Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Halls Ferry Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2012

In the past my grandchildren, of whom just started Halls Ferry Elementary this year, would always look for an excuse to not go to school .. now they can't wait to get there! No, we may not be not be Town & Country or the Ladue School Districts but, given the fact that we are a middle class school district I give this school a 5 Star rating. My grandchildren love this school and their Teachers and especially the Principal, Mrs. Hazel who is a jewel!!!. In my experience of dealing w/various schools districts over the years, the Principal and Teachers are very caring and cordial toward the students; they take pride in their reading programs and even go so far as to make sure ALL STUDENTS start their day with a nutritious breakfast, not to mention lunch. And above all they are very cautious of their safety. I just love the way the Teachers interact in all aspects of this Schools routine. You go Mrs. Hazel .you re a winner in my book. Love Ya! Pat Young
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

My daughter transferred to this school from the Hazelwood School District in the 3rd grade. I really like the principal and her teacher, but the school is behind academically and in technology. Her teacher did not have the smartboard, email or other tech components until almost 3 months into the school year. Budget cuts provided a librarian only one day per week and the teachers were attempting to learn his functions for the rest of the week. Some of the curriculum being offered was taught to my daughter in her 2nd grade year at the previous school! I am diligently looking for a private school for the 4th grade year and am hoping that my daughter will not be too far behind academically for the transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

The staff is dedicated to providing the students who attended a quality education. Many staff members volunteer their time to provide extra curricular activities for students to participate in.


Posted April 15, 2010

The teachers have a real desire to teach these kids real life skills and to give them every support possible to be independent learners.


Posted January 18, 2009

My kids love Halls Ferry. They are involved in AR, Scholar Bowl, the book club, orchestra, Read, Right and Run, Hoops for heart, and the list goes on. The teachers are awesome. the work hard and are always there to listen to my concerns. I love the teacherease for grades. My only complaint would be, I wish the PTA meetings were on a different night so I could attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I love Halls Ferry School. The staff is so friendly and concerned. The principal is in touch with everything going on in the school and is concientious person. My child has grown leaps and bounds and enjoys going to school everyday. That's half the battle. He's excited and that to me is what makes learning important. You have to be excited and motivated and want to do your best. I'm so glad they still have PE 3 times a week, Art and Music in the curriculmn. Your doing great Halls Ferry!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2008

My daughter attended Halls Ferry for the first time this past school year. I must say that I was very pleased with the education that she recieved and the support that was provided consistently to ensure academic and social growth. Mrs. Burroughs is one outstanding teacher! She is truly committed to the success of our children. In addition, Mrs. Hazel, the building principal, has done a phenomenal job keeping me informed, addressing my comments, and providing me with a better insight to Ferguson/Florissant curriculum. I have truly appreciated all of the support and dedication to my child and the community. Dr. Rhonda Ely
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

I like most of the schools in ferguson florissant but I do feel like the newdress code is a bit extreme. I like to get my kids clothes where they can wear them at least a year but with the new policy my son has to tuck in his shirts and it makes him look as if his clothes are eating him alive especially in the winter when he wears layers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2007

I have two children one that went to HallsFerry K-6 and one who is in the 4th grade. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about HallsFerry and thier staff. All the teachers really know what thier job is and they take if very serious! The principal, Lisa Hazel is so focused on giving our kids the best foundation for education! She has high expectations for the students and the staff! Wonderful invovement with the parents and lost of fun activities for our school community! Love it and I will miss it when my youngest leaves HallsFerry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

I believe it's a great ideal for the kids to wear uniforms, you always know what your child is going to wear. Especially if you work long hours at work. It make less complicated evening. And it make the kids look much neater, smarter and together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Halls ferry school is a great school. I am glad so many parents have put there kids in uniforms. I hope that they will make it mandatory for all children to wear them. I think wearing uniforms helps the students to focus on learning, and takes the focus off who is the most stylish. I am an involved parent in this school. I go to ptg meetings, and find them very informative. The principals report is one of the main reasons why I go to the meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2005

My daughter has been at Halls Ferry since kindergarden and is now in forth. She loves the school and is always talking about her teachers and how nice they are. I have always gotten information from her teachers when anything was wrong. The teachers she has had seem to be involved with thier students as if they were thier own. She has gotten great grades and is a pretty good student but like all kids she likes to talk and do things she knows she shouldn't. I have no complaints about this school. There seems to be no discrimination against anyone unlike the school I attended which had reverse discrimination as I guess it is called.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2004

with the new dress code its so dumb i mean come on.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
21%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 52% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students41%
Black40%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students45%
Black45%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students36%
Black28%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students36%
Black30%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students35%
Black28%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students44%
Black33%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students33%
Black22%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students26%
Black23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students51%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 76% 17%
White 18% 74%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Lisa Hazel
Fax number
  • (314) 831-1024

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13585 New Halls Ferry Rd
Florissant, MO 63033
Phone: (314) 831-1022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Faith Christian School
Florissant, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT