Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Winnetonka High School 1

Posted May 14, 2016
- a community member
Horrible assistance for at-risk youth. Biased and completely unprofessional faculty and staff. If it were up to me I'd shut the entire system down.

Winnetonka High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 14, 2016
- a community member
Hands down some of the worst teachers I've ever seen. It seems as if this school is just a dwelling of teacher gossip and the humiliation of their students. We barely learned anything and if your weren't in challenge classes, you weren't taught anything at all.


Winnetonka High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 14, 2016
- a community member
They expect the bare minimum in everyone and does not put forth serious effort to challenge the students perception of education, the future, or themselves.

Winnetonka High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 14, 2016
- a community member
The faculty and staff undermine the potential of most of its students. They also continue the hostility of the student body through unequal punishment, harassment by student-resource officers, and uneducated and untrained principles, staff, and faculty.

Winnetonka High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 14, 2016
- a community member
I think this school is just the dumping-ground for unequipped and unprofessional staff. The quality of education is mediocre and there is no desire to increase the expectations of the students. This school will let students fail and only pays attention to a select few (most often children of staff).


Winnetonka High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 14, 2016
- a community member
Biased discipline and doesn't provide adequate resources to guarantee every student's success. The faculty and staff ensured a clear bias and creation of a second-class in the school.

Winnetonka High School 2

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
Several complaints about a teacher were made and nothing was done. I have a student struggling in school and asked several times to have laptop taken away and nothing was done until 1 week before school let out. My other student there was denied lunch by a teacher and repeatedly called names like stupid and was told she would never amount to anything. I'd say this is by far the Worst school my children have Ever attended.

Winnetonka High School 4

Posted December 29, 2014
- a parent
I just want to say I think it's great that Winnetonka has the daycare for the teen moms. Education is important and some of these girls might not have another choice. Kids make mistakes. If you think your kid isn't doing things with the opposite sex then you are probably in denial. All we can do is educate them and hope they do the right thing. All high schools have teen pregnancy. This high school is just one of the few who choose to help these girls. I for one am proud to support this school. This could be a rumor but i heard they are opening a 2nd daycare at NKC high school too. We only had one issue with a certain teacher and it is just now finally being taken care of. That's why I give them 4 stars instead of 5.


Winnetonka High School 3

Posted October 19, 2014
- a student
Winnetonka High School is amazing. As a current student, I would say my experience was amazing. The only problems are times and teachers. If you need help in school the teachers (yes everyone) will tell you only to come in after school or intervention instead of answering that little question you might have. The problem with teachers as well is bullying. I have been getting bullied since the first day of school. ALL of the bulling has occurred in front of the teachers. Example people would bully me right in front of the teachers and all the teachers would do is look ay me-raise one eyebrow and do nothing. i highly think Winnetonka should work more on paying attention to the students and help them. Also the teachers all give out homework every single day. Some of us have busy schedules after school. They just don't care as long as you turn it in on time. Some teachers do not give the students freedom in their education. This high school suspends students for the most irrelevant reasons. I highly think this school should work on be a community of helping each other.

Winnetonka High School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a student
My school is the best in the district. Everyone is so chill and you can literally talk to anyone you want. We are not cliche and i never see signs of someone getting bullied. We work really hard daily and most students are involved in some type of club, organization, fine art,and or sport. i hate that people only look at test scores to determine whether or not a school is good because we're a a family and have a great teachers awesome students and a fun but rigorous learning environment,. i'm only a sophomore (class of 2017) but i can't see myself going anywhere. Once a Griffin always a Griffin.

Nearby schools

Winnetonka High School
5815 Ne 48th St, Kansas City, MO  64119
(816) 413-5500
Last modified Winnetonka High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top