Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Field Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Field truly cares about each and every student who walks through the door. The staff receive excellent training opportunities through the IB program and are all highly qualified. Field students also have the opportunity to begin learning a second language, in addition to other fine arts offered.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2016
- a parent
I have 3 children at Field (1 in 3rd grade and twins in Kindergarten). My children LOVE school. All of them have progressed really well and continue to enjoy learning. The teachers are very supportive and work with each of them to help them develop as individuals. The IB format allows them to see the impact they have on the world as well as how changes impact them. It's a great way for my children to learn and explore.


Field Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
We transfered in from another Greene County Public school. I was worried because my son was already failing in most subjects at the time of our transfer from attending another school. We didn't know anyone, as we walked up to the door on the first day we were greeted by Mrs. JJ. She is the sweetest. My boys felt welcomed and comfortable already before they walked in their class. After their first report card I was preparing for the worst. I saw their grades increase by 2 letter grades. The next report card, again their grades continue to increase. I found out their system and what all they do and how they interacted with the children, I was impressed. To be honest, rarely did they need help at home with homework because they knew what they were doing. They were taught in detail. Because this is an IB school, extra subjects are taught such as spanish. My kids did great in Spanish. My other son who is in 2nd grade, he can speak complete sentences in Spanis; never ever have they been taught a word of Spanish. They ended the school year with A's and B's. I do not know all of the staff, but any time I had a situation that I was concerned about, the Principal, and counclor took care of it. The teachers that I interacted with, are superior. This is a remarkable school, there are so many other things to list. They allow parents to be Involved, they have activities for parents to be involved. I really wish we discovered this school in their early years.

Field Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
So glad to be away from this school. Once out of the District my child's teacher came to me, noticing that my A student was struggling with math concepts. After two meetings she finally received the testing I had asked for at Field. Sure enough my child has a learning disability. But unlike most she was an overachiever with a high IQ and she had a parent fighting to get her help. It is strange to celebrate a disability but, we finally had answers and a game plan moving forward. With minor coaching and 3 short quarters, she has raised one grade level in math, from 6th to 12th grade reading and comprehension, 10th grade writing and off the charts on vocabulary...she is in 5th grade!! While I was seen as problematic at Field, I have been congratulated at our new school for truly seeing an issue, but I did not have to, the teacher came to me after watching her and reading her records from Field. She has been awarded citizenship awards, awards for dedication to scholastics and awarded for outstanding character. SO much for the IB school. They missed out! Thank Goodness my daughter is NOW thriving! Sometimes putting effort into our children pays off, FIELD missed this.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
I have 3 kids currently at Field. I can't say enough about this awesome school. This school has some amazing teachers. They teach the kids to think not just give the "right" answer. They teach kids to notice the world around them. The units of study are amazing and taught in fun and exciting ways. The PYP (IB school) principals are taught in all areas of study, which including things like being inquisitive, caring, and open minded. The parent involvement is higher than any other school that I have seen. The principal is amazing and takes the time to get to know each of the kids at the school and smile at them daily. I highly recommend this school.


Field Elementary School 2

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
Not quite the school I was expecting, and yes bullying seems to be a common theme. We have had some great, some okay teachers. We have been to another school in the district and this one does seem to cater to whomever is writing the biggest checks, allowing improper behavior to go unchecked to those at the top of the socioeconomic spectrum. Other than the IB title, I believe the other school did a better job of keeping behavior issues at a minimum. When kids do not feel playground games are respectably played or safe, and that the teachers simply do not care, learning falls short. And, as the parent below suggested , it does seem rather closed environment. There is definitely ALOT of room for improvement ! I am not sure an 8 is an appropriate grade for this school. You do hear alot about the bullying at every event you attend. It is too bad.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
I don't know how this school hasn't gotten a review yet... This is probably the best school in Springfield for young children. Our daughter is in kindergarten here and is learning how to speak spanish, give presentations, and many other things that I remember learning in high school!

Field Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
Great learning environment. Wonderful teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Field Elementary School
2120 Barataria, Springfield, MO  65804
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (417) 523-4800
Last modified Field Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top