Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Platte County High School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
PCHS is a solid high school that performs well academically and offers a top notch fine arts program. The academic ratings provided by great schools and referenced in another comment are basic and very limiting. For example, PCHS looks to perform below the state avg in Algebra 1. This is only because the district offers Algebra I at 8th grade and more than half the 8th graders take it there.....so their scores are not registered at PCHS. Most districts in MO are too small to provide algebra at 8th grade.....so PCHS is "penalized' for doing a good thing for kids. Do your own research. You will find they are much better than a "7". They also have solid improvement plan. They are good and getting better.

Platte County High School 3

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
We moved here 2 years ago. I have a child in Paxton and Siegrist. There is a need to consolidate buildings or build new in the district. With so many buildings there is too many administrators bogging down the ability for the district to adapt quickly to new and current educational learning for the kids. These two school do not have technology class as a special. They are VERY behind in teaching technology compared to other districts. I have noticed also they are teaching subjects and topics at least a year behind our previous districts back east.


Platte County High School 2

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
Be very careful before moving here. Read the actual test scores for these schools and compare to others in the area. The district sugar coats the information as much as possible. If they rank last in the area on a certain subject they just don't publish it. If there score is high they put it everywhere. As of 2012 the kids at PCHS do worse in some subjects than the state average. We just noticed this after it was brought up in one of the local papers. Platte County is a nice area but DO NOT move here for the schools. Many other options with in KC area with much better schools.

Platte County High School 5

Posted November 10, 2011
- a student
I moved here from Park Hill and boy was there a huge difference. My first year there almost all the upper classmen were actually very helping with just about everything. There is a great atmosphere surrounding the school. We have been recognized many times as being one of the top schools in Missouri and our music department is second to none. All of the teachers i had were willing to stay after their normal hours just to help me out with an assignment or to help me study for a quiz/ test. There is almost no violence there compared to a place like Park Hill or Park Hill South. There are so many opportunities to get scholarships to many places with their wide variety of after-school activities. Also attending the Northland Career Center is a great option for everyone there. I went there for Computer Maintenance Technology with Mr. Schildknecht teaching and i recieved possibly some of the best teachings ever. The counselors at the high school try to get everyone to take a look and tour the facility to try to find out what the kids really want to do for a living. Overall Platte County High School is one of the best choices my parents have ever made regarding my education.

Platte County High School 5

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
We have had three children attend Platte City R-3 High School. The quality of the facilities and the faculty is unmatched in the area. The activities and sports are excellent, and the fact that a large number of graduates are accepted each year to first tier universities speaks for itself.


Platte County High School 4

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
We recently moved to Platte City and have a son attending the high school. For those that have lived in the community they already know how good the school district is compared to others in the area. For parents and students either moving or considering a move to the district the schools are very good and offer alot of opportunities for all age groups of kids. But also understand that Platte City is a smaller community and is very close knit community that is trying to adjust to recent growth. It is difficult to integrate into the community and schools when you are new. A little more so than larger suburban schools in the Kansas City area. But with patience, family support and participation new students will be accepted just as much as students that have spent their entire lives in the district.

Platte County High School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
The PCHS Pirate Pride Band has got to be one of the best high school bands I have ever seen!

Platte County High School 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2009
- a parent
We feel so lucky to have a school district like Platte County R-3. There is such a connection between the school & home. There are so many curriculum choices and after school activities for kids to participate in. Parents are encouraged to partner with the schools in many different ways. The faculty helps you prepare your child to be successful at life.


Platte County High School 5

Posted May 17, 2008
- a community member
I used to go here and loved the time I spent there. The teachers are excellent and dedicated and love to teach. Only complaint was no tennis program, no worries though, I helped start one before I left.

Platte County High School 4

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
This school has been a great change for my kids. We moved from a school district that was close to the same size, but with a smaller community surrounding it. There is more opportunity at PCHS for everyone, not just students who are 'chosen' by a small group of people in the community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Platte County High School
1501 Branch St, Platte City, MO  64079
(816) 858-2822
Last modified Platte County High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Platte County High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top