Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gracemor Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 816 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2014

Amazing school filled with caring, time devoting teachers & principle. Also amazing IEP program for children who are struggling and need 1 on 1 teaching. Could not imagine what I would do without them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

I think that Gracemor is a fantastic school. I have a 2nd grader and she do very well. The ladies in the office to the teachers to the lunch ladies are always genuinely friendly and know and love the students.It's very disappointing that some other people have had such terrible experiences that they gave the school a bad rating and terrible review. I've never had anything to complain about. Fantastic school and fantastic teachers and staff!!!! and Just remember parents is not just the teachers is our jobs too. to help our Kids to be better at school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

My child went to Kindergarten here before we moved to another school. His teacher was brand new straight out of college and the class size was large with at least 25 students probably more. The classroom felt crowded - too small a space for all of their centers. I was most disappointed with how discipline was handled. I remember one instance in particular where due to my son breaking a rule or misbehaving in some fashion (can't remember particular) he lost center time for a week. A 5 year old does NOT remember 5 days later why they are being punished! Excessive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

I think that Gracemor is a fantastic elementary school. I have a 3rd and 1st grader and they both do very well. I've always thought the teachers were fantastic and my kids have loved each teacher they've had. Everyone, from the ladies in the office to the teachers to the lunch ladies are always genuinely friendly and know and love the students. It makes me feel good when I'm in the school with one of my kids and one of the teachers from a different grade that didn't even have my child in their class calls them by name. We've been wanting to sell our house and move to a different area but the main thing stopping us (besides the economy) is the fact that we love this school so much. It's very disappointing that some other people have had such terrible experiences that they gave the school a bad rating and terrible review. I've never had anything to complain about. Fantastic school and fantastic teachers and staff!!!! I've even thought about trying to get a job there when my 3 year old goes to Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I HAVE HAD A CHILD IN THIS SCHOOL FOR THE PAST TEN YEARS SINCE I HAVE FIVE KIDS WHO ARE IN PRESCHOOL THROUGH HIGHSCHOOL. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. THE PRINCIPAL MRS KUPKA AND THE TEACHERS ARE GREAT. MS KUPKA HAS ALWAYS HELPED MY KIDS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

This school is a let down. The teachers and students appear unmotivated. My child progressed more with a couple of hours per week at Sylvan Learning Centers than three years at Gracemor. Gracemor seems to want to "try something new" instead of sticking to what works (phonics). I am looking for a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2010

This school is horrible. They allow other children to bully your kids and do not inform the parents. They do not try to to teach the children at all. If the student doesnt want to learn then they ca go play and do whatever they want. my son has special needs and is very smart, but instead of teaching him they sent him home constantly. I eventually took him to a different school and now he is doing great. This school only hurts children not help them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

We couldn't get our child out of this school quick enough for our liking. To obtain a response from the Principal takes going way over her head or saying the right phrase or legal action can be brought. Then they'll stay on top of it. The only way to get your child to succeed is to pay for additional education services or move. This school is not meeting National Standards of Education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Is a great school it is a large school but it feels like a small school the staff is loving and all really care about the kids. They know everyones name!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students35%
Black6%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracial42%
American Indiann/a
White42%
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilities11%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students55%
Black13%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracial67%
American Indiann/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunch53%
Students with disabilities16%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students49%
Black42%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunch43%
Students with disabilities14%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students36%
Black23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White40%
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilities19%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students60%
Black39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunch53%
Students with disabilities13%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students64%
Black33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunch58%
Students with disabilities20%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students61%
Black33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunch54%
Students with disabilities20%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 74%
Black 16% 17%
Hispanic 14% 5%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Cynthia Kupka
Fax number
  • (816) 413-6425

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5125 North Sycamore
Kansas City, MO 64119
Phone: (816) 413-6420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Faith Academy
Kansas City, MO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT