Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John Lalande School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Blue Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $122,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

We have had a student attending St. John's for 5 years and every year it gets better and better. The teachers are wonderful and the community aspect of the school makes it a special place. Everyone knows your name and there are plenty of school activities that bring everyone together. I highly recommend it even if you are not Catholic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Both of our children attend St. John's and they love the school and the teachers. Mom and I love the great education they receive and the safe environment provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

St. John LaLande is such a wonderful school. Small class sizes, a feeling of family, great teachers and my kids learning about God are just a few of the reasons we would recommend this school. The school is located in Blue Springs but we live in Lee's Summit along with several other families. It's a great private and Catholic school option in Eastern Jackson County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

St. John LaLande provides an excellent environment for learning within a faith filled community. The teachers, staff and administration are invested in helping each student succeed. The middle school program prepares the students for success in high school and beyond. Although our family lives in Lee's Summit it is well worth the trip to attend St. John LaLande!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

This school provides a wonderful program for children to prosper in a safe and secure environment. My three children starteded in the pre-school program, which is second to none. The student to teacher ratio is low and the benefits of the smaller class sizes are reflected in classroom participation and grades. The commitment of the staff and involvement of school families creates a sense of community that further distinguishes this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2010

Great school, good teacher to student ratio. High quality teachers, SJLL really prepares students for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2009

I was a student here for about 7 years, I loved it! The teachers are very nice and caring. But some of the students can be mean but its an amazing school.


Posted January 4, 2008

This school is no longer a tithing school, but a tuition school. Although grade level has a max of approx 45 kids, that is split between two classrooms. Currently, I believe we average about 15-18 per classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

St. John's offers a top notch educational program. The level of parental involvement is off the chart. The small community environment and feel is apparent and adored. I have a child in preschool there and one in Kindergarten. Although we bought our home nearly 3 yrs ago so that our kids could attend Lucy Franklin, we ultimately opted for the private school. We love the religion aspect as a constant influence. Our children are able to attend mass with their class each week. Although we are a catholic family it isn't a requirement to attend the school. Everyone is welcome. However, if you are not a tithing member of the church I believe tuition is about 3700.00 a year. There is a max of about 45 kids per class. There are no buses, but a convenient car pool system in place for drop off/pick up. School is in session from 8a-3p.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 74%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 17%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 Northwest R D Mize Road
Blue Springs, MO 64015
Phone: (816) 228-5895

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Timothy Lutheran School
Blue Springs, MO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT