Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hawthorn Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2011

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL AND THE STAFF. We moved here last year due to a job transfer. My kids love it here and hate to even think about returning to their old school. The staff treat you like family as if they already had been knowing you. My son was a little off with his reading grade level, and they worked with him and now he is back on track. We all love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

We moved out of Hawthorn school boundaries last year and I miss the school a lot. The staff are very friendly and personable and willing to meet and talk with you about any concerns. We stayed in the Park Hill school district but I do miss the staff at Hawthorn a ton. After we moved the staff were still willing to meet with me and discuss problems we had with the school change. I would highly recomend this school to anyone who is looking for a great school experince.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

I love Hawthorn Elementary!! I relocated from another state and they have do nothing but made us feel at home. My son was a little behind and was not used to taking a lot of test, but they worked with him and he is right on track now. He tends to act out occassionally but they handle it perfectly with out going overboard or letting him get away with things either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

This school system is awesome!! I have two girls (5th and 7th grades) they love school and their teachers!!!!! We won't be moving from this district until they graduate....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

The positive climate at Hawthorn and high expectations for students make it a great place for children. You can tell staff members are expected to remain positive and are held accountable by the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

This school has went above and beyond my expectations. The building is excellent. My daughter continues to grow not just educationally but socially. She is taught tolerance and acceptance of all types of people. She reads well beyond her grade level and has loved all of her teachers. I have no problem with the way they handle behavioral problems and my daughter has had some in the past. They have worked with her and done it in a kind and encouraging way. With our support, she has started doing much better and we are so proud of her. I think the children that have discipline problems here that are unresolved may be partially due to the lack of support from parents. I love this school and have never been so pleased. My daughter loves it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

My son was a first grader when Hawthorn opened five years ago. He is now a fifth grader there. Without exception, my son has had terrific teachers. And Miss Tulipana is an excellent principal. In speaking with other parents whose children attend Hawthorn, I have not heard anyone remark that their child had a poor teacher. Overall the Park Hill School District is good and therefore Hawthorn is among excellent peers. The secretaries in the office are helpful and courteous. The PTA is good. A bit of a clique perhaps; but they are active in helping out. Better that than apathetic. The new music teacher is terrific. As is the PE teacher. I have not met the art teacher. Overall I have found the school to be terrific and have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2006

I have been nothing but pleased with Hawthorn Elementary. We specifically moved to this area of Kansas City because of the Park Hill School District. Our daughter has thrived at Hawthorn. Most exciting to us is that she is reading 3 grade levels over her grade. I also can't say enough good things about the teachers that we have had so far. They go above and beyond what I was expecting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

I am really disappointed in this school. My son did fine there in kindergarten but has struggled this year. They are not flexible with their discipline system even if it does not work. This school is fine if your kid does everything they are told when they are told to do so. Otherwise you may want to look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students69%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 74%
Black 9% 17%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8200 North Chariton
Kansas City, MO 64152
Phone: (816) 359-4390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Therese School
Kansas City, MO


Martin Luther Academy
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT