Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
O'fallon, MO
Students enrolled: 961

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 2

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
After strong academic progress in elementary school, my child made little progress in middle school. The main thing my child learned was to hate school, and hate learning. Focus is on behavioral control rather than interesting and challenging academics. Learning environment is reactive instead of pro-active. School is overcrowded, teachers are not supported, and good students struggle to learn in an atmosphere where they don't feel safe or supported. Extracurricular programs are good.

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 4

Posted February 15, 2012
- a community member
I've been to this school firsthand and know that it is a pretty good school, the principles are really involved, and that the teachers are good (if sometimes a little..... annoying). I think the only thing really missing in this environment is 1. The teachers need to actually teach, not just give a packet or section of reading, tell us it's homework, and hope we catch on. 2. The teachers need to adapt better, more fun teaching styles. If we're all bored and falling asleep in class, we'll never learn anything. And 3. Teachers need to force more discipline onto the more... outrageous students. They back talk, they fight, and now, they're not scared of punishments anymore. The students need to learn respect. I can understand speaking in class, maybe even getting a little loud, but when the students start yelling, and the teacher can't even take control, or when a student will not listen after, maybe, 3 times that the teacher has tried, that's when punishments should be dealt out. The problem here isn't really all about the teachers, it's about the students too.


Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 1

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Very poor academic climate. When my daughter asked to see the teacher for a few minutes after school or during a lunch hour to clarify her understanding of a math function, the teacher said she didn't do either. She was told to stay after school so a high school student could help her. When parents contact teachers regarding what they see on Parent's Portal, the teachers get upset with the student and say we shouldn't rely on that information.

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 2

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Very disappointed in many of the teaching staff at North Middle as well as the lack of communication by the principle when issues have risen regarding the teaching staff. My child does not feel at all appreciated by many of her 6th grade teachers. She works hard to get good grades and is many times snubbed by the teachers when she asks for help with homework that she doesn't understand. The biggest disappointment has been with the music and art teachers. WOW where did they find these teachers?!?!? If I had it to do again, I would not have purchased a home in this school district

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 2

Posted March 04, 2010
- a parent
Most teachers don't care. My child's class was told they were disappointments and would never amount to anything. Another teacher told me she didn't have time for her. Parent involvement stops after 5th grade. They don't want the parents around.


Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 4

Posted November 28, 2009
- a student
this school is the best school everybody has respect for each other. there are a couple of teachers who r way to strict but they are all the people who teach us. i say that they even let the kids have a some what recess. all in all i love this school

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 2

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
The principles spend a lot of time talking about how wonderful their school is now. Not true. Adults at the school SAY they do not tolarate bullying and meaness but they do nothing in actuality. Most teachers are good teachers but the administration leaves this school with much to be desired. Also, the district is antiquated when it comes to teaching technology. No wonder students have low interest in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
I'm still loving this school, the teachers and the adm staff. My experience is good and my son has no complaints about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School
210 Virgil St, O'fallon, MO  63366
(636) 281-2356
Last modified Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top