Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John Francis Regis School

Private | K-8 | 289 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kansas City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $79,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2011

I have had three children go to the school, One child went K-8 and I have two other children that attend now, back in 2001 when my oldest child first started the school was great over the years the cost has went up however, the teachers skills and offerings have not. The school does not have access to special needs classes or have teachers that are educated to deal with children that need a little extra help learning. They assume that all kids should get it and if they don't they are ready to go right pass them. The school has its parents that run everything and don't give any new people a chance at this school its who you know not what you know!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

I went to this school, and now my child attends. I love the education the students get, and how I'm able to talk with staff directly regarding problems. Even though I'm no longer a member of the parish - nor am I a member of the religion - my family is welcomed within the school community. I trust the education my children are getting from this schoo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

Good teachers, class sizes are becoming to large, some parents need to understand their high school popular days are long gone and quit trying to run every aspect of the school functions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

St. Regis School is definitely not the school is used to be. My child's classs size was 27 students and the teacher just couldn't handle it well. There were incidents of drug use and other things that were swept under the rug. The principal is a hard worker, but not a leader or communicator. It has a clique of parents that run everythings and if you're not a parish member, you're pretty much ignored. Academics have fallen and so has teacher morale and accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

St. Regis is a very good school for academics. I also like that my child is being taught by Christian believers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

St. Regis has provided an excellent Catholic education for many of my family members over the last 25 years. Students graduating from St. Regis consistently excel in area private high schools an go on to do very well in college. We have been proud to be part of the St. Regis family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

My daughter has been in this school for 6 years. She has had excellent teachers for all subjects. Many of the teachers have advanced degrees. All the teachers in the school know the kids by name and that means there are extra eyes for any problems that might occur. They have a comprehensive bullying policy and participate in DARE and GREAT programs. Extracurricular activites incude sports, Scouting, Student Council, band and church related activites. Our family is not Catholic but we have been welcomed and embraced by the staff and Parish families. Parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

As a child, I attended the school, but never thought we'd send our children here. After some issues with another private school in the area, we are currently sending our son here, and he is truly blossoming! He loves everyone there, and we've never seen him happier. The staff is great, and we feel very welcomed into the school community. We are truly thankful that we made the decision to send our son to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

A truly outstanding school. It is apparent that the teachers and staff view their positions as vocations and not just jobs. Their efforts are apparent in the student's academic performances. This school recently earned national accreditation in addition to it's accreditation by the diocese. It celebrates it's diversity while maintaining it's academic and behavioral standards. The faith is strong in the school and community. I feel blessed to be able to send my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

The teachers are very involved with the students. It's great to see parents vounteering at the school so much. We live in Lee's Summit and it's worth the drive everyday. Thank you staff and administration and of course thank you parents that get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

Great School Great Teachers Great Parents and Student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2007

The quality of the staff and administration is what makes St. John Francis Regis stand out as a top academic leader for future scholars in the Kansas City area. Music, foreign language (Spanish) and art are integrated into the academic experience as well as a full slate of extracurricular activities in sports and scouting programs. Parent involvement is great and very extensive. The number of parents who volunteer is very large.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 77%
Black 25% 17%
Two or more races 9% N/A
Hispanic 8% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8941 James A Reed Rd
Kansas City, MO 64138
Phone: (816) 763-5837

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dobbs Elementary School
Kansas City, MO


This Christian School
Kansas City, MO



Truman Elementary School
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT