Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lamar Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 18 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Purvis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $114,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2013

This school has been a blessing! My children have learned and grown so much since beginning at LCS. The curriculum is God centered, and the teachers genuinely care about each student. Yes, it is very structured, and yes, students are expected to follow school and classroom rules. They are expected to listen and obey teachers and respect authority. All of this while focusing on God in a truly Christian environment. Don't hesitate to choose this school for your children!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2009

I've been at this school since kindergarten and really couldn't imagine going anywhere else. The teachers really care for us and are there if we need them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2009

I am a student at Lamar Christian , I absolutely love it !!! I have been at the school since 1998 when I was in K-4 . It is the best school in well, Mississippi I think personally the world needs more schools like it to change the world in a positive Christian way !!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2009

I have 2 children attending LCS and have been greatly satisfied. My children are learning Godly principles and have developed good friendships. The curriculum is ABECA and has been challenging so they learn alot. The science and history are particularly good and I have enjoyed learning right along with them! I love how God is tied into each subject. I have found the teachers to be exceptional. They truly love each child and seem to have each one's best interest at heart. The teachers in general seem happy, competent, and have alerted me to problem areas early on concerning my children. LCS is very strict and reigns children in when needed. You will not find unruly classrooms. The environment is calm which has really helped my children learn. Their athletic program is growing. Baseball, track, basketball are offered and they have a great choral program. Band is also expanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

Lamar Christian School is not a Christian school in name only. It truly is Kingdom Education at it's finest. My son and daughter have both attended this school. You will not find a better learning environment anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

I am a student here and I love this school! Everybody is really nice and you never get ragged on. Our Basketball and Baseball/Softball teams are really fun and we are good. oh yeah, the school is good too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2007

I am a student there and see the inside of the school regularly. Elementary is very advanced in comparison to some other schools.Bro.Louis is a very good-willed man. The teacher's are top-knotch.The school is still young, so it does not have fully developed extracarricular activities.Parents are involved in a major way. They have a fair safety policy as well. Overall, this is a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2007

This school has changed my children for the better. The teachers are excellent, caring people who really try to connect with each individual child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2005

I highly recommend this wonderful Christian school. Your child will develope a closer relationship to our Lord and savior while receiving an excellent education. My 2 children attended this school for 4 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 46%
Black 5% 50%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI
  • SBACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 880
Purvis, MS 39475
Phone: (601) 744-0104

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Baxterville School
Lumberton, MS



Dixie Attendance Center
Hattiesburg, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT