Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Creek Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 529 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

This is a great school! The teachers are highly involved with each individual student to ensure that they are getting the best education they can. The principal and vice principal are very involved and know the name of each and every student. They truly taken interest and each student. The PTA is very involved and has a great board! I would highly recommend the school to anyone moving to Lee Summit area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I have had three kids at Cedar Creek Elementary and have had good experiences with all three! Their teachers have been imminently qualified and concerned about them as individuals. They have been challenged and encouraged to think creatively. We have especially appreciated the enrichment offered by the gifted teacher and the amazing art and music instructions. From the principal to the teachers and staff--you will find quality people who are involved in the education process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

This school has dedicated teachers and staff who go above and beyond for the kids. The pta is very active and there is great parent involvement. My kids are getting an excellent education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

We moved to the LSR7 school district from the SF Bay area specifically so that my 2 children could attend CCE, in part because of the 'rave' reviews of the school and staff. From my observation, they are fair-to-mediocre at teaching the average student, and giving them the tools to succeed academically. However, on the upper and lower ends of the bell curve, the instruction is dodgy, at best. After years of deep parental involvement, and continual frustration, I pulled both kids and home schooled them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

Cedar Creek Elementary is a decent school when it comes to instruction and academics....however, discipline is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2011

Cedar Creek has its good and bad. I have a daughter who has gone through CCE and is now in Junior high. For the most part it was good. I have 2 children there now and one that will be there in a few years. I wish that I could say wonderful things about the school but I cannot. I will however say that the music and p.e. teacher are wonderful and that the kdg. teachers are excellent! This is the school that my children go to and I wish it was better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

From top to bottom CCE is an extraordinary school! There is little to no turnover in either students or teachers, everyone knows and loves everyone. Mrs. Lang, the principal, encourages innovation and the teachers thrive as a result--always bringing new ideas to the classroom. Our music teacher is one of the finest in the state and support for kids on both ends of the bell curve is exemplary. We are so fortunate to have our children at Cedar Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

At Cedar Creek, some teachers are wonderful. Others, not so great. Special class teachers are iffy at best. The subjects at this school are not as advanced as other schools in the district. Also, techniques in handwriting and spelling are aweful. Very little discipline is taught and too much is enforced. They make no effort to seperate the 'bad' kids from the 'good' kids. Teachers often favor certain students and will mess with the unfavored ones' grades if they feel it is neccisary. The school's mantinance isn't the best either. We obsreved that some sick on the floor was not cleaned up for several days, even after being notified. We also observed that similar messes were not cleaned in a healthy manner. Playground supervisors are very unhelpful. We noticed that all they did was sit and talk to one another. Much of the staff was unfriendly. (That does not include teachers).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

All 4 of our children have attended Cedar Creek Elementary. The teachers and parents work closely together to make sure our children receive an excellent academic and social start in their early childhood education. We have an outstanding art and music program. Cedar Creek offers science, writing and technology clubs to our students. The gifted program continues to offer a diverse and enriched curriculum as well. We applaud the staff's flexible and creative teaching approach to the various learning styles of all the students. Having observed in classrooms around the metropolitan area, including numerous private schools, we are proud and thankful that our children receive a wonderful first start to their education at Cedar Creek Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

We have had 2 children go through Cedar Creek Elementary School. The teachers, staff, and educational opportunities at Cedar Creek are outstanding! Our sons were very well prepared for middle school, and have a good attitude toward 'school' most every day. Thank You for a Great Start, Cedar Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2003

Though Cedar Creek appears to be a good school for regular education students, the leadership and its staff do not appear to have adequate knowlege of the special education process nor the kinds of supports that the staff and parents children with disabilities could benefit from. The children with disabilities and the staff that support them are seemingly isolated from other staff and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 42% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 46% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 51% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 48% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 48% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students70%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunch42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students69%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunch33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White75%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White76%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students62%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White69%
Free or reduced-price lunch50%
Students with disabilities40%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students57%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilities40%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students68%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunch60%
Students with disabilities50%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students64%
Black42%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White68%
Free or reduced-price lunch30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students73%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White74%
Free or reduced-price lunch20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 55% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 74%
Black 14% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 SW 3rd St
Lee's Summit, MO 64081
Phone: (816) 986-1260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT