Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hardin Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, August 24, 2014

So many opportunities for students! Classes in World Cultures, Foreign Languages, Drama, Engineering, Art & Design, Band, Orchestra, Music, Peer Ambassadorship. Amazing after school programs - newspaper has won national awards, plays, participation in art shows, pottery, yearbook, honor society, Kiwanis Builder's Club, Peer Tutoring,etc. Just a great school - love this district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

Emerging strengths in curriculum, instruction and new grading system - forward thinking. Many opportunities for the arts and cultural learning from art, pottery, music, orchestra, band and drama to three foreign languages and world cultures not typical at this grade level. Newer committment to growing PTO and community involvement activities. Committment to technology as a learning tool Strong committment to student leadership and character development.


Posted January 25, 2011

I am a student at this school in 2010-2011 school year, and alot has changed. I think that after they got new principals, the rules have changed. They are strict, i will admit, but it actually helps students. Second Semester was better then the first, Second semester's classes had less people, and everything wasn't thrown together at the last minuet like 1st semester was like. Hardin Middle has awesome lunches (no cold pizza this year! and no hair in the food! XD), and the cookies are awesome (who doesn't like cookies?). When my mom worked there, is was a total mess (that was in 2004.). It is way better now and you can count on the staff to always help you with whatever you need. Hardin is an awesome school!


Posted January 25, 2009

I go to Hardin Middle School and the teachers are great. Not too strict but doesn't let too much go by. That's what I love the most about it. =] Anyway, the students can sometimes have a bad attitude but that's what teenagers are known for. Am I wrong? Well anyway, I love it at Hardin and the teachers do a great job at what they do!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2008

I currently go to Hardin Middle and I love it there. Since the 07-08 school year Hardin only has the 7th and 8th grades and I think that it has greatly improved the quality of the education. There are so many extracurricular activities! Some of them include the NJHS, choir, newspaper, yearbook, STUCO, and Hardin's Heroes, a volunteer club. There are alot of very interesting electives to chose from and I'm very happy with my teachers. It seems to me that they all care very much and really try to help you to succeed. The only complaint that I have is that some of the classes are a little big, my largest class has about 29 students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2007

My son was at Hardin last year for 6th grade. The classes are too big, the teachers have no control over the students. My son had stuff stolen all the time, like gym clothes and such. This year we are at Wentzville Middle the kids are much better behaved here, but the curriculum seems to be lacking behind Hardin. My son is much happier at Wentzville. I went to Hardin many years ago and hated the idea of my children going there. I'm glad we moved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

I want to thank the quality math teachers at Hardin. In 6th grade this teacher went above and beyond what other teachers do helping my daughter with her math difficulties. This teacher has been at Hardin for years and she is truely a dimond! Children Learn at Hardin thanks to her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

My son was struggling in math before he went to Hardin Middle School. With a few months of a little extra help after school from his 6th grade teacher he went from C's in math to B's. He is now in 7th grade and is making A's and B's in math at Hardin and is on the honor roll. Thanks Hardin for the extra help. J D
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

I don't think that this school has enough control over there students, and that they do not get to know there students, well enough.... I also think they let children slide by, just passing them on to get rid of them... they do not notify you when your childs grades are dropping, They do not notify you when you have requested to be notified if the child in question is not turning in his work, or doing poorly....
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

The state average for Communication Arts was 55% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students52%
Black17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilities21%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students59%
Black28%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunch44%
Students with disabilities33%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Communication Arts

All Students58%
Black44%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilities27%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Math

All Students41%
Black38%
Hispanicn/a
White41%
Free or reduced-price lunch30%
Students with disabilities32%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Science

All Students59%
Black44%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Free or reduced-price lunch40%
Students with disabilities30%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math and communication arts, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Missouri. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
88%
Government

The state average for Government was 57% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 74%
Black 19% 17%
Hispanic 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1950 Elm St
St Charles, MO 63301
Phone: (636) 443-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Immanuel Lutheran School
St. Charles, MO





St Peter Catholic School
St. Charles, MO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT