Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East High School

Public | 7-12 | 1039 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2011

EAST HIGH SCHOOL worst school ever!!! It doesn't help bullying cause teachers just stand by and look. My child has sometimes comed home crying that he has been bullied and that teachers administrators don't pay attetion as a concern dont send your child here. That's why my child is now attending the Independence school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

Van Horn has become a school that truly encouragies learning! Teachers here really care and take time to build relationships with studeants. So, students are doing great too! Van Horn Rocks!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 27, 2009

I am a recent graduate of Van Horn. I am proud to say that this school has made a full turn around from what it once was! The teachers and staff really cared about what grades we got, they helped us catch up on missing assignments and overall made the school a better place. Van Horn has major potential and highly talented students from what I have seen this year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

At first, I was worried about sending my little girl to Van Horn. However, I couldn't be happier with her success and the success of the transformation of Van Horn. I believe Van Horn High School will become the better of the three Independence High Schools in no time at all, if they aren't already. Go Van Horn! #1 Baseball Team in Independence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

I am a proud parent of a current Van Horn student. At first we were worried how it would be but I have to tell you that we are so glad we made the decision to send our son to Van Horn. I feel like the teachers are there to help the students learn and to use their full potential. I think Van Horn will be one of the better high schools in the area in the upcoming years. I am very proud to be associated with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I believe that anyone who has submitted a rating before September of 2008 doesn't have a clear picture of the 'new' Van Horn High School. The high school and its 'feeder schools' have left the Kansas City school district and are now proud parts of the Independence School District. Complaints about trash and teachers have been addressed in a very postitive way. I'd love to see what people would write now if they visited the school today! Great things are happening at Van Horn today!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 26, 2008

I am a 2005 graduate of Van Horn High School, while at Van Horn there were just a few teachers who really cared about the students and was one of the best performing high schools in the KC district. I think now that Van Horn is now a part of the Independence School District the high school will stand out more academic wise and the school facilities will be more updated
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

Top Notch. Best School in the area. I couldn't ask for more in a learning institution. Keep it up! As with any educational centers, the complainer's are usually students and parents of students who are not performing up to par.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

Van Horn is a great school with beautiful teachers and students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2007

I am a recent student here at Van Horn High School. Throughout my high school education I feel that Van horn has taught me nothing. I am pretty embarrased to say that I attend Van Horn. Van Horns Interior is terrible! There is trash everywhere! And guess what nobody does anything about it. The teachers here complain to the students that they dont get paid and they decide not to do their job. Its safe to say that no student in Van horn would recommend any student to attend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2006

Van Horn administrators are a complete joke. They treat parents as if they are children themselves whenever there is a problem with administration. Under no circumstances would I recommend sending a child there unless you want a non thinking, non-educated, child who is prepared to only work in a dictatorship like atmosphere in a robotic manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

In my opinion Van Horn is not all bad, but it does have its down points. For example the teachers need to interact with the students more and not just give assignments all day. I left Van Horn and now attend a much more advanced, and totally better school. That school needs to have more tutoring for people who need it and teachers that really care about the students instead of what happend to their fellow teachers during the weekend. That school needs a complete make over becauswe the students don't respect it. If they were getting more help then students might actually respect their school and not try to skip every day.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 17, 2006

The quality of academic programs at Van Horn is pretty good. We recently got a new superintendent and the school has slightly higher expectations now. Sport programs are getting bigger and bigger every year, and parents are a lot more involved compared to 2 yrs. ago. Van Horn also added a band class for students to participate in. It takes time to get our school as organized as a suburban school but their getting their.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2005

We were students in the class of 2001. This school really isn't that bad, if the teacher would focus on the student and teach more students would respond better. All of the teachers need to stop pass all the athletic student just because they pass the exrtacurricular activities. Teacher need to socialize after school with one another than socializing during classes. The princepals need to be more interactive with the student than sitting in thier offices all day.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
7%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students17%
Black18%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic19%
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students16%

Math

All Students20%
Black15%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students21%
Black22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic24%
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students8%

Math

All Students10%
Black11%
Hispanic19%
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch10%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students8%

Science

All Students16%
Black10%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic23%
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
20%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

142 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
10%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
9%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
30%
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
67%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
27%
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
4%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students33%
Black25%
Asian/Pacific Islander24%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
White45%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students27%
Black17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students16%

English

All Students32%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students41%
Black28%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students25%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students31%
Black31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunch32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient students30%

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 5%
Black 34% 17%
White 12% 75%
Asian 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Thomas Herrera
Fax number
  • (816) 418-3130

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1924 Van Brunt Blvd
Kansas City, MO 64127
Phone: (816) 418-3125

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Stephen's Academy
Kansas City, MO


Northeast Middle School
Kansas City, MO


Northeast High School
Kansas City, MO


KIPP: Endeavor Academy
Kansas City, MO



Central Middle School
Kansas City, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT