Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horace Mann Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
They protect they bully and not the victim. They put more spin on situations than a crooked politician!

Horace Mann Elementary School 2

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The principal and staff give BULLYS more protection and rights than the victims! They're more concerned with test scores than stopping violence. I can't wait to bring this to the school board. There is a reason they have a score of 4-10. I'd rather send my kid to Jeffries! Parents beware!


Horace Mann Elementary School 1

Posted May 10, 2015
- a parent
This school has no interest in the kids and their education. The principal is more interested in personal matters and insignificant occurrences than educating the kids. Teachers are disinterested, burnt out and certainly not vested in helping the children. I'm embarrassed for my child to attend here. This staff is not available to help your child, nor do they care about your child. Read the online ratings of this place. Pathetic!

Horace Mann Elementary School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
My 2 grandchildren go to Horace Mann and have both had great teachers who seem to take a personal interest in the children. I had to pick up my g'daughter this a.m. from the nurse's office and she was calm and well-cared for until I got to her. The special recognition of "student of the month" in each classroom is designed to inspire good behavior, manners and participation. The principal is very involved in all of the daily activities of the school.

Horace Mann Elementary School 1

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Completely disgusted with this school. School smells, makes me sick to my stomach every time I go in. Not sure what it is, but it is definitely not a "clean smell". Teachers are distant, little creativity for learning going on. Principal stands in hallway more engaged in personal phone (texts or otherwise) than running the school Completely disgusted that this is the school that my daughter is attending. Had I known how horrible this school was, I would have moved into a better district.


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2011
- a parent
I attended Horace Mann Elementary as a child and now I have two daughters who attend Mann. I have been very pleased with my experience over the last several years. Both of my daughters have had teachers who have been wonderful role models as well as challenging them to be the best they can be academically. My daughters kindergarten teacher has a cutting edge literacy based classroom which has made a significant impact on our educational experience.

Horace Mann Elementary School 1

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
Not a proud parent 2 have my kids in Horace Mann. This is 1 of the rudest, hateful schools ever. The OFFICE staff is snooty, RUDE, HATEFUL & JUDGMENTAL! VERY unprofessional. In person/phone. horrible attitudes! Went today 2 school at 3:20 & was constantly questioned why I was there? & was I aware that I was interrupting their classes when school lets out at 3:30. The person wouldn't accept that I just wanted 2 go to their classes to see how their doing in class & 2 pick them up at 3:30. Was talked 2 like a child & they were VERY unprofessional. (ALWAYS this way) I am a parent that participates in school activities they have & don't deserve that. My kids r both VERY unhappy 2 attend here, as am I! Lots of parents agree! Looking into a transfer asap. Don't recommend this school to anyone! PLEASE consider another!

Horace Mann Elementary School 1

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
After driving to school today in 28 degree weather I noticed quite a few children without coats. (Come on parents, its flu season). I contacted the Principal to try to get a reminder sent out to the parents to properly dress their kids for the weather change. She flat out made one excuse after another for the kids NOT wearing coats. WOW! Its 28 degrees... really!!!! This school has also been reported to have a rodent infestation, refuses to let the kids partake in any holiday events, rude staff, poor communications & notifications with the parents on upcoming events. My child just switched to this school & went from an excellent student to being told that he is struggling & is sent home sick about every 2 weeks. I have younger kids in the home NOT getting sick! ALL the parents that I have spoke with are also upset.


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2010
- a parent
My 7 year old daughter LOVES this school. It is such a personal and warm atmosphere where students are not just a number. My daughter is new this year at this school and she has felt cared for, and safe here. Her teacher is excellent and loving, treats them as individuals. I am so impressed and appreciate how much she has thrived since she started going here.

Horace Mann Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 20, 2008
- a parent
Teachers at this school are very wonderful and helpful in the academics of my children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horace Mann Elementary School
3745 South Broadway, Springfield, MO  65807
(417) 523-4400
Last modified Horace Mann Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Horace Mann Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top