Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Englewood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 395 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2011

I have had great luck with the Teachers at this school my daughter just finished her 5th grade year with the confidence to move forward into Middle School. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

Communication is awful. I e-mail my questions and concerns, and I am lucky if I get a response back the same week. Principal is rude and lacks people skills. Teachers will tell me something and they don't follow thru. Staff interacts well with my child, just not with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My two kids went to West Englewood for 2.5 years before we had to move due to work. I have nothing but praise to give to the teachers and staff as they were always on top of things and kept parents informed of what was going on in the classrooms or at the school, and emailed or called me whenever I let them know I needed to speak to someone about a problem or potential issue. The building is in great condition and was always clean. I never had an issue with anyone there or any of their policies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

This should be the very last resort choice for a school. It Needs a new principal that is caring and understanding to all children. The Staff need more training also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

My children were removed from this school. Parental input is not addressed unless it is positive. If you have concerns for your child this is not the school I would recommend. The Administrative staff can be very rude especially if you have a child in special education. Alot of things happen in this school that gets covered up. I have experienced alot of deception at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

My little boy loves his classmates and his teacher. This is my first run with school and I'm enjoying every moment of it! He is in kindergarten and his teacher sends home weekly updates on cirriculum as well as after school activities. The pta seem to be on top of their job because I am constantly getting information on events and such. I am impressed with the faculty and the school itself! In fact I plan to purchase a home next fall and it will have to be in west englewood's district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2006

My son transferred to this school last year. So far I m very impressed. He s in the first grade and brings home new books almost everyday. They have a really good system for homework so that it's no overwhelming but keeps the student engaged after school is over. I like how students get chances to be leaders of different activities, that's just good practice all around. The teachers are friendly and open and other parents participate in events. The frolic they had in autumn was quite fun. The only critique I would make is I d like to see a stronger focus on the math skills, but I think that s unfortunately common in most schools due to the way criteria is set out. But their reading development is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

This school is in need of a lot of repair both physically and educationally. The inside and outside of the school building lack normal maintenance. There is not sufficient parking for the school to conduct whole school activities. It is also very unorganized and there is a lack of communication to parents. There are some wonderful teachers there but there is also a large turnover rate which gives you a lot of first year teachers. They also lack a solid drug-free program which I feel is vitally important for children to interact in. I would not recommend this school to anyone. My last complaint does not only pertain to this school but to the entire NKSD the lunches are awful. I am not sure how they pass health requirements. Every week and I mean every week the menu contains Tony 's Pizza, Chicken Nugets, Chef Boyardee Ravioli everything is processed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

I love this school. my son is mentaly disabled. So, I was very nervous about him switching from his preschool into west englewood. But my nerves where quickly calmed. His teacher is attentive to his unusual needs. The principal is very understanding when he is upset she allows me to enter his classroom whenever nesasary to calm him down. And she also educates the other children on the children in the school that are differant from them. I am very impressed that she takes the time to tell them that it's not right to call names. thoughout the school you see signs that say only positive labels. I highly recomend this school they take the time to care about your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students45%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White42%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunch36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Free or reduced-price lunch44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 75%
Black 19% 17%
Hispanic 15% 5%
Asian 9% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Tamara Eldridge
Fax number
  • (816) 413-4905

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1506 NW Englewood Rd
Kansas City, MO 64118
Phone: (816) 413-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT