Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westport Elementary School 3

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
Scholl is awesome but with school having a reputation of kidnaps and violence , you would think children would have bus transportation. . My daughter is 9 and I was told she lived to close to ride the bus that she had to walk. .. a 9 year old walking home from school in this area is frightening! !!! School needs bus transportation fit for children in elementary and middle school these children are to young and defenseless to be walking home alone! !!!!

Westport Elementary School 1

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
this school is horrible!! My youngest who is 9 gets bullied every day he is there i have went multiple times to the office and both principals and have only got oh we will do something but nothing has happen an my child is not the only one who gets bullied i also get told by the same child i don't even know that i am "a skanky hoe" an i get told i was being inappropriate when i tell her i don't care!! i would recommend if you live close to the school pay to go to a new school its that bad!


Westport Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2015
- a parent
I have 2 children in this school and it's great! Teachers seem to really care for each student and communicate with me very well. It recently became a K-8 school and with that came some great updates and remodels to the school and playground.

Westport Elementary School 4

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
My son attends this school. Coming into the year as a new student, I am finding everyone to be helpful, and concerned with his education. They seem proactive, and not reactive. I would so far recommend this school to other students.

Westport Elementary School 4

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
My son loves this school why you ask because of the teachers there and the whole stuff as well. for me I also like it because they are so understanding and willing to do what it takes to work with your children. when my son came here he was entering 1st grade he was having a very hard time getiing the hang of reading and his teacher worked really hard with him as well as the reading teacher and now my son can read like a grown adult. i would reccomened this school to anyone.


Westport Elementary School 1

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
My son was a straight A student til we came to this school. His teacher acts like the fifth graders that she teaches. I do not like this school and would recommend that you take your kids else where and fifth graders parents ask you kids how there teacher acts. My kids teacher acts like a child.

Westport Elementary School 1

Posted May 17, 2008
- a parent
I have noticed that the teachers at this school does not know how to handle children. I have a very active child and moved here last year.she was a a b honor student until we moved here. when trying to set up a time to meet with teacher/principal they have not returned my phone calls for a month now.Please keep your children away from this school

Westport Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 09, 2008
- a parent
I agree that they need to do something about the parking and after school pick up. I can't tell you how many times either myself or my daughter have almost gotten hit trying to cross the street or just by impatient driving...the school is ok..habit program is a good idea.


Westport Elementary School 3

Posted May 09, 2007
- a parent
I like the school, don't get me wrong. But there are quite a few problems with the school that I just don't care for. The parking is just terrible. And the other thing is, the teachers focus more on Habit points then my child's education. Habit stands for homework, attendance, behavior, initiative, and traveling. Is there an E in there? E for education. My son gets straight A's, but yet gets points taken off because he's an over active child with a huge imagination and is acting as a child should.

Westport Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2006
- a parent
I appreciate the HABIT program! My son is in the 1st Grade and understands that those things are things he can control. I love the teachers so far and have seen great progress in my son's education! He is reading and writing at a great level and his math skills have blown me away! The music and art departments are so cool! The Holiday Program is always a riot to watch - they tie everything together so well! I can honestly say that I'm happy with the education my child is getting from this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westport Elementary School
415 South Golden, Springfield, MO  65802
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (417) 523-3100
Last modified Westport Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top