Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcbride Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 516 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

For being a school that puts the kids first, that's one of the last things that happens. To turn a child away just because of a misunderstanding is wrong in my book. They need to be more prepared and flexible with childrens activities. It's not about the adults it's about the children having a good time. The non dress code that the teachers present is just ridiculous and ate not setting any good examples for the children. With my experience with McBride school, I would recommend another elementary school for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

Our son started going to McBride 8/2011. He was home-bound due to receiving chemotherapy for Leukemia. His teacher came to us, and seemed to be unprepared most of the time. We realize she had family obligations, however they always seemed to cut into his school time. He was only allowed 5 hours a week at home services which are totally inadequate. The second year he was in remission and went to school full time he was immediately targeted to be held back. It took threatening the school with a lawsuit to have our son tested for learning disabilities as they just chalked it up to his having missed too much school. Since then he has been to a psychologist/psychiatrist to help with his disabilities. This whole situation has put a strain on our son...we even considered transferring him to another local elementary school, and found the social workers are one and the same....very disappointed with the whole handling of this situation. With as large of a district Springfield Public Schools is they should be more accommodating for children with disabilities. We would have gave -1 for the star rating if it existed! Sorry he has to go back to this school in the Fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My son goes to this WONDERFUL school. They ALL put the kids first,lots of FUN things for them to do...Keep up the good work!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

We got off to a rocky start with concerns about classroom sizes, but after two years at McBride our children have learned beyond what I expected. We have been very pleased with the teachers and the staff is kind and warm. The school encourages parent involvement and the district is working to reduce the student to teacher ratio. We will be moving and are sad to leave McBride behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

As far as teaching my child is learning so much here. My only problem is the behavior of the children. My child has come home with brusies from kids that should keep there hands to themselves and respect their classmates. My child hasnt had a very good 1st year of school. Moved and now nobody here wants to be a friend to my child. At least at the other school my child had friends and encouragement from his teacher. If things doesnt change my child wont come back to McBride next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2007

My daughter is in 2nd grade and has attended McBride since Kindergarten. She is thriving in school, loves all of her teachers, and the principal is wonderful! Great school--even though the school system isn't always the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

This is an excellent school! The principal, Mr. Range, should be principal of the year! He is very involved with the activities and academics of the students. The teachers are top notch! We were very sad to move up to fifth grade! We miss McBride very much! It was a great experience in my son's life education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

McBride is an excellent school. My child has attended it for 3 years and we have had no problems with anything. The teachers are kind and caring, the principal is very interactive with all the students, and you are always kept informed on all the activities. 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2003

This is a top-notch school. The teachers and staff are caring and kind. Their teaching methods are excellent. The principal is new for 2003-2004, but the previous principals have led the school in a very successful manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 49% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 54% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students72%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students70%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 2% 17%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5005 South Farm Rd 135
Springfield, MO 65810
Phone: (417) 523-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gray Elementary School
Springfield, MO





New Covenant Academy
Springfield, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT