Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

College Heights Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 529 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Joplin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $86,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2010

Keeping in mind that this is a Christian school, other than in the science area, I feel the overall academic program more than prepares the students for college. I have had 2 children attend College Heights since Kindergarten and both have been challenged academically. Socially, I believe that the students are a little too isolated from the rest of the community and this contributes some to a lack of social preparedness for college life. . As far as student life goes, there are multiple opportunities for extra-curricular activities but the sports programs, other than track and volleyball, seem to not be run by volunteers rather than what I would consider 'professional coaches'. From a disciplinary standpoint, be prepared for boy students to be treated more severely than girl students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

I love it. it is really good and Christ centered . God is really the main focus. I really recommend it you can learn a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2009

I am a student at College Heights and it has impacted me in more ways than one. The teachers are amazing and they really care about the students. The student teacher ratio is fantastic and because of the school I will be going to UNC with full ride scholarships. They have brought me up to stand firm in my faith and I am very grateful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2009

I attended this school for two years of high school. They have grown, but they haven't changed. The still maintain an anti science worldview. They did not prepare me at all for any academic rigor. They were merely something that occupied two years of my time while growing up.


Posted October 29, 2008

I love the school. Teachers care for the students and I get a great education. I will be exceedingly prepared for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

Our children have been in CHCS for 3 years now (HS). The school is great in many respects--especially academics. It is a little lacking in sports and extra-curr, but for the price it is the best bargain in the nation...we have asked around in travels. Most of the teachers are wonderful, but a few are just too AR for us (everyone is different). It is well worth the price for a christian environment!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

College Heights Christian School builds character and prepares students for the rigors of college workloads. CHCS has the best Volleyball program in the four state area. The coach really cares. She is not out to win awards, but to graduate girls with college scholorships to help ensure success in their next phase of life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

I am a student at College Heights. I have been going there since my kindergarten year. I am a junior now and I strongly encourage anyone who is considering this school to REALLY look into it. The academics are some of the best in Joplin, in my opinion. The athletics are incredible. I play on the volleyball team and it is truly a great program. God is at work at this school and I know he has great plans for it. The teachers at CHCS are so loving and caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2006

My son attended another excellent christian school in Joplin K-7, then transferred to CHCS in 8th grade. He's now a sophomore. The teachers & students welcomed him with open arms. The school is HARD & challenging academically-there is no bordom here no matter how smart! All students WORK hard, learn time management, they tackle difficult projects--National Rube Goldberg Machine Challenges, science fairs, huge biology, art & history projects. They have homework & alot of it. CHCS teaches students how to work hard & these kids are ready for college! Much is expected both academically & morally. Most students not only work hard in the classroom, but they also give back to school & community by participating in sports, NHS, drama, speech, academic teams,mission work,service hours(required). Standardized Test scores are always above local, state, & national averages--most seniors earn scholarships--parent involvement is abundant. We love the dress code--these students always look great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2005

My daughter has been a student at College Heights from the second grade (she is in the 10th now). They have a great academic program and my daughter is in the College Heights National Honor Society. They are very competitive in athletics with winning teams in basketball, track, volleyball, golf, baseball. This was their first year in Softball and had a 4 and 6 season despite a late start. They take a mission trip each year to witness through helping others. The senior class last year received a large number of scholarships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2005

College Heights is the best school in town in my opinion. I am a student there, and I know first hand what it is like. The teachers are awesome! They are here for the students, not because they have to. It's because they want to! Our athletics are awesome also. We have gone to state in soccer 3 or 4 years in a row. This year they have added Cross Country and Softball to the list of sports, and they are going awesome. Our Volleyball teams are awesome! I would definately recommend this school to anyone! It is truly a great school, and I would never leave!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2005

I am so impressed with the academic and spiritual quality of this school. They exceed expectations in all areas. They have more National Merit Scholar Semi-finalists than any other school in the area, consistently have high standardized test scores for all grades, sports teams win more often than not (and offer soccer, basketball, baseball, golf, volleyball,...)music and art students win many awards, academic teams do very well, and on and on. The teacher quality is exemplary as they not only teach very well, but genuinely care about every student. The administration has a visionary plan for the future, and are wonderful leaders in every way. I would STRONGLY recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

My children have attended CHCS for four years. Every extra curricular activity has taken a group to a higher level of competition. The athletic teams, music, drama, academic, and others have competed past the local level on a regular basis. The academic programs far exceed those of public schools. The test scores of CHCS far exceed the national level as well as all of the area schools, even the higher priced private schools. Parent involvement is so extreme there have been teachers that turn down help on occassion for lack of need. This is a good problem. The new dress code allows a great deal of individual expression as well as modesty. I would home school before sending my child to any other school in the area. The teachers are clearly here for the students because they don't get paid what they are worth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2004

My son was a student at College Heights for five years. The school has alot to offer academically. However, sports wise, they have a ways to go. Plus, they have went with a strict dress code policy for the 2004-2005 school year. I am all for a dress code that promotes modesty, but when they take away the child's right to express themselves as individuals, my husband and I had to draw the line. In saying that, if you are looking for a Christ centered atomsphere for your child, College Heights would be the place. My son has definitely grown spiritually. And for that, I am pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 74%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Black 1% 17%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4311 Newman Road
Joplin, MO 64801
Phone: (417) 782-4114

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT