Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plaza Middle School

Public | 6 | 775 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2012

My daughter transitioned from a private school to Plaza Middle School and she had a GREAT year. I was very impressed with the bully prevention program, the teachers, the staff, and the wonderful Principal. The school does a great job of setting the standards and expectations for the students at the beginning of the school year and enforcing them throughout the year. I was most impressed with the discipline system that is in place which allows students to come to school and get an education without classroom distractions. This school dispells all of the myths that I have heard about public schools. Awesome school. My daughter does not want to leave!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

Plaza is a great school. The district pulls ALL six graders into this "sixth grade center" for one year together. It provides a great, easy transition from elementary to middle school life for the kids. Having everyone from the district together stretches the circle of friends the kids have. The school is split into several "Teams" that keep the kids in mini-schools. The principal is great and the teachers we had were all good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

I'm in Plaza now. It is currently a 6th grade only center. I went to private school before this and i've found that this school rocks! I like my teachers, get good grades, excluding isn't a problem. Go to Park hill!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2007

My daughter went to Parkhill Schools. First to Renner Elementary ,Now she is in Plaza. I am pleasently suprised that this school is wonderful ,also. She has good grades and is very accepted. Her best friend is in the school also,which helps. Last year I helped at one of the school field days. The teachers were very nice and friendly. One thing that is extraordinary is the warm downhome atmosphere of the schools. As soon as you walk in ,it feels like a family reunion. These are the only school she has come home with a smile on her face every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

As a former student of this school, I have to say this was the best year of my life ! The teachers rock, the activities are fun,but the cliques are pretty bad for 6th grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2005

I found that Plaza was a very good school for the general population. However it is a little weak in assiting children with special needs. They have a tendency to pass the buck. I will also say that thier gifted program is excellent. Every year they choose an interesting theme and the children truly learn how not just to spout fact but how to think. They also make Shalespeare fun with thier spring Shaekespear festival
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2004

Plaza Middle School is a sixth grade center. It rocks! I would not normally say that about a school, but this was such an amazing year for my son that I have to! I have a child who has special needs, but is by no means learning disabled. In fact he is very intellegent and earns mostly A's. He has a condition that makes it difficult for him to relate socially. Thanks to the Plaza Staff and the Parkhill District personell, he made friends and loads of progress this year. Everyone needs a principal like Dr. Miles. What a great leader and role model for kids. Kind, caring and considerate as well as informed, would best describe every staff member I met at Plaza. Praises also for all of the extra curricular activities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

Plaza is an amazing school it has many activites for my daughter and drama club is amazing the teachers are great and she learns somthing new everyday. She is on the heroes and team and she loves it. They are always having fun events like P.A.W.S events and Miles Moments. PLaza envolves thier students and does hands on activites. I think Plaza Middle School is a great place for my daughter and many other students to learn and grow. Plaza's principel is amazing not to strict but knows his limts. They have a great disipleanry system. It is great for all the 6th graders to get to no new and different people. My daughter has made so many new friends this year. Plaza is a very responsible school. It should be voted number 1 in the district. It keeps the students reponsible and respectful. PLaza is amazing. Thanks a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 48% in 2014.

819 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

821 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students67%
Black52%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial54%
American Indiann/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilities31%
Limited English proficient students43%

Math

All Students71%
Black56%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial46%
American Indiann/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunch50%
Students with disabilities41%
Limited English proficient students46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 74%
Black 11% 17%
Hispanic 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Michael Brown
Fax number
  • (816) 359-4219

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6501 NW 72nd St
Kansas City, MO 64151
Phone: (816) 359-4210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Martin Luther Academy
Kansas City, MO


Lakeview Middle School
Kansas City, MO


Park Hill Day School
Kansas City, MO


Congress Middle School
Kansas City, MO



Barry School
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT