Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plato Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 316 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2014

Horrible school. Below acedemic performance of nationl average. There are quite a lot of drugs and alcohol around campus and facility is all related making acess to change difficult if not impossible. Board of Education is flawed and in favor of relatives and they shun military personnel. Stay away.


Posted January 13, 2014

Its a great small town school. Everyone is friendly. Teachers and aides are fantastic however class sizes in the elementary school have become far too large this year. I have two children in the elementary school. Last year classes were much smaller and children were afforded much more individual attention. I would've given the school 5 stars last year when the student to teacher ratio was more appropriate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Teachers are wonderful, staff very nice, kind loving environment for children (we have two in elementary.) Unfortunately I have to give a 3 star rating because the facilities are very poor quality, and the resources are not on par with other more affluent districts. Lunches are HORRIBLE. No reason to serve the garbage they feed the kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2010

We have lived here for 6 years and feel very fortunate that our young children have been able to start their education off on the right track - back to basics and keeping it simple works!!! The surrounding area is growing quickly but there is still a very strong sense of community with everyone wanting what is best for the kids. Go Eagles!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

The staff at Plato is great They have helped my kids grow and I am going to say that this is a school that still has it moral values and does not stop my kids or others who want to express their faith. My kids are alowed to pray at breakfast and lunch with out a teacher telling them they cant do that. most schools know are not alowing that. I like that the teachers love the kids and want what is best for them. The Principle at the elementary school is great!! my kids like him. I could go on but not enough room.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

I just love this school, and the staff is wonderful..My son loves going to school everyday, and that makes me happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

I have a child in the K and found my child has open up a hole new world of learn . I feel the teachers are grate with the kids. My child wants to go to school . From what I hear from other mom's, they are NOT happy at all with this school. I was told , Children services is there answer to every thing. I, myself , have not found that to be true with my family and some of my friends from the school. I feel we are treated fair and equaly with all the children in the 3 classes. My child has learn a lot and that is what he is there for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

If your last name isn't one of the locals...then your child may get left behind. It is very clanish and too dependent on what religious beliefs you hold. There is no room for diversity. It is cut and dry here. It is a very gossipy school with archaeic ideals. It is too bad that an actually good education gets bypassed by what church sermon you attended on Sunday. I am torn between putting up with this school because of a chance of a good education and taking my daughter out due to her learning ideals that in no way do I want her to grow up with. I feel that the educators should stop worrying about the child's last name and treat all children fairly and equally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

This school has some very serious problems in the elementary and alot of parents don't know because they aren't informed. We have one child there and this year has been a horrible learning enviroment because of lack of control in the classroom and constant bullying and degrading. Teachers need to relize that there is more to a classroom other than the top 10%. Children get away with their actions because of what their name is or the prestige that the family holds in the school district and God forbid if you go against them. Something needs to be done to fix this before something happens because people turned their head or figured it would just work itself out. Wrote by A concerned parent who wants her child to get a decent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

I love plato! the school, the teachers, the peers, the place is fantastic. Very one on one. Every one works together to help one/every student succeed. I can call a teacher at home at any time and know that it is ok. And my daughter self esteem has soared due to the confidence she has acheived from being there. The smedley family thanks you! danielle smedley (aka) sydney's mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

We currently have 3 children in the Plato Elementary and have found this school to have a fun learning and very loving environment. Our children receive the care and instruction needed for their ages and personality's. The teachers and Principal is always willing to talk with the parents on a one on one basis and they show genuine concern for the children. They are interested in not only what our children do at school but what they do in their home life as well. I do recommend Plato Elementary to anyone who loves country life and who wishes their child to be known personally by their all of their peers and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White42%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students59%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White45%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students18%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White19%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students42%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White43%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 74%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 17%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. James Miller
Fax number
  • (417) 458-4706

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10645 Plato Dr
Plato, MO 65552
Phone: (417) 458-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Manes Elementary School
Mountain Grove, MO





Pick Elementary School
Fort Leonard Wood, MO


Thayer Elementary School
Fort Leonard Wood, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT