Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rountree Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 276 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

I went to Rountree elementary from kindergarten-fourth I am currently in fifth at a different school! Rountree is a safe place, or at least feels like one! The teachers are kind and teach all in unique styles. Even in just a couple weeks it feels like a second home! The guidance counselor is very supporting. The principal is new for the year 2014-2015 so I don't have an opinion on her. I recommend you take your child to rountree elementary!


Posted October 8, 2013

Rountree is an elementary school in a neighborhood setting. This school has officially become a PYP school and continues to grow as a school academically and relative to global awareness. The administration is strong and supportive of its teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Rountree has a rich history and is deeply-rooted in the community. Rountree has dedicated and caring teachers and a principal, David Martin, who have devoted their work to creating a progressive, inspiring and positive environment for learning. Rountree is one of only 3 IB PYP schools in the city of Springfield which allows the student to engage more fully in his/her own learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My husband and three daughters attended Rountree. The school community has always been very caring. The teachers, principal and staff have always been excellent. My family received a great education, academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

Very pleased with the teachers and the principal. Like the way the community around the school supports its events and activities. It's an advantage for the school to include kids whose parents are on the faculty at MSU -- professors, grad students, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

I'm a teacher in Springfield, and although I do not teach at Rountree, my children have attended. It it a warm, caring environment and the neighborhood is fantastic. Everyone here is very involved in making Rountree school and the neighborhood the best place to be in Springfield. I felt that the academics were excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

This is a wonderful neighborhood school. The principal, David Martin, is very carrying and supportive of the students. There is high parent involvement which is warmly received by the teachers and staff. Any concerns I have had have been quickly addressed by the teachers and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2005

Academic programs are on par with national standards. We experienced friendly and warm teachers and support staff. Work did not challenge our children above their representative grade levels. Somewhat relaxed atmosphere, but with avg to high expectations. Great Music programs engage children. Art excellent. Great old time historic shcool atmosphere- a real asset to the community. Highest level of cordial parent involvement that I have seen. It really feels like the village is raising the children. Feels safe to walk around the neighborhhod. What a wonderful place....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2004

When I moved to Springfield in 1997 I tried our neighborhood school, but it wasn't what I wanted for my son. He had enrolled in Rountree's Cub Scout program and made friends there so I transferred him in 1999. Now my other children go to Rountree also and I couldn't be more satisfied with the school, it's principal, teachers and staff. They really care about the kids and it shows-I also love the fact that a large percentage of parents are involved in the schools day to day activities. -Christy Gorman
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

We moved from Houston Texas in 2002 and my children have had the advantage of attending Rountree for the past 2 years. This is a wonderful school with a supportive staff and tremendous parent involvement. The faculty is respectful and caring for all the students. I have watched my children flourish in this school. All the students seem to enjoy coming to school to see what a new day holds for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 53% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students35%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White36%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White47%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 74%
Black 7% 17%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1333 East Grand
Springfield, MO 65804
Phone: (417) 523-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Phelps Gifted Center
Springfield, MO


Datema House
Springfield, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT