Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walls Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 20 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2013

I have two children @ WES one of who is special needs, her teachers a well as the principal are very active with her education as well as her "personal growth" and have kept us up to date with at least one parent teacher meeting each term (more if they are needed). I feel like they really care about my child as a person and not just a student! My other daughter loves going to school and adores her teacher. Her teacher is amazing, she really cares about "her kids" taking the time to make sure the kids understand and are trying their best. There are a lot of functions for the students and their families. My girls favorite being "family fun night" where the students and their families have supper with teachers and faculty, and, there is ALWAYS, always something going on with the PTA! You honestly couldn't pay me to move out of the WES district!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

I had similar experience with this school when it comes to really being concern with children progress in school.I like many other frustrated parents moved out of this district just to see would the change make a difference.let me tell you it did make a big difference.my son(use to be honor student til went to wes)started disliking school.But thanks to new school district he started liking school again and working hard to get his grades back up.sadly i had to move back into this district.but thankfully board gave me an option.but with a new teacher my son met he chose to stay at walls and im watching closely at his progress.But its just hard to get over harsh treatment and careless attitude that some teachers/educators have toward their pupils.please teachers if you dont like your job please find something else to do.dont destroy/mess up our children...signed concern about educating our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

This is the best school. I only want the very best for my children and this school is that and more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

My son has been attending this school for three years and there is lack of communication from administrators and teachers. The school does a great job of teaching but their is no involvement with parents. There is no PTO/PTA and if there is I have not been asked to join and do not receive any communication. Your child will learn but do not expect to attend any plays, mother/daughter breakfasts because they do not exist. In the past three years the only things the parent has been invited to involving the child is awards ceremonies and one christmas party in which I was the only parent to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2011

I think that Walls Elementary is an AWESOME school. I volunteer regularly and the administrators and all the staff work very hard and you can tell they really love our kids! Of course they want their students to do well on state tests to show what they have learned (and not just because that is what our politicians have required), so there is a lot of emphasis on protecting instructional time. They expect all of their staff and students to work hard to do their best, to stay on task, and to show improvement. If the person on the previous post really thinks the school is trying to hide something, THEY should VOLUNTEER. I don't have to wonder what they are doing because I see what really goes on and how hard these teachers and students work. Probably just another parent who thinks they and their child don't have to follow any rules! Get real!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

I really feel like Walls Elementary has something to hide involving the education that they are giving children. They require a 24hr notice of when and what time a parent plans to come in visit their child's classroom.?????? I feel as if this give them time to put on a show and act as if this is how they teach everyday! Also, I couldn't grasp the actions that occured recently. My child has not been attending this school very long so he doesn't know where his class is and I offered to walk him to his class and I was told I could not because classes had already started, but if they were so concerned about class already starting why did they take another out of class to come to the office to escort my child to class?????????? I really dislike this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

I hated that last year was my last year at Walls!!!! I just loved the principals,teachers,and the rest of the staff!!!!! They treated us fairly and were VERY nice!!!!! Every since I was at Walls I have achieved many things!!!! They had many educational and challenging curricular activities always going on and strived to teach us and tell us to do our best!!!!!!! The parents and teachers were always involved in everything and always had family fun nights to attend!!!!!! I miss everybody at Walls!!!! :)


Posted October 4, 2008

Both of my children went to this school. It is a great school with great teachers. These teachers go above and beyond what should be expected for teachers to do. People who do not like this school should consider whether they , as a parent, are doing what they should be doing with their children. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

I moved to walls in 2007. I have two children that attend walls. When I first enrolled them I thought they better than the school they had previously attended which was Robinsonville Elementary which is not a good school at all. I had no problems with their rules an policies until I started having problems with the teachers an administrators regarding my youngest child who is a special needs child. They would not be very informative when it came time for me asking questions regarding discipline, school work, an other issues going on in the classroom they seem to want to hide what was going on. They need to become more organize an have better communication skills they are more focus on passing state test than the well being of all children of all ages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I'm new to Mississippi and so far this school has been a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

Walls is very structured,neat,and my child actually likes going to school there!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

In response to the posting on 8/12/07: At this time, Ms. Kelley, and Dr. Haslip had just taken the school. Ms. Kelley has fallen into a great pattern of consistency and leadership! Walls Elementary is one of the greatest schools in Desoto County. Dr. Haslip is following the lead of Ms. Kelley, and moving forward! The school did not lose anything when Tom Spencer left. He was a good principal, but not the saving grace people thought he was. Walls is great b/c of the teachers, staff, and parents! We work together and make a great team for the kids of Desoto County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

Walls Elementary is lacking leadership. Since Tom Spencer left the school one year ago the school has seemed to have lost its identity. Teacher morale is down and students are not achieving as in the past. Principal Rebecca Kelley is a good principal but seems to lack direction since Tom Spencer left the district last year. Hopefully she will step up to her role. The new assistant principal Dennis Haslip is wishy washy with parents and has a tendency to not be discrete about children and staff with others. This school is not what is used to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Walls Elementary is, by far, the best elementary school in Desoto County. This is largely due to Principal Thomas Spencer. Two of my sons attended Walls from 1st through 5th grade (Walls ends with 5th grade), and moved out of the district so that we could be in the much praised Desoto Central school district. I must say that Walls is superior in so many ways, and we only wish the grade levels had extended beyond 5th. Mr. Spencer was a mentor to my son, Keith, who still has a deep fondness for this beloved man. Mr. Spencer will be a tremendous asset in his new position in Senatobia, but I just wanted him to know that he touched my sons lives with his kindness and involvement in theirs, which has helped make them the fine young men they are today. Thank you, Mr. Spencer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

We moved to desoto county last summer. My children are thriving at walls. Mr. Spencer will sorely be missed next year. Walls promotes discipline with love and firmness. They set high academic standards, reward achievement and effort. They look for alternative funds to give the children extras. They are required to eat their lunch quietly, but this is not a bad thing. You cannot believe how many lunches are thrown away because kids were talking and not eating at our other school. I do, however; agree with the recess amount. It is far too little. The children are in school 7 hours a day. One 20-30 minute recess is not enough. One recess and a major obesity problem; maybe there is a correlation. There is also a need for better and more challenging playground equipment for all age groups. Please get our kids hearts pumping.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

In response to the review left 8/05 regarding a 20 min recess and no talking during lunch, I haven't found that to be case for my Kindergartener. They talk with friends at lunch (I know this from another mother who had lunch with her child). My daughter has not complained about too little time on the playground and has told me that somedays they go out twice to play. Her teacher is great and I couldn't ask for better lessons or a better school environment. She started school resisting against the rules but that was quickly resolved by the teacher and myself working together and we have noticed her self esteem build without another incident since. She is absorbing her lessons and is excited about school each day because the planned activities are fun and interactive. It's terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

My son and I had a very good experience with WES, at least that is what I thought until my sister's child went there. I think that the prinicipal needs to do reviews/surveys from children as to how they feel their teacher treats them and the class as a whole. Children need to feel secure not only academically but, socially and personally as well. I don't feel that is taking place. They only have 20 minutes of recess the whole day and can't talk during lunch. I think that is obsurd. Parents need to be fully aware of what is taking place in their child/children's school and I will admit that I did not know the full story. I think children should learn everything they can but, we can't forget they are still children and that they have plenty of time to be grown up later in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

Walls Elementary is an wonderful school with a great staff with a qualified academic program. They strieve hard to exceed, not meet the learning requirements. My children have loved going to school there and have excelled in their own way. There is only two things that I believe that could really make Walls Elementary even stronger. The first is required physical education at least three times a week. Childhood obesity is a huge problem in the U.S. and we really need to help show our children how physical fitness can be fun. The second item I feel strongly about is the school needs to start having parent-teacher conferences twice a year for all students. The school has always been good about parent involvement, however many parents will not call for a conference or to ask even a small question out of fear. These conferences can help both parents, students and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2004

Walls elem is a very good school. The teachers are very nice and strict. There are lots of nice kids there and friends are easily made. Kids get the right amount of attention and care. No kid gets more attention than others. My daughter loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

This school is great. My son attended 4th thru 5th grade at Walls. The staff and teachers are caring. Mr. Spencer and Ms. Kelley are wonderful. De Soto County schools have a great curriculum.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 46%
Black 36% 50%
Hispanic 15% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6131 Delta View Rd
Walls, MS 38680
Phone: (662) 781-1280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT