Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Peter Catholic School

Private | PK-8 & ungraded | 460 students

Our school is best known for faith and academic excellence.
 
 

 
 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

The school has an excellent middle school math program. The new Science Lab is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

St Peter School has a very strong academic record and Catholic identity. The community is second to none and the foundation for why the parents and students love the school. The current leadership is moving the school forward in very positive direction. My oldest child was very well prepared for high school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

St. Peter School is a community in every sense of the word. From the moment my oldest child was enrolled there, my family was welcomed by friendly parents, teachers & staff. There are so many opportunities to become involved in the school and your children's education: fundraising, a faith based activity program, wellness commitee, PTO and many more. St. Peter School is a wonderful place to be, for students and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

St. Peter School provides a wonderful education and environment for the students. My oldest child just began high school and is better prepared than most of her fellow classmates. The care each teacher gives is exemplary. I could not be happier with the Catholic environment which allowed my children to flourish both academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

This is a great,welcoming school in a terrific community. The principal, teachers, and staff are all so dedicated to the kids and their education, and in making St. Peter's the best school that it can be! Time and investments have been made for a science lab and updated computer lab. This school prepares kids well for high school, and also focuses on the spiritual growth and development of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I chose to send my children to St. Peter school because of its high academic and moral standards, and I am pleased to say that St. Peter delivers on both accounts. Children are expected to read by the end of kindergarten and expected to know and understand number concepts as well. By focusing on reading at an early age, St. Peter develops children who can handle any academic challenge. In addition, students are expected to behave responsibly and follow the example of Jesus for treating others kindly. I would not send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

St. Peter's School is a wonderful place for children to thrive. The teachers are very encouraging and supportive. They genuinely care about their students. Our Principal is incredible. He is so kind and faith-filled. The curriculum is very challenging and prepares the children for high school. We couldn't be happier with our decision to educate our children at St. Peter's School in Kirkwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

St. Peter is a wonderful school. The teachers and staff are nurturing and feel like family. Our child will be graduating this year and we will miss it greatly. We feel as though he not only has had an excellent education, but learned to be kind and compassionate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

I am a parent of three St. Peter students and could not be more pleased with the eduction my children are receiving. The core curriculum is challenging with a wonderful support staff in place to help each and every student achieve success and mastery of the material. I love the fact that the children receive lessons in art and music...and by lessons I mean the children learn about great artists and musicians as well as trying their hand at different styles of art or learning new instruments. It is NOT just craft time or singing time. AND they have art, music, PE, computer and Spanish each more than once per week! Being a parochial school, Religion is also a major component of the day. To my husband and I, This is an important part to the education of our children, and I love how at St. Peter school, the religion aspect is more just a daily class... From the way they address their fellow students and classmates to the way they behave in the cafeteria, it is integrated into everything the children do. To sum up, If you are looking for a top tier, yet still affordable school for your child, look no further!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

St. Peter School has far exceeded our high standards and expectations. The principal and priests interact daily with the students and know each by name. The teachers kindly challenge students, promote self responsibility, and are always available for assistance. The school climate is one of kindness and acceptance. The faith program is exceptional and is truly the foundation of the school. Students participate in mass, adoration, classroom prayer, religion class, and a Faith In Action program, which includes volunteer community service during school hours. Students are always smiling and caring for one another. We moved to St. Peter from an outstanding, award winning public school district. St. Peter has done a far superior job in preparing our child for high school and college, as well as nurturing her character and supporting our efforts at home. The school has several extracurricular activities available. Parents are highly involved and committed to the school. The principal exhibits a combination of outstanding leadership by example, fiscal and educational acumen, honorable character, and firm commitment to the formation of students in partnership with their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

St. Peter is not only a great school but a great community for our family. Our children have attended St. Peter since Kindergarten and will all graduate from St. Peter very well prepared for high school. At least the past 4 years all of the 8th graders have been accepted into their first choice Catholic high school and are well prepared to succeed there. There are also many students that go to Kirkwood High School and are well prepared for the curriculum there including many honors and AP classes. The school leadership is strong and very caring for the kids. The principal interacts with the kids all day long in the school and on the playground and knows each of them by name and knows their interests. Not only is the school strong academically but the kids are growing in their Catholic faith everyday through school masses, religion classes and the best priests around that are always visiting the kids in school. Math in the middle school has improved greatly with one of the best math teachers ever. there are many other great teachers throughout the school and we are very happy with our experience at St. Peter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

Challenging curriculum, strong teaching staff, and Catholic principles! We couldn't be more pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

Academically challenging school. Primary grades teach great basics, provide stimulation in art and music. Middle school grades push responsibility for self and work. Blue Ribbon school of excellence with award winning teachers on staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

St. Peter has a great local reputation, but their leadership style is rather cold and nonresponsive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 77%
Black 3% 17%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • John Freitag
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • American Heritage Girls
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
St. Peter PreSchool
Carmelite, Kirkwood Baptist, Kirkwood United Methodist
Kirkwood First Presbyterian, Elliott Chapel

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
SLUH, Vianney, Chaminade, DeSmet, CBC
Cor Jesu, St. Joseph Academy, Ursuline, Nerinx
Kirkwood High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 N Clay Ave
St. Louis, MO 63122
Website: Click here
Phone: (314) 821-0460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT