Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shepard Blvd. Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 549 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Shepard is a wonderful environment where student's education and development are the main priorities. The students are taught the 7 habits and then encouraged to live by them. My son has a 504 and it is taken very seriously and the teachers have helped him to grow as not only a learner but a person. It really is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2008

I cannot say enough good things about Shepard. The staff is wonderful and makes it a point to know every student and their parents. The PTA is wonderful and very involved in making Shepard even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

I moved to the Shepard Neighborhood several years ago and am so happy with the experience and education my daughters and son have had at Shepard. There is such school spirit and a sense of community with a very high level of parent involvement that pleases my wife and I very much. There is a much more relaxed and friendly atmosphere while maintaining high standards there I find than Mill Creek Elementary where we transferred from which I felt was overly competitive and a little less friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

Shepard was a wonderful learning environment for my children. Each had excellent teachers and great opportunities for personal growth and leadership-choir, Student Senate, and voluntary community service activities from grades 2-5. The teachers held high expectations for the students and helped them achieve success in a caring, nurturing environment. Manners and virtues were fostered by the teachers as well. The children learned by example. Shepards choir is continually growing. The end of year fine arts performance is always a highlight for parents, students, and staff. While parent involvement has decreased over the years, there are still parents that make the time to be involved in various ways. Shepard was a tremendous experience for my children and we will miss it as our final child heads into middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

I have 4 children who attend shepard and i do not know who the parent is that suggested shepard is 0 in safety because they are definitely mistaken. Safety is definitely a priority. I am appalled that someone would say that because i know. I work there! we have cameras, we have two radios during arrival/departure times, we do not bus children in. We live in a large rural community and we have a wonderful mix of ethnic backgrounds. We have an awesome pta and awesome teachers. Yes, we do have so many parent volunteers that the workroom can be standing room only. It's wonderful to have community/parent involvement. Yes, the map test is horrific thanks to no child left behind. But the map is in every mo public school and can not be avoided. Out of our 19 elementary schools, shepard is one of the best.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 5, 2007

I love Shepard. I notice how courteous the children are, they hold doors open for you and say 'Please, thank you, and excuse me.' I have never had any problems, and the teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2005

Shepard is a wonderful school. They encourage parent envolvement and patriotism. We moved out of the school district and still kept our two daughters attending Shepard. The teachers challenge the students in all ways but also give rewarding praise. It is great to be a Shepard Stallion!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2005

The teachers and staff are the strength of the school. The biggest negative has been over-emphasis on standardized testing and test results that have interfered with the climate of learning. Curiousity, special interests, and intellectual enrichment are being sacrificed in order to achieve intellectual conformity to the standards of the scorers of the MAP test. The discipline program -- with its green lines in the hallways and such also emphasizes a kind of uniformity and adherence to rules for rules sake that diminishes the spirit of the school. Parent involvement is so high that volunteers trip over each other trying to find something meaningful to do, and many of the activities have become characterized by competitive parenting, with hundreds of dollars being spent for decorations for half hour parties and book fairs looking like they were put together by professional event planners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

When I think of Shepard--the quality programs, teachers/administration, parent support, supportive community and high academic standards, I think WOW! Upon walking into Shepard, you notice the environment is nurturing and inviting. Examples of kid work is displayed proudly throughout the school and cozy reading nooks create inviting learning spaces, even in the hallways. Each teacher my child has had is well informed, articulate, with high standards and a supportive curriculum. My child is treated fairly and with respect. The basic virtues provide structure for all students. The teachers are award winning, caring and compassionate. Because of the level of excellence, my child knows she is a learner--now and in the future. What a wonderful foundation Shepard creates! I feel priviledged that my child learns at Shepard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

Shepard is a wonderful school. This school welcomes parents and the community. There are always parents in the building helping. My son is a Shepard graduate. Thanks to Shepard's caring environment, he is now an independent, successful middle school student. My daughter currently attends Shepard. She loves school. All of my children's teachers have always taken a great interest in their learning. I have always felt connected to the classroom. Teachers routinely send weekly newsletters, report progress in Friday folders, and make personal phone calls. I have always felt that the teachers at Shepard truly cared about all aspects of my children's growth. My children attend Shepard by special permission. There isn't another school in Columbia that I would want my children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

All three of my children have attended Shepard School. I moved to this attendance area because of the fine reputation of the school and the teachers. I have been pleased with the high standards set by the entire faculty. The teachers are professions in every way. In fact, I feel very pleased that so many award winning teachers currently teach at Shepard. They go above and beyond standard practices to help each student be successful. The principal is approachable and an advocate for students, teachers AND parents. It is a three way partnership. Shepard has a warm family atmosphere and an exceptional student achievement rate. I would highly recommend that school for any parent who wants an outstanding start for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students35%
Black0%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracial50%
American Indiann/a
White40%
Free or reduced-price lunch20%
Students with disabilities0%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students25%
Black0%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracial40%
American Indiann/a
White33%
Free or reduced-price lunch12%
Students with disabilities0%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students43%
Black9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White52%
Free or reduced-price lunch23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students17%

Math

All Students35%
Black9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White42%
Free or reduced-price lunch20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students55%
Black39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilities46%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students54%
Black39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilities46%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students43%
Black8%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilities27%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 74%
Black 12% 17%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2616 Shepard Blvd
Columbia, MO 65201
Phone: (573) 214-3660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Heritage Academy
Columbia, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT