Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Randall Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 298 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

I was a guest teacher at Randall Elementary. I've worked in just under fifty schools and this was one of the worst experiences. Not a single staff member smiled during the day nor greeted me passing the hallways even when I smiled and greeted them. I could not believe how poorly they treated the students. They wouldn't allow the kindergarten kids to use the restroom during lunch! There was an older para in the building during a duty assigned to me for the day that was particularly awful. She barked orders at me to clean up after the students without even a "please" or "thank you" while she and two other teachers just stood there watching instead of helping. I was only halfway through with the chores she asked and she up and left early from her duty. The really sad part is that this negative attitude was contagious to the students as well. The students were , disrespectful, and these behaviors really cut their ability to engage in authentic learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 8, 2011

MAP scores- Speak for the school. 3rd Grade 10% Proficient Teachers experience- Poor Volunteers are based upon the want at the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Randall Elementary is a great school, from what I hear. I know good people associated with it, and would really appreciate this school being the one to win, it would help a lot of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Randall loves it's students, the teachers are great at teaching and the parents are wonderful. The students are amazing!! Randall is the best, they are always there to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

Very good school not only do they teach my son they stay on me to make sure im doing my part lol
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

I love this school. It teaches my chid important values in life that i cant teach him sometimes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

my child has ADHD and 2 IEP's on file. The teachers have gone out of their way to help and we appreciate it so much! We have seen such improvement in my child's grades and self worth! We even decided not to move this year to keep the same school. We are very pleased with Randall!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students38%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students38%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students35%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students22%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students29%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 75%
Black 21% 17%
Hispanic 14% 5%
Two or more races 7% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cynthia Grant
Fax number
  • (816) 521-5644

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

509 Jennings Rd
Independence, MO 64056
Phone: (816) 521-5445

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



New Hope Christian School
Independence, MO


Ott Elementary School
Independence, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT