Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Greenwood Laboratory School

Private | K-12 | 360 students

Our school is best known for the highest ACT scores in Southwest Missouri.

 
 

Living in Springfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $611.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2014

We started at Greenwood last year for Kindergarten. We could not be more pleased with what our child learned this past year. If education is a priority in the life of your child and family, look no further than Greenwood. It is amazing how the Kindergarten class at Greenwood is so advanced. They focus on the needs of each child and do not try keep all the kids at the same pace. They have homework starting in Kindergarten, but it teaches time management. The incoming 1st grade was already doing 1st grade and some 2nd grade math, reading, and science in Kindergarten. The kids were so eager to learn, that the teacher had to come up with new lesson plans way beyond the Kindergarten curriculum to accommodate the students! The school is diverse in cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds and we think it is great. This is how the real world is and teaching a child otherwise is doing them an injustice. The school is small and feels like a community. It is great to see the older kids helping the younger. They are supported by the University and there are a lot of available resources to them.. If you are choosing to pay for private school, Greenwood is hands down the best in Springfield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

I have two daughters attending Greenwood. I believe it was the best decision we could have made for our children's education. A product of public schools, I enrolled my children somewhat skeptically. Since my first daughter began Kindergarten, I never regretted the decision. Students are encouraged to develop a passion for learning from the beginning. At Greenwood, it's "cool" to try hard and get good grades. Academics are extremely challenging. Homework begins at a young age, but the education is first-rate. My daughters have different learning styles and interests, yet they are always encouraged and supported to learn from their teachers. We have been satisfied with every teacher. Are there ever problems with students and bullying? Yes. Is it dealt with by the school? Yes!! Size is a positive; it is big enough to have extracurricular activities, yet small enough to know everyone and be involved in many things. I love that it is strong in math and science, yet emphasizes public speaking and community involvement. It creates well-rounded students, prepared for college. Ave test scores are high and college preparedness is outstanding. It's 100+ years in existence is reassuring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

My son will start 2nd grade next year. Attending Greenwood is the best decision we could have ever made. Because of the caring friendships, his amazing first grade teacher and the school's emphasis on public speaking, my son has transformed from an incredibly shy child to being able to give a speech, with a microphone, to a lunch room full or parents and grandparents. Many reviews will mention that Greenwood is a family and that is true. When there is a class party, everyone shows up to support the kids. This also includes grandparents! The PTA has 100% parental participation and the parental engagement is amazing. In 2013 the PTA decided to replace the outdated playground equipment and installed a state of the art playground in less than 6 months that's completely debt-free. Greenwood has a lot of diversity which really surprised us. There is diversity in both income and ethnicity. My son is curious about the world and wants to learn Chinese because several of his classmates are from China. I can't say enough good things about the school and encourage anyone to speak with a parent of a currently enrolled student. Students at Greenwood learn valuable study skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Greenwood is a great college prep school and we wish we had started our children there in kindergarten. I don t normally write reviews but I strongly disagree with some of the facts stated in previous reviews. As a parent who sacrifices to send my children there & have been pleased with their academic success, I must address these remarks. Our children transferred in, were accepted & made friends easily. We became involved in class activities and PTA. Parents are great to work with and appreciative of others willing to help. Faculty all have their masters. Greenwood graduates consistently go to some of the top schools in the nation like Stanford, Duke, Wash U, Wake Forrest, Vanderbilt & Cornell. Last year s class of 36 all attended universities - Air Force Academy, Emory, Parsons School of Design, Missouri S&T to name a few. We haven t seen faculty show any preference for students that come from wealthy families. There is a diverse range of economic backgrounds, which is not what we had heard before we came. It s the best family decision we ve ever made. ANYONE can write a negative review but if you want the real story, you need set up a visit and see the school for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Greenwood has the allure of being a good school, but it is not. I have had children there and while the academics are good in certain grades, it is horrible in others. They speak of being the Greenwood Family , but there is nothing family about it. The administration is aloof and cold, even the secretaries can t manage a smile to most of the parents. Forget about the kids being inviting to new children in a class. They are taught to favor those that have attended since kindergarten. The parents are cold and more cliquish than the kids could ever be! Favorites are played by the administration and just hope your kids manage to stay with the in crowd, but with such a small school, they will live with the popularity or isolation indefinitely! If Greenwood prepares kids for great secondary schools, then why did all of last year s graduates go to such uninspiring colleges? There was not a single elite school from last year s senior class! I liked some aspects of Greenwood, but save your child the emotional rollercoaster that comes from such a dysfunctional school! No care is given to bullying and the PTA is NOT inviting to new or newer parents at all, nor is it encouraged!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

Greenwood is a small close knit family. It is k-12. The families that attend Greenwood are diverse from all over the Ozarks. Masters prepared teachers, hands on learning, wonderful parent participation. It moves at a little faster pace and encourages students to excel and take on challenges. The students are challenged to do public speaking, create inventions, robots, cell and space models, art projects, famous American, and Scientist presentations, power point and research papers at an early age. Special classes start in K-Spanish, music, art, computers, library,and wellness. Band-4th-12. If students are excelling in a subject they can move up to a higher class. There is a new state of the art Science wing with science lab starting in elem. Opportunities for everyone. Clubs, sports (track, soccer, basketball, tennis and golf-starting in Jr.High.) Elem-BB and soccer camps, middle school soccer (parent ran), girls on the run, drama club, science Olympiad, spelling bees,fun summer classes, etc. Events-Halloween parade, parties, field day, music program, field trips, fun fair, book fair, etc. Mentoring- starts early-reading buddies. Well rounded, excellent education at Greenwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Our experience with this school was disappointing. We had one fabulous teacher in three years. The other two were just average. The biggest problem with this school are the bullies. The children learn from a very early age that rules only apply to some. If your parents are large donors to the school, the rules do not apply. What a terrible lesson to teach children. Parents run the school with their pocket books, so if you send you child to this school, consider the tuition the minimum you should plan on spending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

Greenwood is a wonderful school. Period. Greenwood's biggest strengths are its faculty and parents. Every elementary teacher for 2 children and 7 years has been fantastic. There is truly a family atmosphere at Greenwood that is fostered by the parents and faculty. Our children are getting an incredible education in a progressive environment with some of the latest technology and updated facilities. Children leaving Greenwood are much more prepared for the rigors of College according to several close faculty at 2 different Universities. I love Greenwood and so do my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

Greenwood provides a wonderful education. The class sizes are small, the teachers are very experienced and are masters prepared. We have been happy with the hands on learning and public speaking experience they have received. The new science wing is wonderful, state of the art. There are many opportunities at Greenwood such as- Band, soccer, track, tennis, golf, basketball, clubs, science Olympiad, Art, spanish (k-12), french, music, computers, etc. The teachers and parents are very supportive. There are many fun things at Greenwood also such as the Halloween parade, Winter music program, Band concerts, Fun Fair, Fall Dance for elementary, etc. It is an affordable option for an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2014

All of our children attended Greenwood Lab School and fortunately our grandchildren are attending as well. I can honestly say it is a wonderful learning environment. Our children received outstanding college scholarships and excelled at the university level because of the study, writing, research and presentational skills they developed in this competitive K-12 atmosphere. Most of the high school students conveniently take additional courses at MSU for full college credit. Greenwood students are totally prepared for the rigorous atmosphere of college because they have taken real college courses and have grown up on the Missouri State University campus. The teachers are engaged and the parents actively participate as volunteers. The test scores are excellent and students are well rounded. The size of the school allows students to participate in multiple sports and academic competitions. If you really want to find out more about this school, I would suggest setting up a visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

Both of my kids have attended Greenwood Lab since Kindergarten. It is the best money we have spent! We have made sacrifices to send our kids to Greenwood. Greenwood is not for everyone. The academics are rigorous. Your student had better be ready to study, do homework and apply their self or they will struggle in a class of high achievers. Public speaking starts in kindergarten and in every grade until they present their senior cap stone project. The administration is professional and engaged. Teachers are committed to excellence. Our test scores prove that our kids are prepared. 100% of our students go to college. Is Greenwood perfect? No, but it is better than any other school in the Springfield area. My son scored a 33 on his ACT and his first semester in college had a 4.00 GPA at a college where the average ACT score was a 28 for incoming freshman. Greenwood gave him the tools to succeed. His study skills are great and he has excellent time management. We are PROUD TO BE A BLUEJAY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

Greenwood has been an extraordinary experience for my children. They have surpassed my every academic, athletic and social expectation. Greenwood is small school, and students are expected to perform at high levels. The curriculum is rigorous. Third graders present sophisticated history projects that employ term paper skills. Fifth and Sixth Graders complete and present impressive science fair projects. Older students outperform other high schools in History,Science, Math, Debate and Language. My children consistently score in the highest range in standardized testing. The athletic and social opportunities are endless. Coaches are the area's best. Parents are encouraged to volunteer and participate in school activities as they wish. Teachers and administrators are accessible and responsive. Students are required to perform community service hours and tutor young math students at Boys and Girls Club. Greenwood students build extraordinary life-long friendships with other college bound, ambitious, conscientious, and family-oriented students. Most importantly, students are kind and care for each other, their teachers, their school and their community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

In my opinion it is a mediocre school that works well for underachievers. The director needs to retire soon. There are good teachers but the majority are ready for retirement as well. The administration does not deal with bullies, specially if they parents are donors of the school. Bullies are encouraged to keep bulling their classmates and teachers have always favorites. The class size is large compared with other schools, usually between 25 and 30 students per teacher. The level of the elementary classes are low and the map test results are horrible. In my opinion this school works well for underachievers who only want a high school diploma.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

Greenwood Laboratory School has many exemplary qualities, including Spanish classes for primary grades and excellent science facilities for older children. However, our child's social needs were in no way met at this school, where bullying goes unpunished, parental involvement opportunities are sparse, and partiality for certain children and certain parents is rampant. We are considering moving to a different district if the coming year does not go well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

Teachers, and especially administrators, play favorites. Every student is not treated equally. If you have money or are active in PTA, your kids will benefit; others are ignored. Quality of teaching often leaves a lot to be desired -- too many are mediocre. There are some excellent teachers, but at a Lab School on a university campus, ALL teachers should excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

This school is very good at making you think they are giving your child a prep school education. The teachers are very caring and interested in the success of their students. However, the Director is ready for retirement and has "checked out." The Vice Principal is very good with the kids but lacks leadership qualities and does not follow through with discipline, if any is ever applied. The "rich" families do not have to follow the same rules as everyone else, and the kids are spoiled, cliquish and mean spirited. If you don't fit in, YOU REALLY DON'T FIT IN!!! Not a good use of your money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

It is a okay type school. Only average students are benefited from it. Students who are well ahead of their peers, they are not challenged at all. From last year, there is no standardized test in Greenwood. Every student gets the Meet Expectation grade in Element, even though some are not supposed to. Some teachers should teach at K grade, but now is teaching at higher level. How can she/he help with algebra? All teachers always give big smiles to those parents who are rich and give donation to school. Most of the students are from rich families who just need to have high school diploma , after that they will take care of their parents business. So, quality education is not important at all in Greenwood. As a ex student, I am giving this school less than 1 star rating.


Posted March 19, 2012

My child has attended Greenwood for 4 years. While the revues are quite accurate there are some other great things about this school. The curriculum is above and beyond other schools in the area. The band is okay and the sports are fairly equal to other schools. The opportunity to excel above peers is outstanding. Anything is possible within this school. However, the kids are spoiled, accept no responsability, and do NOT like new students. Bullying, clicks, and social standing runs very strong by the kids and parents. This school revolves around "wealthy" parents. Everything costs hundreds of dollars and the clothes you wear matters. What your parents do matters. Who you know and what country club your in matters! Any child can go far here but at an emotional price. One day your on top and the next your not. Having the benefits of MSU campus is wonderful and the kids really benefit. You have some exceptional teachers and some really awful ones. The PTA is mandatory and is not about parents helping it is about parents controlling. However the PTA does provide for the school. Great field trips and educational outings. If you have a strong child they will go far, but if not caution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

Third class school!. Teachers do not take bully issue seriously! Nothing great about this school. Director and teachers need to think about name calling, bully issue seriously!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

Greenwood only take care of those students whose parents are part of PTA. No diversity at all. If a student does misbehave then, neither the teacher nor the parents of the student take any action. Students learn one thing very well--- that is tailgating!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 17%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 98% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Emory University
University of Kansas
Missouri Science and Technolog
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • AdvancEd Accrediation (2014)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Luekemia and Lymphoma Gold Star (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Janice Duncan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Missouri State University College of Education
Associations
  • AdvancedED
  • NALS
Fax number
  • (417) 836-8449

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Inquiry Based
  • Internships
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Missouri State University
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Ambassadors
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athlte
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We are 106 years old with a tradtion of challenging academics and open extra-curricular activities. We have trips overseas for science and foreign language immersion.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Emory University
University of Kansas
Missouri Science and Technolog
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 2%
4 year college - 98%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1024 E Harrison St
Springfield, MO 65897
Website: Click here
Phone: (417) 836-5124

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Phelps Gifted Center
Springfield, MO




Datema House
Springfield, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT