Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Century Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 514 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

BEST SCHOOL EVER!! All three of our children have gone through Century, and we've been so blessed because of it. The teachers are the best and--even better--have instilled a love of learning in each of our children that make them LOVE coming to school! It will be a sad day when our youngest grows out of this school. It will always be close to our hearts! Thank you, Century!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

Century is a wonderful school with the best staff you could ask for! The principle is awesome! She treats parents as partners and enjoys working with the children and their parents. She has an open door policy and works very hard to create a safe environment for the children to learn and grow. There is an awesome support system with all of the staff, other parents and the PTA does wonderful things for the school and parents. We would recommend this school to anyone! I have two children that attend school at Century and they both love the school and all of their teachers. We have never heard any negative comments about any member of the staff. As a matter of fact, they go out of their way to visit teachers when ever they are at the school. We chose to move to this area so that our children would be able to attend this school. My 5th grader had to start at a new school this year; but did not want to leave! The only downside is that the school is now only K - 3 ;-) so my daughter will only have four years there in stead of five.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

We love Century! The principal has been there for years and she is hands down one of the most caring, professional administrators I have ever had the privilege to come in contact with. My daughter was bullied in 1st Grade and when I notified the principal of what was going on, it completely stopped and she went above and beyond to make things right for my daughter and make sure it never happened again. Her passion for giving our children a safe environment in which to learn and her compassion for the kids she works with is phenomenal and we feel blessed to have our children there. They are learning at levels that we previously thought could only be attained through private education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Extremely terrible experience, some teacher's don't even know how to teach, I don't even understand why are they in this profession then. We are even disappointed with the new principle. If you look at reviews, all of them are old from 2009 and 2010, none new.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

We moved to Nixa and this area because of Century This is a fantastic school. Every staff member contributes to this school. Both of my children are doing excellent...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

My daughter is in Kindergarten at Century and loves it! Her teacher is absolutley wonderful with the kids and goes above and beyond for them. I used to teach 2nd grade in a different school district, and my daughter is already reading and writing on the same level as some of those 2nd graders! Now THAT is a testament to the amazing learning that is going on at Century!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

My child attended Kindergarten at Century and is now in the 1st grade. The faculty at Century is amazing.....it is a trickle down effect from the top. Dr. Kopp is as inspirational and motivational to the staff and parents as he is to the kids.....My child loves her school, which is step one to developing a long term love of learning. Century is an energetic, nurturing academic community! Century you should be very proud of the learning culture you have created! Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

If you want your child to receive a great education, send them to Century! Century standards are high and the teachers are exceptional!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

The teachers are top notch, the best of the best! All of my kids have gone here, with my youngest now in K at Century and we always have been pleased with the teachers! Nixa schools are good, but Century is what makes it GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

Mr. Kopp, the principal, is an energetic and moral man, led by the desire to grow future citizens, and he is a great leader. All teachers and staff exceeded our expectations, and they invest a great deal of time and effort into my son's success. The school, and district are heading in the right direction, and make me feel great sending my student there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Absolutely wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

We moved to Nixa from San Diego CA. Our Son has been going to Century since 1st grade and he is a 3rd grader now. We noticed that the level of teacher and faculty envolvement at Century was amazing. Not only on a day to day school basis, but even in the after school functions and events. It is a fantastic school! Mr. Kopp is a fantastic principle! We have no complaints and would recommend Century (Nixa schools in general) to anyone. Nixa as a community is great also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

We moved to Nixa because of the wonderful school reputation. We are impressed with the leadership as well as the teaching here at Century!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

Century is a Great school. As fast as Nixa has grown, so has the school. They have hired new teachers and built new classrooms. Mr. Kopp, the principal is a great influence on these kids. He is not just at the school, he is involved with every child and their development and growth. The staff at Century really care about our kids, and have a way of making our kids care about themselves. Thanks Century for being there for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Free or reduced-price lunch59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students66%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Free or reduced-price lunch51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students74%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Free or reduced-price lunch59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students84%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Free or reduced-price lunch73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 74%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 17%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

732 North St
Nixa, MO 65714
Phone: (417) 724-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT