Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastmorland Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 270 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

My school is Eastmorland Elementary...We love our school! GREAT STAFF and environment! There is a lot of involvement from each outlet which gives a good balance to the school and the childrens learning! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

My children have attended Eastmorland for a number of years, and I've seen many changes in teachers, principals, and building improvements. Each and every teacher my children have had were fabulous. The current principal is friendly, professional, and quite frankly, does her job well. True, if your child is late often, you will be reported for truancy court, but that's the district's policy. Get yourself together and leave the house a couple minutes early, and you'll have no problem. If a meeting is needed with a teacher or principal, they're always scheduled quickly. Phone calls and emails are returned promptly, as well. COURTESY and RESPECT, both things that are taught, valued, and encouraged at Eastmorland, go a long ways in how people will be treated. I'm glad that my children have learned these lifeskills from the wonderful staff at Eastmorland, because, obviously, some people are lacking them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

Eastmorland is a wonderful school! It is a friendly, non threatening environment! The principal is courteous and professional. She goes above and beyond making sure things run smoothly, always putting children first! The teachers and staff are caring, and work hard to meet the needs of the students! We LOVE the fun activities, events, and parent nights at Eastmorland! There is always something to look forward to! Our daughter is excited to go to school each day! She is learning so much! My son will be attending Eastmorland next school year, and eagerly looks forward to being there every day! My husband and I feel very fortunate to be able to send our children to this great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Eastmorlan elementary is one of the worst schools to send your children. The Principal is so unprofessional and won't take any parents phone calls. If you do happen to get her on the phone, she will either hang up on you or report your personal conversation with her(parent/principal conversation) to a juvenile officer. Then the Deputy juvenile officer will contact you and threaten to take your child away! I have never been treated so poorly in my life. I am counting on this school to care for my child for the 7 hrs he is there. Teachers allow bullying to go on, and if a child tries to tell a teacher, the teachers get annoyed and tell them to "stop tattling." Also Parents! if your child is a minute late 5 times, you are reported to jasper county juvenile office. The school will not call and talk to you about anything, They won't agree to sit down meetings, they treat parents and children horrible. If you love your child, don't allow them to go to this school. I ended up taking my child out in the first grade and transferring him to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Eastmorland is a amazing school! I am a former Eastmorland student (now a senior in high school) and I am so happy that i had the chance to go to Eastmorland. I went there from K-5th grade. the teachers are super friendly and i always go visit when i can and i have a great relationship with some of my past teachers! i love this school!


Posted July 17, 2011

I love this school! My family and I were recently injured in a tornado. The staff at the school visited my daughter in the hospital everyday for over 2 weeks! Their support is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2010

The teachers really care about the kids at this school. The building and grounds are really nice and clean and the classrooms are bright and cheery. The kids move on to middle school ahead of the game academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

My daughter is in 2nd grade and new to this school this year. She attended another Joplin school the past two years that I thought was the best, now that she is here I can't believe all the things we were missing. I love this school and hope to never have to move her. The staff are excepitional!! Mrs. Orem is unlike any other principal, I love seeing her at the crosswalk!! Mrs. Horn is one of the 2nd grade teachers (my daughters!!) and she is awsome, has great communication, and eased my daughter in with open arms, when she was so scared of switching schools. The secertary is always helpful and in a great mood!! I probley could go on and on, but to the point This is a great school with great expectations!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

I am so happy we moved into Eastmorland's district when we came to Joplin. I am originally from Neosho, but did not want my kids to go to school there. I tried living in Diamond because I had heard how wonderful the school is there. Well, I can tell you that I have been more impressed with Eastmorland than Diamond by far! To this day I don't even know what the principal looks like at Diamond. Mrs. Orem, the principal at Eastmorland stands out front and talks to parents and students every morning and afternoon. My daughter is in first grade this year and she has 2 sisters who will be following her to school in a couple of years. I plan to stay right where I'm at and give all my kids the great opportunity to go to Eastmorland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

Our family has now had three generations attend Eastmorland and we love it. Eastmorland is a small school atmosphere right in the middle of town. My son has been diagnosed with ADHD and the school could not have treated us better. They hung with us with and without medical treatment and he was never treated as an unwanted nuisance or problem child. Under the schools guidance he has been able to retain honor roll status and remain socially involved and accepted. We love and thank you Eastmorland for all of your hard work and determination.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White42%
Free or reduced-price lunch34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students29%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White30%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students57%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students51%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 74%
Black 13% 17%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Heather Surbrugg
Fax number
  • (417) 625-5344

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1131 Highview
Joplin, MO 64802
Phone: (417) 625-5340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT