Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Webster Groves High School

Public | 9-12 | 1314 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

i just finished my senior year at webster groves highschool and as far as being a student there for four years i'd like to say that our school is fulla that DUB G PRIDE. the teachers there actually care about your education and with that said i had excellent teachers that saw the potential in me and wanted the best of it. TURN UP FOR WEBSTER.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2013

I am currently a sophomore at Webster Groves High School. Spending my freshman year at this school was great. Although I was transitioning from spending my childhood up until 7th grade at a school in NY, I quickly adapted into a whole new living situation. I made friends very quickly, and I am doing much better here than I would have if I stayed at my old school. Athletics at WGHS are a very serious topic here. Sports such as football and basketball are the most popular, with both the players and the fans. Hundreds come to support the Statesmen games. Education is very good as well. Some of the students are not the brightest, which I think impacts other's education, but the teacher performance is great. Most of the teachers really take a good part in the roles of our school. Some teachers are not good at all, as well as any other school. Teachers at Webster are helpful and really make the student's learning their #1 priority.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2012

I am currently a senior at Webster High. After spending the past 3 years here, I have found that Webster is acceptable for a large portion of the student populous. Those that are considered average students, slightly above average, or learning disabled, you will find a great system waiting to support you. But if you are identified as gifted, or if you are a gifted/ld, you will have a very hard time here. Teachers are kind, but most cannot give the gifted or the twice exceptional anything to work with. I'm not saying the teacher's aren't smart, in fact a good number are. But there is a lot to be desired. You're better off going to Lindbergh if you are gifted or twice exceptional.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2011

5 elem. one sixth grade center, and one jr. high (7th/8th), one high school....we moved here so our child w/ special needs could flourish, and he has...........he's transitioned well/middle school..........our other kids are in elementary school now........and doing well......it's a great dist. teachers are good and staff/principals are very competent and student centered......and it's very close to the city/downtown.......so, don't let the realtors try to push you out to the far west county....webster schools and webster groves as a whole is easier on the transient population than west county/St. Louis county.....Parkway/Rockwood school dists. are good, but not as good as Webster.......bang for ur buck....I'd pick webster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2010

Great school! I've even been enrolled! Teachers assist me when I need it. Resource teachers are great! The high school principal listens to students and adjust the enviroment. He even got me into Camp Wyman as a camp counselor for 5th grade camp.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2009

I am a senior at Webster Groves High School and my prother is currently a sophomore. I have witnessed exeecptional teaching staff and adminstrative response during my four years at Webster. However, I have also witnessed some and heard about, less excellent staff (teachers, adminstration, counseling, Special District.) Webster has a lot of things going for it, but sometimes, when it comes to getting great teachers and staff it can be a toss up; You can get excellent or you can get incredibly lacking. Webster has stood out to me with its commitment to social justice. This was especially true under our recently retired superintendent. Tolerance and Acceptance are very pushed, taught about and demonstrated in this school. Overall, I love Webster. I have had four amaing years, full of opportunities of which I took full advantage of. The key thing is, you do need some self initiative to excel.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2007

I recently found this website and looked up my own school. WGHS. I am currently a student and when I read that the parents thought our schools extracurricular activities were above average, I had to write a review. That couldn't be more true. It's my first year at this school and all summer I was excited to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2005

The district as a whole is very good. They don't try to understand the culture backgrounds of children in the district even if they live in the district or out of the district. But things are starting to change some. The board has start to develpe courses for it teachers & staff to accommodate this concern. Although once children reach the high school level. If you are a parent, it becomes a concerned about your child's development, you are looked at as strange. Over all once the staff gets pass all of these hurdles, your child can excel and do well. The school does provide for tutoring at the Junior High level and the High School level and your child can do good in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2005

My son has been in a self contain special Ed school for years. This would be his first year in a public school. the teacers are great. He is shy and scared but also excited. I have never seen this kind of excitment about school! Goodness if all schools were as resonive as this on is there would be no reason for private schools. Wish I had known sooner I would have saved 50,000 buck tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

There are many wonderful teachers, but if a student is having troubles, they are critisized by many of the teachers for having troubles. Many elective classes cost money, and some people do not have the ability to pay, so classes students are really looking forward to are sometimes dropped because of financial issues. Peers are friendly, with the exception of some cliques who just don't want to get along with others. Principals are very helpful, but you have to want to be college-bound and you must be highly motivated to be able to slide by with A's and B's for four years at Webster Groves High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 10, 2003

There are many excellent teachers. Parents and students must be motivated to advocate for the course work desired and stay on track. College bound students must push to get into honors courses. The school does not do its best to offer more course sections and flexibility w/ schedules; classes often can not be accommodated and the student must drop math, social studies, English, science or language courses as a result. Other students take languages independent study because there are no class times offered. Course work can be challenging but is often mediocre. Counselors push for easy to fill/frequently offered classes like keyboarding. Freshman are required to take a non credit study hall, unless they have a 3.75 GPA and the parent requests an exemption. The study hall full credit eats up a full hour and makes taking academic courses more difficult. The students who do poorly are merely pushed aside until they graduate. Students with behavior problems have a tough time as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 57% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%
English

The state average for English was 60% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 69% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Government

The state average for Government was 54% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
68%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 47% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Algebra I

All Students59%
Black39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Free or reduced-price lunch45%
Students with disabilities26%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Biology

All Students76%
Black41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilities39%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English

All Students73%
Black42%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Free or reduced-price lunch37%
Students with disabilities27%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

English II

All Students79%
Black57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Free or reduced-price lunch60%
Students with disabilities41%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Free or reduced-price lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a

Government

All Students65%
Black35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Free or reduced-price lunch29%
Students with disabilities31%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a

U.S. History

All Students64%
Black35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Free or reduced-price lunch41%
Students with disabilities42%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Missouri used the End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments to test high school students in Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, English I, English II, American History, Government, and Biology. The EOC Assessments are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Missouri for each subject. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; data is not reported if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group.

Source: Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 74%
Black 26% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Selma Ave
St. Louis, MO 63119
Phone: (314) 963-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nerinx Hall High School
Webster Groves, MO


Epworth School
Webster Groves, MO




Brentwood High School
Brentwood, MO


Ursuline Academy
St. Louis, MO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT