have not been previously taught. We strongly believe in meeting our schools mission: The mission of Pearl Public School District is to prepare each student to become life long learners, achieve individual goals, and positively impact a global society.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 24, 2009

This school is great in theory. They have access to great learning resources, take great field trips, and the environment is very comfortable and safe. However, as a parent I am concerned that the students are being pushed to hard with the current curriculum. My 1st grader has had to do geometry & algebra (no exaggerating). The in class writing assignments are on a 3rd grade level. The students, teachers, and after school caregivers are frustrated. The teachers recognize this curriculum is too advanced, but are in no position to do anything about it. As a parent, homework time is upsetting. I find myself having to be a teacher b/c my child isn't getting the information during school hours. We do assignments that require 2 sometimes 3 hours. I think that is a bit much for 1st graders. I know they mean well, but some things need to be changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

My child loves it there. It has been a very good experience. Highly recommened!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

My husband and I love the schools in Pearl. We moved from Montgomery, Alabama where my oldest son had a horrible experience in kindergarten thru 2nd grade. We are so thankful for the great teachers in Pearl. They actually care about our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

I as a father appreciate this schools attempt to make learning an adventure. A father's breakfast and an open reading time for parents to read to a class are just a couple of thing they promote. Pearl is a good small town community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

My son had a lot of problems with being able to do his work due to ADD and his teachers worked with him, caught him up to where he is supposed to be, kept me informed and he went from hating school and learning to absolutely loving it. I would definitely recommend sending your child to this school for 5K-1 grades. I was very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 46%
Black 29% 50%
Hispanic 11% 3%
Two or more races 4% 0%
Asian 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

160 Mary Ann Dr
Pearl, MS 39208
Phone: (601) 932-7976

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Faith Academy
Pearl, MS



New Summit School
Jackson, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT