Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Pius X High School

Private | 9-12 | 398 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kansas City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

Great school. Excellent college prep. Many excellent, committed teachers, small class size, motivated students, excellent college placement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Our sons have gone through the St Pius X experience with their eyes, hearts and minds wide open. This school has offered all the children so much for the money! There is a real sense of community with a tough curriculum and devoted faculty. The parents are allowed and encouraged to be involved which has helped us make some great friends of all denominations! The sports experience is great, the coaches care for the kids and the competition is second to none. We compete with schools from Western Missouri, Eastern Kansas, Iowa and Nebraska. I have been fortunate enough to make nice acquaintances with parents and staffs from the four state region. Sportsmanship here is awesome, unfortunately for some, grades are required to be allowed to play. That being said, some have left our school being academically ineligible for sports and flourished with great grades in the public schools, need I say more? If the parents and children are ready to put in some hard work, this is the place for you and your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

Our daughter is a freshman this year at St. Pius X High School. The transformation that has occurred in her personality and disposition can be compared to a flower blossoming. She has gone from being quite introverted and only focused on her academics, to a child who has been on the tennis team, involved in the ministry extracurricular activities, volunteering within the school as well as a local non-profit foundation, and still an honor roll student. Her friendships have grown in a positive way and she is truly happy each day when she comes home from school. She loves her high school experience. We feel very blessed to have such a strong and dedicated school staff and faculty helping guide and prepare our daughter for her future. As parents we also feel very welcomed into the St. Pius community. It s nice to feel like we are part of the school and that staff knows our names.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

First off, let me say that St. Pius X has strong teachers and administrators. They work hard for their students. But, St. Pius does not offer a strong, challenging curriculum for its students. While they say that they offer a "college preparatory" curriculum, they truly don't. The sports programs are strong in the fact that students who at other schools wouldn't be able to participate can participate in them at St. Pius X, but they don't compete at the same level as other private parochial, or public, schools in the Kansas City area. St. Pius X also has a very weak arts department. While they have basic arts and choral programs, they don't offer any music or band classes and their drama department is also poor. In conclusion, other schools in the Kansas City area are much stronger than St. Pius, such as Rockhurst High School or St. Teresa's Academy. Even most public schools offer a better experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2010

Our experience at St. Pius has been a great one. My daughter will be a sophomore in the fall. We were a little nervous at first because none of her close friends from junior high were attending with her, but the SPX community is so warm and engaging, from the administration to the faculty to the students, that she has had a completely positive experience and is really loving school. An honors student, she has found classes to be academically challenging but has received the instruction and support she has needed to achieve and maintain a strong GPA. We can't wait for next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

St. Pius X provided extraordinary opportunities for our two students. Both were challenged academically, earning 26 and 32 hours of college credit, respectively. The school's faith- and service-focused environment further prepared our children to be the compassionate and socially responsible young adults they are today. Their education and experiences here - in addition to the substantial college scholarships most seniors receive - make a St. Pius education a worthy investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

Having had 4 children graduate from St. Pius, we can honestly say that we've experienced ALL of St. Pius. All of our children were well prepared for and are doing great in college and beyond. In varying degrees they've all been involved in the arts, sports and service. Overall, teachers have been very good. We like that our children have been accountable for their actions as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I have been a guest presenter in this school and was very impressed by their academic interest, friendliness, and good behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

The school's reputation for providing a quality education and experience was well deserved. My child graduated before the new and improved facilities were completed, but the decision to send her there was never about the buildings, it was about high expectations in general, scholastic excellence, extra curricular activities, and a caring community. The new facilities just make it that much better. It may sound like a cliche, but the faculty truly cares. I understand the school is growing - and there is a reason for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

We sent all three of our daughters to St Pius over a 10 year period. Although concerned over offerings compared to public schools at the start, it was the right decision. They were very active in sports and were challenged on the academic side. I would do it all over again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

I have had 2 children attend St. Pius X and over their tenure we became more and more disenchanted with the school. There are a few wonderful, caring teachers who go above and beyond to help students succeed. However, both of my children had teachers that did not meet our expectations at all. My children both felt that the math departmart in particular, was very weak and being such a small school, there were not ways to avoid the weaker teachers. They also felt teachers sometimes taught classes that they were not truly able to handle. As a parent, I was fairly involved but felt that my non-athletic students were not as valuable to the school as the athletic ones, in particular the football team. The administration and staff talked about doing more to make the non-athletes feel a part of things, but my children never felt that it really happened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My children have a safe, educationally professional atmosphere to attend. The staff is caring and will go above and beyond to help a student. My children have a high level of self-esteem which I feel is partly due to the staff treating my children with respect and also expecting the same in return. My children are not only learning 'book-wise' but are learning life long values. The staff at SPX are like gold to our family. I wish that I would have had this 'family like' atmosphere when I was attending school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 77%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 1% 17%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 NE 42nd Ter
Kansas City, MO 64116
Phone: (816) 453-3450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Winnetonka High School
Kansas City, MO


Faith Academy
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT