Advertisement
Advertisement

Heartland High School and Academy

Private | PK-12 | 152 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Belton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2010

Heartland prepares children for life, spiritually and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The curriculum is college prep. All the testing, ACT's, etc., the students excel above all the other schools. Most importantly, they learn Bible and how to live their Christian faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

We have had our children at Heartland for 6 years and it has been outstanding. Last year our 5th grader tested with a 10th grade reading-comprehension level on her Stanford Achievement Tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

Heartland High School & Academy is an outstanding private Christian school that offers a traditional liberal arts education. They are fully accredited by North Central Accreditation (the same group that accredits colleges) and ACSI. The students test an average of two grade levels above the national average. The focus on family values combined with a quality education create an atmosphere of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

The Baker family has done an outstanding job over the last 20 years forming Heartland into a solid institution where children are safe and receive a quality education. In addition to this; the tuition is exceptionally low and there are tuition assistance programs in place for those who qualify. While the Baker family was instrumental in establishing Heartland High School and Academy; their inability to manage change and their opposition to it will ultimately be its undoing. Currently, the school is experiencing a negative growth rate. Many classes have fewer than 8 children, and some have so few that grades have been combined; there are not enough course options for students. When there is a vacancy in a leadership role it is filled from within; a family member is plugged into the gap regardless of qualifications.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2004

I am going on my third year teaching at Heartland and I have one child in the 10th grade and one in the 2nd grade. This is an excellent school for our family because it was exactly what we were looking for when we wanted a great education for our children. We were in the public schools before and were not pleased with the overall atmosphere and lack of discipline. We are not sheltering our children we are making them stronger in their faith so they can handle the worldly things that come their way. Heartland teaches a Christian Worldview and lets them know what is out their and how to battle it. Some say the public school is a 'mission field'... well, we don't send unequipped children out on the 'mission field'.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 15, 2003

Heartland is a great school. All of my children attend this school and are doing very well, socially and academically. My kids are also growing spiritually. I have been told by many that by sending my kids to a private Christian school that I am sheltering them from the real world. I am finding that I am not sheltering them, they are being equipped to deal with the real world. The teachers are great. They genuinely care about the students, making sure they are learning and growing. My kids are very happy here too. Thank you Heartland for making a difference in our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This is our second year to have our daughter at Heartland and it is the best investment we have ever made. The teachers and faculty are wonderful. The education is solid. The class sizes are small allowing for one on one attention from the teachers. As a former educator myself, I am convinced that Heartland is the best school out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

As a parent of 3 school age children and 1 still to go, I would highly recommend Heartland. I have been very impressed with the teachers, you can tell they love what they do and that comes out in my children's grades. On testing, they have always came out at least 2 grades ahead and even post high school while only in middle school. The discipline had always enabled the teachers to do their job as well as the studenst.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 77%
Hispanic 8% 4%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 3% 17%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
  • SBACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

730 Cambridge
Belton, MO 64012
Phone: (816) 331-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT