Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Starkville, MS

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Starkville High School 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
Starkville High School is outstanding! I have a son who is a graduate who said his freshman year at MSU was like a review thanks to his excellent education at SHS. My younger son is in 11th grade and has benefited from the AP classes. In addition to quality academics, the arts, drama and band are outstanding. SHS regularly wins national and state awards, and their graduates go to Ivy League schools, the military academies, as well as other outstanding universities. It's a big school, but most classes have been small. I couldn't be more pleased with the opportunities and education my boys have had at SHS.

Starkville High School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is about to graduate from Starkville High School, & she we have been very pleased with her experience there. She has had access to a variety of AP courses as well as lots of clubs with strong student participation. We believe she has been very well prepared for college, both academically & socially. She applied to & was accepted by several highly selective liberal arts schools. In addition, 3 SHS seniors were selected to be Presidential Scholars next fall at Mississippi State University. That's more than any other school in the state, public or private. Last year, SHS claimed over half of the state's perfect scores (5) on the AP European History exam (again, more than ANY other school in state). Kids who are serious about academics are given lots of opportunities to succeed here. Yes, it is a school of highs and lows socioeconomically (so don't let the test scores fool you). SHS has also enjoyed success on the playing field - and there are many choices for kids who want to play sports. SHS is diverse culturally thanks to the presence of many Mississippi State families. Bottom line: If academics are a top priority, SHS is the only choice in Starkville for high school.


Starkville High School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2009
- a parent
Starkville High School is a great place for a child wanting to succeed in life to attend. They have a variety of things to offer and caring staff. The teachers are very cooperative with students and parents and the principal is a wonderful person and does everything in her power to make sure this is a top notch school!

Starkville High School 3

Posted April 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Starkville High School 5

Posted December 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Starkville High School 5

Posted September 19, 2007
- a parent
My 2 children graduated from here, now both in college. The faculty are absolutely stellar. The principal is not, but that hasn't kept the students and faculty from succeeding. Arts are excellent, physics is excellent, history and english - both excellent. We have been very fortunate to have children here.

Starkville High School 4

Posted June 01, 2007
- a parent
The staff is exceptional--many, very strong and motivated teachers. The athletic program is also very strong--state champions in a number of sports over the last few years. The weakness of the school is the leadership. The principal needs to be replaced. She has been a divisive figure at the school and in the community.

Starkville High School 5

Posted March 29, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Starkville High School 2

Posted July 09, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Starkville High School 5

Posted June 19, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Starkville High School
603 Yellowjacket Dr, Starkville, MS  39759
(662) 324-4130
Last modified Starkville High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Starkville High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top