Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 2

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
After strong academic progress in elementary school, my child made little progress in middle school. The main thing my child learned was to hate school, and hate learning. Focus is on behavioral control rather than interesting and challenging academics. Learning environment is reactive instead of pro-active. School is overcrowded, teachers are not supported, and good students struggle to learn in an atmosphere where they don't feel safe or supported. Extracurricular programs are good.

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 4

Posted February 15, 2012
- a community member
I've been to this school firsthand and know that it is a pretty good school, the principles are really involved, and that the teachers are good (if sometimes a little..... annoying). I think the only thing really missing in this environment is 1. The teachers need to actually teach, not just give a packet or section of reading, tell us it's homework, and hope we catch on. 2. The teachers need to adapt better, more fun teaching styles. If we're all bored and falling asleep in class, we'll never learn anything. And 3. Teachers need to force more discipline onto the more... outrageous students. They back talk, they fight, and now, they're not scared of punishments anymore. The students need to learn respect. I can understand speaking in class, maybe even getting a little loud, but when the students start yelling, and the teacher can't even take control, or when a student will not listen after, maybe, 3 times that the teacher has tried, that's when punishments should be dealt out. The problem here isn't really all about the teachers, it's about the students too.


Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 1

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Very poor academic climate. When my daughter asked to see the teacher for a few minutes after school or during a lunch hour to clarify her understanding of a math function, the teacher said she didn't do either. She was told to stay after school so a high school student could help her. When parents contact teachers regarding what they see on Parent's Portal, the teachers get upset with the student and say we shouldn't rely on that information.

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 2

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Very disappointed in many of the teaching staff at North Middle as well as the lack of communication by the principle when issues have risen regarding the teaching staff. My child does not feel at all appreciated by many of her 6th grade teachers. She works hard to get good grades and is many times snubbed by the teachers when she asks for help with homework that she doesn't understand. The biggest disappointment has been with the music and art teachers. WOW where did they find these teachers?!?!? If I had it to do again, I would not have purchased a home in this school district

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 2

Posted March 04, 2010
- a parent
Most teachers don't care. My child's class was told they were disappointments and would never amount to anything. Another teacher told me she didn't have time for her. Parent involvement stops after 5th grade. They don't want the parents around.


Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 4

Posted November 28, 2009
- a student
this school is the best school everybody has respect for each other. there are a couple of teachers who r way to strict but they are all the people who teach us. i say that they even let the kids have a some what recess. all in all i love this school

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 2

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
The principles spend a lot of time talking about how wonderful their school is now. Not true. Adults at the school SAY they do not tolarate bullying and meaness but they do nothing in actuality. Most teachers are good teachers but the administration leaves this school with much to be desired. Also, the district is antiquated when it comes to teaching technology. No wonder students have low interest in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
I'm still loving this school, the teachers and the adm staff. My experience is good and my son has no complaints about this school.


Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School 2

Posted March 21, 2008
- a student
this school is absolutely awful. there are students who take drugs and give them to others, there is cheating, and violence. i can't even walk through the hallways without getting hurt by the 'jocks'

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School
no rating

Posted January 12, 2008
- a student
I luv this school soooo much i is fun and my fav classes r reading home ec social stydies and science.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School
210 Virgil St, O'fallon, MO  63366
(636) 281-2356
Last modified Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ft. Zumwalt North Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top