Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas Hart Benton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 447 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

THB is a wonderful educational community for any youth to get a head start over peers from other schools within the district. Ample opportunities for parent involvement, great leadership, friendly and helpful staff. School is located conveniently next door to the Boys & Girls Club. The teachers and staff here take the time to speak with you, listen to your concerns and suggestions. They were sympathetic and understanding towards a particular incident that affected our family unit; they took time to get to know us more and offered kind words and support to my child's education that was not asked for, however much needed. 1st child attended here from 3rd - 5th grade; with an awesome experience! He transferred from another school within district - very happy that we moved so that he could be in the best learning environment offered. 2nd child will attend K - 5th here as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

My son is going on his third year at Thomas Heart Benton. I feel as if he is not being challenged enough. He is at the top of his class and make 100% on his work. His teacher is great but I feel the curriculum is not pushing the children to learn but to pass them to the next grade. Not to mention they have an over sized closet to put out of control kids in. What ever happened to the safe room not a "so to speak padded room".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2012

I have two children that go to Benton School. They have been going for two years now. One is in the 5th grade and the other one is in the 1st grade. We all love this school. The teachers are wonderful and my children always learns something new and interesting that they tell me that they learned for the day. thank you Thomas Hart Benton for a positive and wonderful experience that my children and I have. Thank you so much Kathy McLellan
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

My daughter is a first grader this year she went to Glendale last year. And she loved it. she excelled so much more at Glendale. The only this positive about this school is her teacher. I'm doing everything I can to get her out of that school as soon as possible. Having young kids go to school at high school hours is ridiculous. I can see how a school can tell a parent that they must put there young child on medication or they wont let them return. If a student needs extra help to contraction then it your job as a teach to give that child extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2009

My children have attended THB for the last 5 years my oldest is in 4th grade now.They have loved every teacher they have had and have had a wonderful learning exsperience to date. I like working with the teachers to insure my children are getting a well rounded education between school and home .I am on the PTA Board and have enjoyed making THB a great place to learn. Heather Aiaga
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

I have 3 children that go to thb and they just all love it there. We are from a small town down south the school's down there have nothing on thb. My oldest daughter is in 3rd grade and haveing difficulty reading but with the teachers and how they have been helping her she has improved so much since the frist of the year. My other daughter is in kindergarten and just loves school because of the teachers. And my son is in early childhood and can't wait to go to school. Two big thumbs up to all the teachers and staff at thb....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

My oldest went here for kindergarten. The principal, Dr. Mallams, was wonderful. He always greeted the parents and the children in the morning and afternoons. He always interacted with the children. This is the prinicpal any parent would love to have for their kids. The teachers were all very kind and respectful. They seem to really care about the children that attend there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

I've had two children attend this school for the last 3 years. We've become so attached to the school and the teachers we've had. They've taken a genuine and personal interest in my children. This is the best grade school experience we've ever had with any of my kids. We're moving this year and going to another grade school with a wonderful reputation, but it's hard to imagine filling the soft spot of admiration we have for these teacher and this school. They've taken outstanding care of my children and we're all the better for the time we spent there. Dr. Mallam's, principal, can be found at recess playing with the children, in the classroom's interacting with the kids, and dressing up for speical occassions. He has truly set up a positive environment for learning. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Dr. Mallams is an exceptional Principal. The school is well mangaged. The teachers hold a high level of pride in their classrooms and students.


Posted November 11, 2007

My daughter began going to Benton in 2nd grade and is now in 3rd. While she still misses her original school, the teachers are wonderful! My daughter is having difficulty with reading and spelling and the teachers seem to go above and beyond what is expected in order for her to succeed. I do wish there were more parent/teacher/student activities at the school, but what they do have is a lot of fun. Both my daughter and I are looking forward to the Parent's Night Out in December!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

i went to this school as a child myself my children love it there of my three only one still goes there this will be his last year we are sad about that but look forward to middle school thanks to all the staff at thb bobcats rule
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

My son has attended this school since kindergarden and now going into 3rd grade.We absolutely love this school they encourage reading and are constantly striving to be the best they can be.The principal is so wonderful and personable the kids adore him and i can't say enough about the teachers.I'd like to see more parent envolvement though where that is lacking the faculty picks up for it they go above and beyond for the kids.I enjoy going there your surrounded by happy kids and teachers along with a cheerful environment students art fill the halls my son loves his home away from home! - Stefania Stanic
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students30%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White40%
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students22%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White26%
Free or reduced-price lunch22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students8%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White9%
Free or reduced-price lunch9%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White43%
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students37%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White43%
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunch47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 74%
Hispanic 13% 5%
Black 10% 17%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Leslie Hochsprung
Fax number
  • (816) 521-5634

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

429 South Leslie
Independence, MO 64050
Phone: (816) 521-5390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Messiah Lutheran School
Independence, MO



Bryant Elementary School
Independence, MO




Ott Elementary School
Independence, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT